We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$32
View deal
Booking.com
US$26
View deal
Etrip
FindHotel
Trip.com
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
9
14
9
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
14
9
14
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. All special requests were done quickly. The hotel is very clean and affordable. The food was good, with good portions and if we wanted anything more, they were always quick and satisfy our requests. The pool area is decent, but the furniture and chair pads are a bit worn and dirty. The location is within walking distance to a couple small shopping areas, several restaurants, and the Nile. Wifi was only available in the lobby and dining area, not in the rooms. Overall a great experience and I was very happy with our stay there.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Zahirah RLB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My stay at this hotel was very positive. I made a last-minute reservation after seeing how horrible my previous hostel was, so I may have been overly optimistic about the hotel. However, the staff is very friendly, the food is good, the rooms are nice, and the pool was a relaxing and clean. I think this is a good place to stay, especially since the rooms are fairly cheap.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It is within half an hours walk of Luxor’s centre and main sites. The hotel was looking rather tired and shabby and some of the adjacent buildings appear derelict. The roof top swimming pool and relaxation area was rather nice and there are limited views to the Nile and Luxor. The breakfasts were small and uninteresting. The practical downside of this place was the fact that there was no internet facility. A cafe/restaurant just up the road does provide WiFi and there is a cheap shop for drinks (cheep bottled water) opposite and a good pharmacy for your needs (including over the counter Viagra) next door.

Our impression of the Philippe Luxor Hotel was marred by the failure of the hot water system, the staff were able to get it working after a couple of hours but we had been looking forward to a hot bath on arrival. The hotel appears to be suffering from the economic crisis and poor tourist numbers following the revolution and unless there is an upturn this place is sure to decay beyond rescue. After my experience at the hotel I would not choose to stay here again.

Room tip: If you intend to use the roof pool you may benefit from a room on a higher floor.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It was OK - I wouldn't stay again, although the staff seemed nice enough (even if I'm not convinced that pasta is a traditional Egyptian dish.....)
tired room decor with old furniture and carpet, and seemingly only twin bed rooms as my husband and I weren't offered a 'large bed' as we had been in other Egyptian hotels. Bathroom was clean,and the pool area was was reasonable and a good size.
The hotel is a bit jammed in amongst other buildings - so our bedroom windows looked out into another hotel, and the hallway windows looked into another building being renovated (and a large pile of old bathroom fittings). The hallways are very poorly lit, and the breakfast poor too (hard boiled eggs and bread in our 'breakfast bag'). But I understand from people joining our tour group in Luxor that compared to other hotels in the area it was in a good and quiet location. And if you're out and about sightseeing, and just sleeping there, clean and a reasonable bed is all you need after all.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingactress03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sorry to say this hotel, which was probably excellent in its day is now in a sad decline. The lobby and hallways are poorly lit, even though there are light there, no doublt to save costs. The room was acceptably clean, but tired, with torn carpets and a view of a wall. Even though there were only a handful of us staying, breakfast was no where to be seen, even 20 min after the official start time. The table cloths were stained and the breakfast rudimentary. We wouldn't recommend it, even if you are on a budget.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews