We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$44
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$40
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ANAKATO2(Aswan)
US$41
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$34
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Batota House(Aswan)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveller rating
921
429
141
52
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
429
141
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephantine islandpanorama barorangerie restaurantfloor restaurantsuperior roombotanical gardensboat servicetop floorthe riverkitchener islandferry boatroom serviceinfinity pooldinner buffetfree ferryhotel ferrynile cruise
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I was there in October and we were in Junior King Suite with Nile View.
Absolutely loved it! I don't think it was very busy time I had a filling the whole thing belongs to us. Hotel stuff was very nice, suite was very clean and modern.
Thank you everyone for making our time in Aswan very special.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your precious positive review for Mövenpick Resort Aswan and the well appreciated granted high score.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service and true Values ".

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain

With best regards

Wael Allam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

There are two Movenpick hotels in Aswan; the old and the new. Both are situated on Elephant Island. We stayed at the older and more traditional of the two rather than its slightly bigger and brasher younger sister.
Elephant Island is situated in the middle of the Nile and access to both hotels is only possible via a rather romantic and novel ferryboat crossing.
The reception area is large and impressive in a traditional style. The main restaurant is on the ground floor where a very comprehensive breakfast and buffet evening meals are served. The guest rooms are all large, well-furnished and on whatever side of the hotel, have either an east or west view of the Nile.
Outside there is a huge swimming pool, with plenty of sun-lounger space. It is set in delightful and tranquil gardens affording views of both banks of the river.

The main feature of the old hotel is the thirteen floored central tower. I imagine it must have been built at a time when there was no planning permission in Aswan, or if there was, then serious greasing of palms must have taken place. From the city it is a complete eyesore, as it dominates the skyline over the Nile. However from the hotel it is a different matter. The top floor houses an a la carte restaurant, with the tables arranged next to the windows on the outside. It affords the most stunning views of the Aswan, the Nile with feluccas tacking across and the surrounding countryside. From it there a sensational views of the sunset. The restaurant prices were very reasonable. It is an absolute must if you are staying at either of the hotels; we went twice. In the high season it would be advisable to book early, as I imagine it gets very popular.

At the end of our Nile cruise, our guide asked our group if any of us would be willing to take part in a video interview to be used by the Egyptian Tourist Board on social media. They wanted to hear our views on tourist security and safety within Egypt. We all declined, but promised that we would mention it in any reviews we wrote about other aspects of our holiday. To fulfil this obligation hoping to get the message across in a sort of scattergun approach, I am adding what follows as a footnote to all my Egyptian reviews. Security in Egypt is very strict. They still have conscription and a large part of their army seems to be devoted to anti-terrorist measures. All the main hotels have sniffer dogs for cars entering their grounds. On the doors, there are guards, body screens and bag searches. The same applied to all the main historical sites, museums and other tourist attractions. In the towns there seem to be army checkpoints outside all major buildings and in the streets. On the roads between the main towns there are fortified roadblocks at regular intervals. None of this is particularly edifying to look at, but was certainly very thorough. From a British perspective, after the events on Westminster Bridge and at the Manchester Arena, nowhere can be viewed as totally secure, but Egypt appears as safe as most places. I certainly wouldn’t use fears over security as a reason for not visiting this extremely hospitable country.

Having just given a big puff to the Egyptian tourist industry, in the interest of balance, I would also like to raise a gripe. All the tourists we talked to complained about the activities of street vendors. Whether hawking tourist goods, taxi, horse or camel rides, felucca trips or offering guiding services, they were often extremely aggressive and annoying. Their approach is counter-productive. As even a polite ‘no thank you’ is perceived as an opening of negotiations, window shopping with a view to purchase is impossible. On several occasions my wife and I decided we would stay in our hotel because we didn’t want ‘the in your face’ bombardment on the street. There is a strategy to deal with it. When approached, look the other way, avoid any eye contact, make no attempt to engage in conversation and keep walking straight ahead. For most of the world, such behaviour would be deemed the height of bad manners, but it is the only thing that works. Yes, I know that the Egyptian economy is not strong and some of these people are desperate, but if the authorities could find a humane approach to the problem, they might find even more tourists would be attracted to country.

The Movenpick is a lovely hotel. Interestingly, both the guides we had whilst touring in Aswan said they preferred the old to the new, but I couldn’t really pass comment. The staff at our hotel were uniformly excellent and it is a peaceful haven from the hurly burly of Aswan. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone wanting a base to explore the city itself or the surrounding historical sites such as Philae, Abu Simbel or the High Dam. Don’t forget to book the top floor restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your precious positive review for Mövenpick Resort Aswan and the well appreciated granted high score.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service and true Values ".

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain

With best regards

Wael Allam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We were traveling in Egypt with another couple and had just left a nice hotel in Cairo. When we saw our rooms at the Movenpick in Aswan we thought their had to be a mistake. Our rooms were both dirty and run down. The walls were filthy and the carpet was dirty. When we asked about staying in the newer building, they said it would be an extra $100 a night. This was not even a 2 star room. They did come and clean it and the next day clean the carpets. It was old dirt from not keeping up with regular cleaning. Beds were not comfortable. Was a downer to an overall amazing trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in old section are unacceptable.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrahnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear our Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your valuable review about the recent stay at Mövenpick Resort Aswan.

We have taken a note of your valuable comments and relayed them to the relevant management team. It is only through valuable feedback received from our valuable guests such as your good self, that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

With best regards

Wael Allam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I enjoyed every bit of it... the view, the room, the scents of flowers in the gardens, the pool, the Nile, really magnificent.
The staff were also very courteous.
Would love definitely to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mirou2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your precious positive review for Mövenpick Resort Aswan and the well appreciated granted high score.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service and true Values ".

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain

With best regards

Wael Allam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The infinity pool! The restaurant and bar! Drink service at the pool! Huge and beautiful surroundings. On Elephantine Island with fabulous walks and gardens. I think the person who wrote this place was run down was writing about another hotel. One of the best places I have stayed in my fifty years of traveling.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your precious positive review for Mövenpick Resort Aswan and the well appreciated granted high score.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service and true Values ".

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain

With best regards

Wael Allam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews