We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City View Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$261
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Osiris Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,088 results
Traveller rating
1,408
446
129
44
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
446
129
44
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan restaurantle deckinfinity poolsouthern tipnile riverluxury roomthe club loungesmall balconyhigh floorbreakfast buffetspecial thanksegyptian museumduty managertahrir squarekebabgyspasud
Filter
Updating list...
1,242 - 1,247 of 2,088 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location for wondering around Cairo. Service is good. Rooms may need a little update but in general decoration is good. Great Ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I recently spent one night sleeping on the 21st floor of this great hotel; my window dominated the island of Zamalek in the middle of the Nile, and over the entire city and beyond, to the horizon: a breathtaking view. The hotel is really first class: great service, wonderful hall and accessory rooms, private, well-manicured riverfront; the rooms (mine was a regular room) are not big because they are carved within segments of the circular cross-section of the building, however they are airy and full of light, and furnished with sober elegance; same for the bathroom All the above considered, this hotel is a great bargain. Conversely, I was not too impressed with the quality of the food of the Egyptian grill restaurant, at the far end of the riverbank.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O_Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in early January and were extremely pleased. We chose the Club Floor option, which gave us complimentary breakfast in the club lounge on the 16th floor (made-to-order omelets, fresh-squeezed juices, coffee, pastires, cheese & breads, fresh fruits and jams. International news was always on the big flat-screen TV's and the tables were always nicely set. The desk is staffed 24/7 and they were extremely helpful--even calling a pharmacy for me and getting a cough medicine ordered and delivered to the hotel (for $4 US!). In the afternoons/evenings there are complimentary cocktails and snacks--hot meats, cheeses and breads, fresh fruit, sweets and cookies. They don't serve lunch or dinner, but you can order off the room service menu, have it charged to your room and served in the lounge. We did this one night...the club sandwich with a huge basket of fries fed us both for around $10 USD. Staff at the lounge were exceptional--always welcoming and cheerful. Our room was on the 24th floor and looked over the Nile, with the pyramids at Giza visible in the distance once the morning fog/smog lifted. The room itself was smallish to our American tastes, but had a nice walk-out balcony, very comfortable king bed, lots of storage and and convenient desk (free WiFi, high speed) and lounge chair. The size of the room is the only thing that keeps me from giving this 5 stars--and I know it wouldn't bother most Europeans. The location is very convenient to downtown sights like the Egyptian Museum, Nile-front restaurants, Old Cairo and the like.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a safe/secure hotel with international standards.

Room Tip: Choose the Club level for free breakfast (real, made-to-order eggs/omelets, meats, smoothies, fruits, pastries) and complimentary cocktails/wine/beer later in the day. Staff at desk 24/7, very helpful. We saved a ton on food/beverage. Ask for high room facing the pyramids.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

From the moment we arrived [after passing Cairo typical security to get in] we felt very welcome. Staff were really friendly, and we got a room despite arriving way before standard check in time [before 8am!]. We also got a king bed without problems, despite being two guys - seems no issue here at all, which is great.

Rooms are not huge, but well put together, and the bathroom is really nice - sadly it was not 100% clean, but that was solved within the morning, perhaps it was related to us checking in before time, who knows. Rest of room was fine.

Staff organised a pyramids tour for us, and we also used the spa, which was very nice. Last but not least, the Moroccan restaurant for dinner as well as the breakfast were of really great quality, and at a very decent price indeed.

We want to go back to Cairo, and I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: High up - for the views of the nile!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have described your stay at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah as great stay, amazing Ambassadors and great location. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We have noted your comments relevant to the room cleanliness on your early arrival, please rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously and will be influential in improving this area.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our tour provider arranged for the hotel and it was a most welcoming introduction to Cairo. The facility is beautiful, the view from our room gave us our first glimpse of the pyramids, and the breakfast buffet was sumptuous. Our room upgrade gave us access to the Club Lounge which had a nice assortment of munchies but were a bit repetitive day to day. The staff was very accommodating at bringing us multiple diet Cokes since that was a beverage of choice. The room was nicely sized...larger than our room at the Lyon, France Sofitel property. The security was a joke at the entrance to the hotel but perhaps that was because we were a group of American tourists.

Room Tip: Request a view of the pyramids.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayhawkFan915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and described it with First class services. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews