We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
S$83
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
129
251
66
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
251
66
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Toyoko Inn is a Japanese Hotel chain and has also expanded to Korea.
I’d like to give you some information about my stay there.

I recommend it for:
- budget travel
- easy access to subway and airport bus
- great location
- clean rooms, friendly staff, quiet area
- english speaking staff

The Toyoko Inn is a budget hotel and best for a short stay in Seoul, it’s located in Dongdaemun, just a one minute walk from Exhit 4 and the area is quiet and not that loud (considering it’s pretty much in the center).
You can reach the major shopping centers in Myeongdong within minutes, 2 stations from Dongdaemun.
The rooms are simple but clean (no weird smells or dust in sight), and Wifi was working fine with me.
It could get stuffy and hot during the night in summer, so be sure to turn off the airconditioner as late as possible to cool down the room.

The airport bus stops right before the hotel and you can buy the tickets at the hotel reception too.

The (single) room is equipped with a queensize bed, desk, safe, flatscreen TV, fridge and water heater.
You can also get house shoes for the room and pajamas!
The bathroom is small but fully functional and has as bathtub :)
For western people the tub might be a bit too small, but for me it was perfect.

Breakfast is a mix between Japanese and Western cuisine.
Various types of Onigiri (Rice Balls), soups, side dishes, salad, sausages, toast, bread rolls, jam and a pretty strong coffee.
I found the breakfast not that appealing, but well - since I'm used to asian food (even early in teh morning) it was ok for me.

The travellers are a mix between elderly japanese tourists, families and middle aged ladies ;) so it’s a pretty safe hotel.

Membership: you can apply for the international membership card, it costs 15,000 Won (roughly 11 Euro) and gives you lots of discounts (events, weekends, holidays) in every Toyoko Inn around the world.
—-> there’s also a Toyoko Inn in Busan, Korea and many more hotels in Japan.

A fun fact:

The Family Mart in Dongdaemun (near the hotel) sells false eyelashes but has no soap or makeup tissues… haha.
Talk about priorities ;-)

A suggestion: if you want to have a snack at night buy instant noodles at the Family Mart (you can heat the water in your room) and get a drink at the vending machine in the hotel lobby!

The Toyoko Inn is not a cheap motel but not a ritzy hotel either.
It is however a nice place to return to after an exciting day exploring Seoul and a good choice for people who plan a short stay (maybe 1 week) in Seoul.

Room tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms with a window.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Novemberbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2012

As others have said the hotel is in an excellent location about one minute from the subway station. Some rooms don't have windows and a charge is made for an extra pillow, but these are minor points considering the cost. There is now a (small)convenience store right by the subway entrance,right out of the hotel, and it has an ATM in front. The other convenience store is, left out of the hotel and across the street.the breakfast is basic but adequate. The rooms have a fridge so you can keep stuff in there. The wifi was excellent and didn't need to log on every time I entered the room. I would definitely stay there again. As for sightseeing , the city bus tour is very good and also the traditional houses in the Buchon area near Insadong. The subway is great for getting around and a T money card is useful for the subway. I noticed that changing lines at any station seemed to require a lot of walking! The river walk starting at city hall in the evening is also very nice.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed in family room which was located at basement! No windows

good
1. Big room with two queen beds
2. 10-15min walk to shopping
3. Located in between exits of two mrt lines!
4. Airport bus stops right in front!

Bad
1. Wifi was bad due to room location. Had to open room door
2. Bad breakfast that ends at 930am!
3. Washing machine / dryer is household type, which takes 2hrs and only can manage few pieces of laundry
4. Charges for extra pillow!!!

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2012

First at all - great location. 1 min from metro station ("Dongdaemum History & Cultural Museum" - crossing station for 3 metro lines), 5 min from Dongdaemun shopping district, very close to Myeong-dong district and Seoul Tower. Airport Limousine 6001 stops right in front of the hotel.
Here is no pool, restaurant and spa, but if you want to see more and stay in hotel only for sleeping - it is the best variant. Don't forget to take hotel card on the reception area, it will help to come back to hotel by taxi.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bronevichok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Read in the top 100 things to do in Seoul book that this is an innostel and it fits the description perfectly. A notch lower than a hotel, a notch higher than a guesthouse. Stayed 5 nights and would recommend this place to anyone. Towels, Pajamas, complimentary water were provided. No toothbrush and toothpaste and razor provided but I read it was available for sale at the lobby. Bathroom had soap, shampoo and conditioner dispenser. Daily breakfast was the same: miso soup, salad, bread, seaweed rice rolls, orange juice and cofee. Sometimes they had a curry dish in lieu of corn soup. Free wifi in the hotel and in the rooms. Vending machines at the lobby for beer and other drinks. Very quiet at night although the night market is just around the corner near the metro. Family mart located across exit # 3 of line 2 which is more traveller friendly because of escalators than exit # 4 which had about 5 flights of stairs (not recommended too tiring). Located right between exit # 3 and exit # 4 so if you turn left or right from the hotel exit, you'll find a metro station without crossing any street. Only downside is that the room and bathroom is very small and the check in time is not until 4 pm. Checkout time is also earlier than the standards at 10 am. Get their membership at the front desk and you'll get the room 10% cheaper and be able to check in at 3pm. Airport limousine as of writing is priced 14,000 krw one way to the airport and makes a stop right in front of the hotel. Alot an hour and a half to two hours travelling time.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews