We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!! Deserve Zero star!”
Review of Gobong Samgyetang

Gobong Samgyetang
Ranked #152 of 124,606 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Neighbourhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

The worst dining experience in my entire life!!!! Makes the food taste really awful!!!

The Guide Michelin???

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended by hotel. Samgyetang was a dish we wanted to try so it was an excellent match! The serving was generous with the accompanying side dishes and there was instructions in English on how to eat the food and what it all was.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank CAK129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Once we settled into our hotel, we were famished and asked the concierge where would be a good place to eat. They recommend Gobong Samgyetang (고봉 삼계탕), a restaurant that specializes in Ginseng Chicken and is located just right opposite the hotel on the second floor. It was past the lunch hour and so there wasn't much of a crowd.

Besides the Ginseng Chicken, which comes in two flavors: original and herbal, they have a good selection of food such as chicken abalone porridge, pancakes (i.e. kimchi and seafood), roasted chicken etc... There was an English menu.

Service was prompt and the wait staff were polite and even pointed out to us to the little 'cheat sheet' on the menu which teaches you how to eat and enjoy your piping hot bowl of Ginseng Chicken.

In the end, we ordered one original Ginseng Chicken, a bowl of chicken abalone porridge and a seafood pancake which was so huge we could not finish it!

Overall, this is a good place to have your Ginseng Chicken, especially if you do happen to be within the vicinity of Myeongdong it's worth a try. Given it's location, I think the prices are pretty acceptable and not too expensive, and the portions are quite adequate too. For more on the experience and photos, please check out my blog. ^^

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelbytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The broth is different from the usual broth as it is much thicker not those with clear broth. Like the one with the light taste not the herbal one. But I think I still prefer the broth one.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Lycheetini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We ordered one of the traditional Sanghwang Samgyetang and Hanbang Samgyetang. What amazing flavour from the thick brown broth and the tender chicken.

We found the Coex branch, which is near ASEM tower. The servers were friendly and as mentioned by other reviewers, there were clear English instructions on how to eat the Samgyetang. No salt is needed as the broth is really good. The kimchi is really hot, but served as a great accompaniment to the main course.

We will be back here again.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 382ypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gobong Samgyetang also viewed

 

Been to Gobong Samgyetang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing