We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,672)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveller rating
1,532
767
216
89
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,532
767
216
89
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace zamalek tower suez canal country kitchen garden cafe palace built the executive lounge main building beautiful hotel an oasis zamalek island business center nile view special thanks egyptian museum egyptian pounds four seasons
Filter
Updating list...
1,697 - 1,702 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott twice whilst in Egypt for a total of 5 nights. The first two nights we found the service to be poor (seemed like a hassle to be served, bad attitudes- from the check in staff to the waiters), however improved somewhat on our second stay after we complained to our local WINGS tour rep. The rooms are clean and well appointed (a blessing as we found Egyptian 5 star in most places to be 2-3 star). The grounds are, as mentioned by previous contributors lovely and an oasis in a big city like Cairo. The meals in the hotel are 5 star hotel price and we found that we needed to pay to avoid the constant hassle of stepping outside the hotel. Water in the hotel is a complete rip off 21EGP for 500ml, compared to 2.5EGP for a 1500ml bottle from the shop 200 meters outside the hotel. (go out the main lobby doors, down the driveway, turn left and walk 200 meters on the left hand side of the road there is a small shop selling water, snacks, etc). As for a room on a secure floor (we stayed on the 1st floor on the initial visit and the rooms we overlooking the carpark!).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy0nH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We got to stay at the Marriott Cairo Hotel & Casino for 5 nights thanks to saving up lots of hotel points! We were so glad we booked this hotel. Our total vacation last 23 days in Egypt and we stayed in the Marriott the last 5 nights. Thank goodness we stayed with them. Egypt is wonderfully noisy all the time, all hours of the night with tons of hussle, bussle and car honking. We had stayed at 6 other hotels prior to the Marriott and I can say without a doubt that stepping into the Marriott is like a vacation away from all that noise. It was a very odd feeling to hear silence and enjoy noy having to haggle for everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The palace itself is fantastically beautiful and the rooms are comfortable, clean and your standard good quality Marriott rooms.

The only disappointment was the casino. Smoking is permitted and we aren't smokers and it is smaller than any casino I've ever seen...including any cruise ship casino. There's only a handfull of slots (about 40 at most) and about 10 tables (most of which were closed most of the time). And, you have to play in USD, which is annoying. So, you have to truck upstairs and exchange your egyptian pounds to USD so you can play in the casino.

Other than that it's fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevileyeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We arrived at a beautiful palace turned hotel at 5am to be issued room cards and waved off in supposedly the direction of our room. Asking for clarrification we were once again dismissed. Bell captian no where to be seen. Wandering around we fiinally got help from a gardener. Needless to say NOT impressed. The rooms was on the ground floor openning to the garden - fabulous. Stay got better.

However we returned a week or so later at 12.30 am after cruising the Nile, to be issued with cards again - no help to find the room, cards did not work in the elevators and when we finially worked it out the room was a double not a twin. Reception's response "cant you just sleep there and fix it in the morning? Not happy. Another twin room was finally fouond for us on the other side of the hotel by 1.30am.

Given that the largest demographic travelling are single mature women - the Marriott has a lot to learn. Perhaps some sensitivity training or they could simply employ some women!

On the bright side the Arabian Nights restaurant is wonderful - open to the night, very tasty local foods and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennisecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We loved coming back to the Marriott after a long day of sightseeing in chaotic Cairo. The grounds and pool are perfect for a bit of rest and relaxation. The restaurant / terrace outside is way overpriced but compensates for the people watching and setting. The main building oozes charm from the outside whereas the modern annexes to both sides are more functional but with spacious rooms. We enjoyed people-watching in the evening on the terrace and were really amused with one busy (and beautiful) prostitute's dealings with potential clients, taking calls on her cell phone, and then walking away from her table without paying, and seeing the staff's reaction. It was the perfect setting for a short story or novella. We will be back!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The nice thing about staying at the same hotel during a months holiday is that you can leave bags there and not carry everything all up and down the country.
This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. When we came back the second time they said "Welcome back" The second visit they gave me room # 803. I requested this room for our 3rd and 4th visit and got it. It had a balcony overlooking the Nile. Later on in October on or 3rd and 4th stay we were able to sit out on the balcony and have a drink.
After one stay we had an early flight and they boxed us up 2 breakfasts to take with us which was nice,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeniciaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews