We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
20
41
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
41
13
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We arrived at seoul backpackers after a long journey on an icy midnight and after even the excellent cabbie had to make two phone calls to find this literal hole in the wall, we were stunned by the bad attitude these guys had, we were initially
ignored by the two blokes running this dump, and mind you the "lobby" is about 3 sq meters, and then "Kim" poked a rules and regulations sheet with lots of red rules out of his little window, "here, read this and agree, or you can't stay here" - felt like checking into Stalag 14, - checkout at 10:30 AM or 9 usd per hour or fraction penalty thereafter, and this for a 55 usd little room in a makeshift building. Long story made short, we lugged our huge packs back into the icy night and low and behold, only a block from there found a neat little place with all the trimmings and free fast internet for 20 bucks LESS and
absolutely NICE Korean hospitality. So what's the beef with Seoul Backpackers? they are just grumps, foreigner-phobes and plain unkind, the place has no elevator but 5 floors and no wifi, except in the 2 x 3 meter " lounge ", ... Kim, Han and Donny urgently need to take a hospitality class. They are terrible hosts. NOTE: this place is over 2 hours form the INCHEON airport, don't be fooled by marketing.

The Myeong-Dong area is FULL of much better, friendly and CHEAPER places than
this trap.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tryptadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2010

i stayed 5 nights and found the place to be so convenient - near to the subway station Hoehyeon, which is a bonus cause we travel a lot using the subway. staffs speak good english, helpful, has 2 PCs at the lobby, microwave, fridge. room & toilet was very clean. near convenient store (which dots the city). near the airport bus stop (Millenium hotel). just opposite Namdaemun market (heaven for shoppers). also near a halal kebab stall. overall, i would recommend tourist to stay here

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lelabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The stay is average except that the toilet is very smelly due to poor ventilation and flush leakage. Communal facility is bare minimal with no kitchen (not even knife to cut fruit). One a small counter (with drinking water) is available.

Not all the reception staff is friendly though they can speak average English. The hostel provided free Wifi, but however, only the Wifi at the reception floor is working.

In my opinion, for the same money paid, i could have getting a better service elsewhere.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while in Seoul to run the marathon. This is supposed to be geared towards backpackers, but it is not. There is no place to eat or make food. They do have a microwave to heat the food up, but that's it. They offer a lounge with a PC. When we got there, it amounts to an old sofa and a tiny table with a computer on it.

The staff was really helpful in giving me directions, but that's about the only positive thing about the hotel. The mattress in our room had brown spots where someone either bled on it or there were bed bugs. I never got hot water to come out of the shower, just the sink.

For 60,000KRW, you can find much nicer places in Seoul.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank russellsfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Seoul Backpackers is a nice place to stay. The environment is clean and safe. The staff is friendly. Moreover, it is situated at a strategic location, opposite Nam Dae Mun and walking distance to MyeongDong and Nam Sam Park (N-Seoul Tower).

Date of stay: September 2009
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fwlybur925
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews