We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Nearby Hotels
US$159
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
US$160
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Berlin Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,963)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveller rating
1,307
433
125
42
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
433
125
42
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan restaurantle deckinfinity poolsouthern tipnile riverluxury roomthe club loungeamazing locationhigh floorbreakfast buffetspecial thanksegyptian museumtahrir squarekebabgyspasudpyramids
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hotel right in the city, with amazing views and lovely areas to sit by the nile and enjoy the sounds of the city.

Rooms were lovely, very comfy beds!! Breakfast was absolutely fantastic!!!!! Can't even do it justice describing it!

The only fault was the service provided by check in staff. We reserved 2 triple adjoining rooms, only to find out on check in they don't have triple rooms and had to wait at 3 am for an hour for them to bring extra cot beds to our non adjoining rooms, and move rooms ye following day, which yet again we had to request the extra cot beds. Everything seemed to take a long time with these staff members and no apologies given! All other service staff were very friendly and hospitable though!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all thank you for your nice comment! The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Allow me to sincerely apologize to your goodself for failing to meet your expectations with regard to the hotel’s check-in services and correct room allocation, whilst at the same time I thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Very good hotel on th Nile with excellent service, views and good restaurants. The usual great beding and large rooms and reasonable price especially with tours. Try the Kababgy mixed grill sitting by the nile with fresh baked as you need it pita bread.

Room Tip: King size rooms tend to be smoking rooms but the twin Double non-sloking are excellent. Most rooms have great views, and it goes up more than 20 floors so try for a higher floor room. Plenty of elevators makes life easy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlythebestTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that your stay at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah was an enjoyable one.

Thank you for sharing your experience in Cairo and for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are continuously striving to meet, exceed our guests’ expectations and your feedback with very motivational to continue with our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the “Jewel of the Nile” in the very near future.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

During our visit Cairo was enveloped in smog laden with desert dust. The traffic was appalling, slow to grid-lock and very noisy with drivers hooting at everything whether it moved or not. It was wonderful to return to the calm of the Sofitel, gently lapped by the Nile, and with its courteous and helpful staff. This is the place to stay if you wish to shed your taxi induced headaches and return to sanity in this high energy entrancing city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for three persons, they gave us an extra bed. We paid for it about $30 per night. It was not very comfortable. The size of the room was ok. The room had a standard 2 chairs and a couch. My only concern is if you book a Nile view you may find the dead Mosquitos inside the room (near the balcony)& they don't want to clean them. Other than that the hotel is good and the people working there are friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osama_hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your comment on the dead mosquitoes was passed over to the Department concerned for rectifications.

looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially;

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked two Luxury Rooms with Club access.

Checked in at the Club level on level 16 - which was a slow process but the staff there were very friendly and provided us with refreshments while we were checked in.

ROOM:
The full Nile views from our room (1911) were fantastic. Two complimentary bottles of water per day was a nice touch. The beds are the usual Sofitel bed - extremely comfortable. A twin room has two large single beds.
Rain shower over bath was a nice feature - as I am a tall person I usually have issues with wall mounted shower heads. This room had both a wall-mounted shower in addition to the rain shower. The rain shower did have a few jets that sprayed towards the floor, which resulted in a drenched bath mat. Bathrobes are soft and fluffy. One small mention is that the room we booked was supposed to have Hermes ammenities, instead had L'Occitaine (nitpicking, I know, but I pick up on small details like this).
TV was a little small, but was a flatscreen widescreen. Be aware when you book the room with "complimentary movies" - it means that you get the cable movie channels included - there was no movies-on-demand feature that I could find.
If you want the balcony door unlocked you do need to call up to get it unlocked. They make you sign a disclosure of some sort, which I found interesting.
There is complimentary Wifi internet access hotelwide - plus the ethernet connection in the room is complimentary too.

DINING:
We dined at the Kebabgy restaurant on our first night. Best bread that I have had in Egypt so far in my week in the country. The rest of the meal was fantastic too - with live entertainment.
We ordered room service each of the days we were there. Meals came lukewarm, but I suppose it's hard to deliver meals to a room as hot as they were then they were cooked.

With Club privileges you get to choose if you want to have breakfast in the Club Lounge or in the Sud Restaurant on the Ground floor. We chose the Sud restaurant on the recommendation of another guest and the spread is fantastic! The first two mornings were quiet and the service was fast and attentive and the food on the buffet topped up and hot. On our final morning the restaurant was very busy. The staff were still efficient in resetting a table for us, bringing us tea and clearing our plates. However, the food on the buffet was cold: the pancakes were cold and hard, the scrambled eggs was almost empty and cold, beef bacon was cold.

FACILITIES:
SoFit - small gymnasium. There is a couple treadmills, a couple bikes. If there was 5 people using this facility - it would be crowded.
Pool - heated in Winter. Not sure if it was 28 degrees C like the sign said it was, but it was still nice. It is a small pool and I imagine it would get very crowded in Summer.

CHECKOUT:
This put a huge downer on our trip. We attempted to check out on the Club floor. We started check out at 0940. The staff there were having some sort of problems with our account. At 1020 the staff then asked us to go checkout at the reception facilities on the ground floor. This process took 40mins and at no stage during this time did the staff tell us what the problem was. We were just left sitting there wondering why it was taking so long to checkout. After 40mins they suddenly decide they are unable to check us out? So we were then escorted to the ground floor where It then took another 20mins to finalise checkout. This was all for a final account of approximately 40 Egyptian pounds (approx AUS $7.50 - after the deposit they took at the start of our stay). Seriously, an hour for checkout?
Luckily for everyone, we were simply checking out to check in at the Cairo Marriott for the start of a tour the next day. Imagine if we had a flight to catch!


SUMMARY:
It was disappointing that our check out experience put a downer on what had been a perfect 3 days at the Sofitel Cairo el Gezirah. In future, I would still book Club facilities, however I would only check in and out at the reception facilities on the ground floor.
The staff are extremely friendly, attentive and polite - which I have come to love from the Sofitel brand.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with NIle views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maelstrom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your comment on your check-out procedures were passed over to the Department concerned for rectifications.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially;

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews