We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away from Home...Great Base for Westlands and Central Nairobi”
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amani Gardens Inn
Ranked #4 of 287 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I've said it before but I'll say it again. The staff and the grounds (trees are awesome) just make this an oasis of calm not far from the Wayaki Way maddness. Its so great to be able to walk to Java even late in evening for a hot chocolate or in the Day to wander to ABC without need of a cab. Sarit Center and Westlands are walkable but short ride. And downtown is a walk over the pedestrian overpass and jump on a bus to CBD.

For those of you old enough to remember the TV show "Cheers" and its theme song. This is the Amani Gardens to a "T" (sans Alcohol of course).

I have tried other guesthouses when Amani is full and they pale in comparison both on an amenities and value for money basis.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

I found the place to be so quiet. Waking up to the songs of birds is nowadays a less common phenomenon in cities. I loved every bit of this place. Nice rooms, comfortable bed, nice room lighting and very nice hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor. Room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Getu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Relax in this beautiful walled garden inn. Exotic flowers and birds. The rooms are nice and the staff treat you like family. The breakfast, included in your stay, is plentiful, and meals at least much or dinner are reasonable and delicious. There is even an afternoon tea and cookies! I never stay anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Until I arrived at Amani Gardens, I had not idea it existed.
Tucked in the Westlands neighbourhood it is close to the Westlands metropolis but still distant form the hustle and bustle.
Rooms have no TV. There is a small library in the lounge next to the reception.
If you have children , they will enjoy a jungle gym, swings and slide. Adults can enjoy the tennis and basketball courts.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jToweett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Our first time and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Comfortable accommodations, beautiful setting and friendly service. The staff are personable and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The food was great. We would recommend it for a quiet getaway and for families to enjoy with their children.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleRabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 287 in Nairobi
94 reviews
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#8 of 287 in Nairobi
167 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing