We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Top Tip - book direct with the hotel for a free breakfast, and the prices are the same as with any online travel agent!

The Metro hotel is a great find, and you can't go wrong staying here, the location is excellent being right in the middle of the major shopping district with literally hundreds of restaurants and cafes within 2 minutes walk. Metro stations are close by, and major attractions are easily walkable.
Upside down hotel with the reception on the top floor which is a little confusing when you first arrive. The Breakfast offering was slightly limited in choice but still good with tasty pastries and excellent coffee from their make-it-yourself machine.
We had a queen deluxe, which was accurately described on the website but in reality was a little compact which leads me to think that maybe the standard smaller room available may be too small for 2 adults with luggage to enjoy.The décor was modern and clean and the room had everything you could want, the bathroom mirrored this being small but perfectly formed. My only moan about the room was that it got very warm, and despite it being around zero degrees outside we still had to have the air/con on all night.
The location sells this hotel alone, but with the price being significantly lower than other similar rated hotels you can't go wrong, and the free breakfast for booking direct is a fantastic bonus.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed here for 6 nights with 4 other girl friends (April 1-7, 2017) and it was the best choice for us. The hotel is strategically located at Myeongdong, the bustling shopping mecca of Seoul so beyond the hotel´s doors, you were spoiled for choice of the countless streetfood stalls, restaurants, shops and the must-see Nanta theatre performance.

The hotel has a very modern interiors and looks new. There were cute accessories that were strewn around and also for sale. There´s a free massage chair at the reception-lobby.

For the first 5 night, we were billeted in a family room with extra bed that was just right for 5 grown women with mediums baggage and the bathroom was big - a bathtub that also had a shower head and another shower stall. The water pressure was amazing and the water heater never disappointed.

The breakfast buffet was amazing! The selections were great - catering to both Western and Asian palates. since we stayed for 7 days we were able to see how they alternated dishes and introduced new ones. The trays were always readily replenished and the food were fresh, appealing to the eyes and delicious to boot.

The hotel was also very near the metro (Euljiro-1 station) to move around the city.

But the best part of Metro Hotel is their hotel staff. The reception is very quick to handle inquiries and go above and beyond procuring information. They speak excellent English and are on the point on all their suggestions. There was also the most gracious and charming hotel person ( supervisor or another position) who talked to our group while we were having breakfast and gave us valuable advice about how to get to Incheon Airport. The bellhops that alternated on the first floor were extremely polite, helpful and warm towards all guests at all times! Housekeeping is also extremely professional - while they do not speak English, one can see their enthusiasm to help and carry out their job- the rooms were always immaculate and clean after making up the room. Housekeeping noticed that our aircon made a noise which didn't even bothered us but the cleaning lady asked management and maintenance to fix the problem immediately!!!

In my opinion, Metro Hotel was the best hotel we could´ve asked for during our stay at amazing Seoul.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Right smack in Myeongdong: endless food/shopping (up to 11 pm), metro station 60 m away (Euljiro 1 Stn, Line 2), airport bus KAL Limousine No 6701 (60 mins ride, W16,000 one-way) stops at Lotte Hotel and then it is a short 100 m step-free trundle at road level to this hotel.

The rooms has just been refurbished - unclutterd functional 'IKEA' pine look - RM 812 was not cramp (Deluxe Queen 22 sq m) and we do not have to walk over our 2 luggages. Bed is firm enough, shower works well (constant flow/temp*C), usual toiletries, good towels. A small wardrobe and 3 built-in shelves, wall hanger for our long thicker jackets, a 10-feet long table (2 chairs), separate kettle/fridge area. The room is really quiet; no traffic noise.

And complimentary functional buffet breakfast - coffee/tea, toast, juice, hot dog, bacon, soups, eggs, slightly varied each day - it is not luxurious, but enough to start-off every morning.

This is a 75-room budget hotel, the staffs are wonderfully helpful (front desk speaks good English), and security is very tight.

Walking distance to some attractions: Namdemun, Insadong, Sejong Village, CYC Stream.

We always return to this hotel (April 2017 was our 3rd stay).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuangMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Enjoying our stay currently. Great location. Helpful staff. I had been in contact with them for the last few months for a family room as some of the days which we were staying it was not available. They had been helpful in every possible way via emails.
I had to change the room once only ( the first day of our stay).
Its great to have laundry facilities in the hotel included.
Would recommend for families ( make sure you book many months in advance if possible).

Room Tip: family room if you are travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david77melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We had a deluxe queen room for 9 nights, space wise it's still good with 2 huge luggage. Water pressure and heater for bathing are alright too.
Convenient to rely on a single remote control in the room to control - Lightings / TV / Aircon / Heater function.
Breakfast selections are simple but good enough to start our day great!
Breakfast area are crowded @ certain timing, if possible wake up earlier to have peaceful brekkie session.

Friendly security uncle @ ground level gave us simple direction around bus-stops etc...Only with hotel room card gives access to the floor you are staying at, hence security wise is good.

Service staff are helpful with our questions during our stay. And have helped us to check for reservations as well which is definitely helpful if you don't speak Korean.

Location is a +++ factor! 5 mins walking distance from Euljiro-1-ga station exit 5,6. Either 1 of the exit have lift access which is exceptionally good for elderly or those with prams.
Short walk like another 5 mins to Myeong-dong shopping streets.

The only cons - Bed are a little too soft for my liking. that's all.
Else, it would have been a perfect score.

We had a satisfactory stay here, thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zhenqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#8 of 504 in Seoul
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 504 in Seoul
387 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#11 of 504 in Seoul
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $113 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing