We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
321
425
121
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
425
121
35
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed 11 nights at this hotel in October 2012, on business.

Location: Excellent. Off of Teheran-ro, one of the main thoroughfares in Gangnam. Just around the corner from Yeoksam subway station. The Airport Limousine bus (6020) stopped at exit 4 of this station and from there to the hotel is no more than 2-3 minutes. The neighborhood is quiet as it is not on the main thoroughfare. There are quite a few restaurants, cafes, bakeries in the area.

Room: Small, good enough for one person, probably too tight for two. Much has been said about the bathroom and showers being glass-enclosed and hence see-through.There is a reason for this. The bathroom and shower are very tight. They would be quite claustrophobic if they were not see-through. That said, the shower is quite comfortable. I think the architect did a good job allocating this limited space: tight for the toilet but more room for the shower. The toilet smells a little, probably due to some flaws in the design of the drain system. This seems to be a common problem in Korea. On this trip, I stayed in a much fancier hotel in Daegu and their bathroom suffered from a similar problem. Nothing too offensive but as one steps into the toilet, the smell is unmistakable. The closet is small and shallow. There is hardly any room for hanging out one's clothes. I had to rotate them carefully between my suitcase and the hangers. There is fast, free wi-fi in the room and throughout the hotel.

Service: Good. I asked for an iron and board and they promptly arrived. The cleaning ladies quickly learned about my preferences and conformed to them. The front desk staff speak excellent English. Only minor issue is the dearth of taxis. In the morning there are a few waiting in front but in the evening, sometimes we had to catch them on Teheran-ro. Executive Floor guests have access to happy hour at 5 PM. There is a washer and dryer in the basement. But they are expensive (about 5 dollars for a load) and the quality of the machines leaves much to be desired. Instead of a front-loader, for some weird reason, the hotel chose to install an old-fashioned Maytag top-loader. My clothes came out barely clean. This is a brand-new hotel and there are excellent Korean washers and dryers. Very strange choice on the part of the hotel's management.

Food: My booking included breakfast. Excellent quality. Western, Korean, Japanese, and Asian. There is also an omelet station. The croissants and danish are excellent.

Facilities: In the lobby there is a small area off to the side reserved for Executive Floor guests. A sitting area with newspapers. A small room where coffee is served all day long and happy hour at 5 PM. There is also a gym and a sauna. Both look pretty good but I did not use them. Free parking in the basement. We told the front desk our car's license plate number, they entered it into their system and when we drove in, a camera looked at the license plate and opened the gate. Very hi tech.

Overall impression: This is a reasonable, all around good deal. For both tourists and business people, this place is more than adequate. Of course there are more swanky places (some right on Teheran-ro) but for most purposes this place is fine.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I have stayed in Seoul maybe 100 times and this hotel is best suited for my purpose.
2 minute walk at most for the Airport Limousine and Yeoksam Station.
Good cafes and restaurants close by, hotel breakfast has a great choice and price.
Rooms are a little small.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielbearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I knew the hotel was new and so expected it to be clean and it certainly was. The staff were welcoming and although I had a very good rate, treated me as a valued guest.
I loved the room decor. Modern with a slightly boutique style and bed was very comfortable. The style of room bathroom is unique which I liked but may not be for all especially a family.
Each time I enetered the hotel the staff were welcoming and on check-out were happy to assist. If I need to stay in Gangnam area again I will stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We chose the Mercure for location and price. However this hotel really surprised us and I would have to say it is one of the nicest Mercures I have stayed in. This hotel is punching above its weight as I thought this was better than some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in. It is new and modern, with a great foyer that seems to be a functional gathering point. The cafe in the foyer also makes fantastic coffee.

The decor is trendy and is very new and clean. The staff have great English which is useful in Seoul if like me you try but struggle to get a grasp of the local dialect. The rooms are comfortable, small but very well thought out and laid out so they work well. The bathrooms are lovely and comfortable and the shower was awesome, large and had great pressure.

The Hotel is located about 25m from Yeoksum Station exit 4. The hotel is quite tall and well sign written so it is fairly good for line of sight and local navigation. Due to its height and being in a good spot of Gangnam, it also has a Sky Lounge on the top floor. This is a great bar with funky music and wonderful views. The gym and pool is very adequate. The restaurant has a lovely decor and fresh delicious food, however if you wanted to save a few buck, conveniently across the street is a Starbucks and a Paris Baguette Cafe (YUM!) They are also directly opposite a convenient store which also houses an ATM. Being so close to Yeoksum is very handy, only 2 stops from the National University stop where you can change lines to almost anywhere. The train system in Seoul is very good and easy to understand.

Being located in Gangnam is ideal. You have heaps of bars and local Korean BBQ restaurants only a stones throw away. Only 3 blocks from the hotel is also the Gangnam Main Road which has some great shops for shoes, fashion, sports wear etc. The hotel is also close to the CNN Cafe and TGI Fridays if you are really craving a western feed. However when in Seoul and you simply can't go past the local food. It's the best.

The Mercure overall was great and well better than I expected. The mini bar prices are reasonable, the wifi is free, the hotel is secure, rooms are clean and modern, bed is super comfortable, bathrooms are spacious, the bars and restaurants are great, the staff are efficient and friendly, the price is affordable, the location is perfect and I'm sure it will add an enjoyable dimension to your time in Seoul!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PulpTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Mercure is a new high- rise hotel conveniently located in Gangnam. There is an Airport Limo (coach) that runs from Incheon Airport to Yeoksam Station for W 15000 so super easy to get there. Location is fantastic, a 5 minute walk down the hill to central Gangnam for bars eats and shopping or hop a train right outside at Yeoksam Station to a couple of stops to COEX or the other way to connect to the orange line to get across town.

The welcome was excellent, the rooms are funky, clean and functional (I had a corner room with a great view across the city) and there is lightening fast wifi throughout. Nice coffee in the lobby and Skylounge is nice albeit I felt the hotel staff were a little lazy not opening the terrace on some clear crisp nights to enjoy the view.

Mercure is a great choice - enjoy!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clinton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews