We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oscar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
AnaKato(Gharb Seheyl)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$44
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$49
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nubian Holiday House Aswan(Aswan)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$35
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
0
0
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
0
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I wanted to stay at a really, really cheap hotel in downtown Aswan and I found it. Not for the fainthearted, this hotel has seen better days. This hotel was something out of a set for "The Bourne Supremacy". I didn't expect much for 13Lbs Egyptian but the AC worked and there was adequate hot water and that was good enough for me. It would have been nice if there was a small fridge though.

The staff was cool once you got to know them. The big boss "Madame" was pleasant enough but didn't speak English and neither did Ana, her assistant during the day. Peter, the night concierge was swell and spoke perfect English and we spent a lot of time shooting the breeze in the evenings. Isaac, who was the midnight to morning concierge and doubled as the driver. He was fun to be with when I booked a tour of the Upper Aswan Dam and the St. Simeon Coptic Monastery.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My (obviously) outdated Lonely Planet guide book said that the Oscar was a "traveller's favorite" with a pleasant rooftop terrace, complete with Stella beer. This place was a dump. Even by Egyptian budget hotel standards. The younger woman at reception was pleasant enough, but the older lady in charge was extremely surly and unwelcoming. The room hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, and there was leftover food covered with ants between the two beds. A hole in the bathroom window had been plugged with wadded up garbage bags. There was an inexplicable circular hole about 3 inches in diameter right through the bedroom wall to the outside. While the room did have an air conditioner it was completely non-functional. Worst of all there was NO rooftop terrace, and NO Stella beer available. Don't even waste your time on this craphole, there are several other adequate budget hotels in Aswan that cost the same and are far better.

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel! This place is crap!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 151Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after booking it through STA. Although we are not adverse to staying in cheaper, budget-type hotels we found the Oscar to be pretty dire all-round.
After a confused check-in (no-one really spoke any English) we were shown to our room and after the half an hour we needed to unpack and have a shower the bumbling receptionist knocked and asked us to move rooms, with no explanation. With him loitering disconcertingly we rammed our things back into our bags and we moved to a seemingly identical - apart from the presence of a fridge - room. The only other difference was that sink tap leaked so badly we resorted to using the bath to clean our teeth.

While the room was fairly spacious it wasn't altogether clean with the walls and ceiling in desperate need of a re-paint.
having stayed in many hostels, back-packer type places we probably could have lived with it although compared with what we have paid for hotels in other Egyptian cities it represented very poor value for money.

After the farce with the room change breakfast proved to be a similar challenge. After being told it was on the ground, then the 1st floors we finally followed the waitress/chef/dogs body to the 4th floor where she unlocked a drab, dusty and dark dining room from another era, which didn't look like it had been used for some time. She then prepared us an adequate if basic meal for us (jam, hard boiled eggs, bread, black tea).

Check-out was equally shambolic with confusion rife over the fact that we had paid for the room in England.

Whilst the hotel isn't on the Nile along with virtually all the other hotels the location isn't all that bad as you are right by the souk and just about walking distance to most things and only 5-minute walk to the train station. Being where it is you also get a good insight into local life however is this enough to justify staying here? Probably not. Especially not at £13 UK we paid for the room per night (compare this to St Josephs in Luxor at £16 a night).

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank fll7jkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews