We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
9
14
9
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
14
9
14
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Breakfast was included in room rate. However, at breakfast I was prompted to pay. Later when I checked my reservation and saw that breakfast was indeed included in room rate, I went to desk to ask for refund of the breakfast charge, but was refused. That night, the Air conditioner in the room stopped working. Had to move to a different room. And then THAT room's AC did not work at all either! It was like a freakin oven in that room. I complained to front desk. One would think a refund of part of room fee would be in order, but no, they are not willing to do that. I will NOT stay here again. The man making and serving breakfast was very kind and made a good breakfast for us... If everyone there had been attentive to guests as he was, perhaps our stay would have been better.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lucielu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is silent and nice for a budget stay, the reception staff if highly unfriendly and rude though the restrauant and gate keepers are warm and welcoming. The meals are.good in restrauant and the pool is good to relax. Everything is good on average except reception staff. Three out of four people are highly dissapoitning.

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank radhikamittal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. All special requests were done quickly. The hotel is very clean and affordable. The food was good, with good portions and if we wanted anything more, they were always quick and satisfy our requests. The pool area is decent, but the furniture and chair pads are a bit worn and dirty. The location is within walking distance to a couple small shopping areas, several restaurants, and the Nile. Wifi was only available in the lobby and dining area, not in the rooms. Overall a great experience and I was very happy with our stay there.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Zahirah RLB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My stay at this hotel was very positive. I made a last-minute reservation after seeing how horrible my previous hostel was, so I may have been overly optimistic about the hotel. However, the staff is very friendly, the food is good, the rooms are nice, and the pool was a relaxing and clean. I think this is a good place to stay, especially since the rooms are fairly cheap.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It is within half an hours walk of Luxor’s centre and main sites. The hotel was looking rather tired and shabby and some of the adjacent buildings appear derelict. The roof top swimming pool and relaxation area was rather nice and there are limited views to the Nile and Luxor. The breakfasts were small and uninteresting. The practical downside of this place was the fact that there was no internet facility. A cafe/restaurant just up the road does provide WiFi and there is a cheap shop for drinks (cheep bottled water) opposite and a good pharmacy for your needs (including over the counter Viagra) next door.

Our impression of the Philippe Luxor Hotel was marred by the failure of the hot water system, the staff were able to get it working after a couple of hours but we had been looking forward to a hot bath on arrival. The hotel appears to be suffering from the economic crisis and poor tourist numbers following the revolution and unless there is an upturn this place is sure to decay beyond rescue. After my experience at the hotel I would not choose to stay here again.

Room tip: If you intend to use the roof pool you may benefit from a room on a higher floor.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews