We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overrated”

Tosokchon Samgyetang
Ranked #47 of 38,061 Restaurants in Seoul
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Jongno-gu
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

A little overrated as there are much nicer and cheaper ones. But soup still tasted nice and chicken was fresh. We went there in the morning so there wasn't any queue. Wouldn't recommend a trip down especially for this.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank melissa2ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 682 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Its just a walk away from Gyeongbokgung Palace. When we arrive, people are lining up outside the restaurant. Since we went during summer time, its too hot. However, restaurant provide umbrellas. We waited for 20minutes to be seated.

We had a Korean traditional feel of lunch where we sat in the floor to eat. One order is a whole chicken. Koreans eat one each and because I'm a small little girl, I asked my boyfriend to share it with me.. :)

Food is good. Since we are Filipinos, we love salty and rich tasting food. Their Samgyetang is so-so. We had the same food in the Philippines called tinola which has a better tasting.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank estrowberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

It was fantastic that we went early (before 12 noon) and got a table immediately. When we left, we saw such a long line of people waiting under the scorching sun! Ordered the usual samgyetang and a pancake. My hubby and I could not even finish our food and they were nice enough to wrap up the pancake leftovers for us to take away. To be honest, the samgyetang (ginseng chicken) tasted more or less like what is offered everywhere else but a bit more pricey. However, it was really a pleasant experience to eat at this traditional hanok place ie. sitting on the floor. They served ginseng liquor which was quite strong (20%) and we decided to buy a bottle back (10,000 won).

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank bygrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We came here for brunch on a Sunday and boy were we glad that we arrived at 11plus in the morning! Once we stepped out of the restaurant at 12 plus the queue was just snaking long and it's summer so you want to avoid standing in the sun for too long.

Ordered the ginseng black chicken soup with ginseng, abit costly but worth it! They had sides to go along which was alot.

Being famished my husband ordered the seafood pancake as well but it didn't taste good so skip it if you can.

Be sure to wear easy to take off shoes and shorts or whichever as it was rather uncomfy for we had to sit cross legged, side legged on the floor tatami style with cushions.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank melissaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Even saw so long queue when we reached there around 8pm, but we have a table for 2 very fast and serve fast too. We had wild ginseng chicken soup and one black chicken ginseng soup. Great to have a bottle of korea white wine together with the meal. I am so enjoy. Will be back again if I am at seoul again in future.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Ceceliaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tosokchon Samgyetang also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Tosokchon Samgyetang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.