We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
225
230
89
35
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
230
89
35
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssamir fayekbarrel barbritish officersofficer's clubagatha christieancient elevatoregyptian museumunique hoteljuly streetmetro stophotel ownerbreakfast roomkhan eltour operatorthe entire staffheart of downtownfalafel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here with 4 young children. The hotel has a lovely old feel, and the staff are very friendly. The rooms were clean and big enough for three beds each. The air conditioning worked well. The communal areas are good. The bar is a wonderful place to relax, even with children, and to play cards, write diaries etc. The location is very good. It is 2 minutes from Ataba Metro which in turn is only one stop from Rameses Station. It is also easy walking distance from the Egyptian Musuem. The food is OK. Breakfast is mainly toast and lots of empty calories. However Gad restaurant is 5 minutes walk and there the food is fantastic, the service great, and it is very cheap.. Te hotel was slightly more expensive (90 USD for a triple room) than our usual budget but it was worth it for the staff and the location.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank Kazakh_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My daughter, husband and I stayed at the Windsor for 5 days in March 2010. We loved it - the location was a central area; the sitting/room bar was a comfortable spot with atmosphere for drinks, checking wi-fi, and relaxing; the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. You need to be aware that this is not the Hilton - the hotel is old and has not been updated and rooms are small, however clean and adequate. It does make you feel like you are in Egypt, not a transplanted westernized hotel. We ran out of money due to a bank error and had to ask family to wire money through Western Union. While helping us with our predicament, the staff could not have been more helpful - even offering to loan us money! Samir at the desk was always friendly and accommodating, and arranged a great 1/2 trip to the camel market for us. I would definitely use the hotel again, though doubt that I will be making it back to Cairo anytime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasCityLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Booked The Windsor Hotel after reading reviews as I actually wanted that old time faded grandeur! As solo female traveller also wanted somewhere secure. Very centrally located really close to the Ataba metro which is a great and very safe way of getting around Cairo (there are female only carriages) As for the deluxe room - big with adequate plumbing. clean bed linen and clean room but dont expect a quite nights sleep as its very noisy...but for me that added to the experience! Breakfast not the hotels strong point BUT the homemade hummous made up for it in the bar at night. All the staff very friendly and helpful although suprised that i wanted to do my own thing and not be part of any tour! all airport pick ups and collections were punctual.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingdomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The room I stayed in and the room my friends stayed in both had serious beg bug problems. We all woke up with tons of bites which was not fun. Other than that the service is sub par (they didn't remake our room or give us sheets until 10pm on the first day). The breakfast is terrible (cold soggy bread and very sad rolls). The one redeeming quality of this hotel is that is very well located in the heart of Cairo in between everything.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaboutit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I recently spent three days at the Windsor Hotel in Cairo. The service is slow, the staff tends to talk back, and the street it is on looks like the arm pit of hell. If you want a cookie cutter corporate hotel experience then best to stick to one of the chain hotels along the Nile. But if you want a real Cairo experience in a place with a century of soul baked into every crack and crevice then this is the place for you. I completely fell in love with it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinMan012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews