We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Location!”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

A very comfortable and cosy hotel! Love the location, just next to the subway n so many shops downstairs!

Pros:
- Location, right smack in Myeong Dong where you have all the 24 hour supermarket, many choices of food, choices, street food etc
- Friendly staff located around, the reception helped us a lot with the booked of airport limo bus etc too!
- Free subway pass by Metro Hotel
- You can even top up your subway card at the hotel reception!
- Air purifier & humidifier in the room

Cons:
- Small bathroom
- Limited areas to hang stuff
- Very simple hotel so don't expect to have much stuff
- Always fully booked but lucky I booked early!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L_NG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Centrally located hotel very convenient to access all attractions. Hotel is very clean staff excellent. Front office manager Sky was very helpful.
Our expectation was not high. Some people may find breakfast poor but for us it was more than enough

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramon-SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. It is located on very busy tourist-oriented streets, so the atmosphere of the locale feels nice. Yet the rooms are very quiet, so no problem there. The breakfast is functional with good choice (and - good tip - free if you book via the hotel's own website). There is a massage chair in the lobby - check it out. Bottled water is provided in the room every day, and is also given out at the entrance as you come and go.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dmb987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for four nights with family of four, 2 kids at 8 and 6 yo. I booked this hotel because it is really close to Eujliri-1-ga line 2 station (just 1 mins walk) and I think it is the reason why it's called "metro hotel".
We took KAL airport limousine no. 6701 and got off at Lotte hotel Seoul. You can walk from lotte hotel Seoul bus station to metro hotel in about 5mins.
The hotel reception is located at the top 9th floor. The reception is kind and helpful. Please be reminded that the reception will close from 11p-7a. You can get help from G/F watchman and he is really nice too. In daytime, you can get a bottle of cold water once you come back to hotel at ground floor! It is awesome in hot summer time in Seoul!
Because of two big kids, I booked the largest room type in the hotel and I stayed in room 501, there are 3 double beds and actually can accommodate 6 people, so I can have good sleep without being affected by my kids. It is much more roomy than I expected. I can fully open 3 of my large suitcases on the floor. The bathtub is big enough to fit 1 adult and 1 kids together.
I was previously worried about the decoration and the cleanliness of the room. Finally, I was impressed by this 3-4 stars budget hotel. The decoration is minimal and the room is definitely clean!
In the morning, we can have breakfast at 9F. There was 2-3 danish, 2-3 breads, coffee, packed juices, eggs, sausage, soup, sushi roll. It can't be compared with the breakfast at lotte hotel but it's reasonable for budget hotel to serve with such breakfast.
Definitely, this hotel have a high price to value ratio! If you can afford expansive hotel, stay at lotte Seoul, but if you want a budget one, metro hotel myeongdong is definitely a good choice!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Mark Wai Wah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Easy to find and walk from the Airport Limo bus stop (Ibis Hotel). There is a Starbucks at the street level which makes it easy to spot. The Lobby/Front Desk is on a highest floor but the guards on the ground floor will direct you. The guards also provide bottled water every time you step out of the hotel. We were here on business and extended with our family. They can set up a meeting room with a projector, coffee and water beside the breakfast area and around the corner from the Front Desk. Our contact Ms. Sue made sure we had everything we needed for our meeting and was a delight to deal with throughout the reservation process and our stay.

The Myeondong location is perfect for shopping and eating with all the cosmetic brands, restaurants and street food in the area which stays open till 11pm. It is less than 5mins from the Lotte Dept store which has a huge supermarket and food court in the basement and Duty Free. You can purchase your Duty Free here and pickup at the airport before your boarding gate.

The hotel is also within 5mins of 2 different Metro stations, and there is more shopping in the underground area of the Metro. The rooms are well laid out and have enough space for luggage and inevitable shopping bags. Breakfast is also free. Wifi was never a problem.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Lobby/Front Desk/Meeting Room is on the top floor and all rooms are on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#7 of 505 in Seoul
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 505 in Seoul
398 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#11 of 505 in Seoul
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $114 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing