We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The best field guide at the best Safari company: James Arama and the Spirit of Kenya

We booked with Spirit of Kenya for a plan of 9 safaris and 10 nights. We have no words to tanks... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Swissshamoo
,
Bern, Switzerland
Spirit of Kenya cannot be beat!

First, I’d like to give a big “thank you” to Tiago for planning such a wonderful safari for myself... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
kelseys239
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 240 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Nairobi
from US$399.00
More Info
from US$1,448.72
More Info
from US$430.00
More Info
from US$163.47
More Info
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
236
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river camp best trip of our lives masai mara small issue driving skills safari experience camps lodges whole process quick response airport pickup numerous questions outstanding guide last moment dietary requirements amazing safari booking process ilkeliani camp
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Who knew a yawn could be so important?
We had a great time with Soul of Kenya. After a few missteps on the first day, we ended up with a new guide and a new Land Cruiser. Nesta, our Massai guide, was a fantastic student of the nuances of Massai Mara animal behavior.
We had been eating lunch in the car for about a half-hour while watching a shy leopard in the bush near a river. Suddenly, Nesta became animated. “She’s yawning,” he said as he excitedly moved the Toyota down the river, then forded it and hurried us up to the base of a small mound of grass. Within minutes the sleeping Leopard we’d been watching got up, moved away from the river and came to the top of the little mound – where we were now parked just 15 feet away. It was one of the greatest events on a trip that had many great events.
When we had issues with a COVID test, he got a mobile team to come to us … in the game park. He had a great sense of humor and treated us like family, taking his time with us and never rushing us. I have already recommended him and Spirit of Kenya to others and will for years to come. Thanks, Nesta!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_Of_Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at Spirit of Kenya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eva S,

Our guides, Nesta included, are indeed the best :) They are absolute experts on wildlife and that's why you can have spectacular experiences like the ones you mention. Thank you so much for these kind words, it means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021

We recently completed a nearly two-week safari to Kenya with Spirit of Kenya, and it was an amazing experience. Our safari took us to Amboseli (Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge), Lake Naivasha (Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort), Ol Pejeta (Serena Sweetwaters Camp), Lake Nakuru (Sarova Lion Hill) and Masai Mara (Mara Serena). from the beginning of the planning process to the end of our safari, Spirit of Kenya met and exceeded all of our expectations. Our trip planner, Tiago, was exceptional; very prompt with responding to emails, and there were so many emails...lol. While on safari, our guide, Charles, was awesome; not only was he very knowledgeable concerning game drives/wildlife, but really personable/easy to talk to, always went out his way to make sure everyone was having an enjoyable experience. It makes such a huge difference when you are on such a long trip, and you are able to develop a great rapport with your guide. Beyond Tiago and Charles, I want to give a shout out to other staff with Spirit of Kenya that helped to make our trip so memorable, such as Operations Manager Miss Beauty, and drivers Moses and Alex, who, in their own ways ensured our trip went smoothly. In totality, Spirit of Kenya really runs a top notch operation - from trip planning, to airport transfers, to arranging covid testing, to the safari activities, every aspect of our trip was executed as planned. Some other tidbits: While all of our lodgings were outstanding - our group's unanimous favorite was the Serena Sweetwaters Camp in Ol Pejeta. Speaking of Ol Pejeta, the "meet the white rhinos activity" is a must do. Make sure to do a hot air balloon ride on the Masai Mara, it is amazing. Our hotel in Nairobi at the beginning and end of our trip was the Sarova Stanley - it is a really nice base to have in Nairobi. In conclusion - Spirit of Kenya really knocked it out of the park, and I would highly recommend them to anyone seeking to go on safari to Kenya.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Departure39635745699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_Of_Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at Spirit of Kenya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Departure39635745699,

Wow! these words make us extremely happy :) We are so glad you had such an amazing safari and that this lifetime experience met your expectations. Thank you so much for this review, it means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021

When planning our safari trip I emailed about 10 different companies. They all replied, some a few days later (time difference taken into consideration), some a week later, some never. They all had prices to share with me too - some were too expensive, but none gave an itinerary. Well, meet Andre at Spirit of Kenya! You know that first impression, oh, so important. He nailed it. Excellent English, excellent time management and really tried to figure out what we wanted, although we did not know what we wanted. The professional and courteous as detailed itinerary planning made me feel super safe and comfortable.

Our drive Sego, what a gem, best employee an employer could want. On time, punctual, diplomatic, did not break any of the driving rules or rules within the park and we saw everything we could have possibly wanted.
Sego was very knowledgeable and made our trip the best ever.

I highly recommend choosing Spirit of Kenya, their cars are in tip top shape, the driver was great and we felt safe and we were never rushed.

Awesome trip - thanks to Spirit of Kenya!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank marieb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_Of_Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at Spirit of Kenya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear marieb313,

Awesome words! We know how challenging planning a safari can be and that's why we always put high efforts on it, from the moment we receive the first email until the moment you return to your home country :) thank you so much for this review, it means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

From the initial emails I was confident that I had chosen the right place to take our famjly of 5 on our bucketlist safari. Vanessa answered all of our questions in a very timely manner and worked with me as my wires were delayed or received with less then anticipated funds due to unforeseen bank fees--just add it to the next payment!

Shuma our driver--wow what a guy--were were lucky enough to see the Big 5 during our 9 day safari. He was great and by the end of the week I felt like I had known him for years. SOK is a very family-friendly company--when our flight dates changed-no problem--we'll adjust your dates. Very personal, very flexible, customizable options. I like their 4 pricing levels so you can pick and choose our places to stay.

Vehicle was great-cant imagine if we didn't upgrade to the landcruiser given the condition of some of the roads. Pack lightly as the Landcruiser can only fit 3 suitcases in the back of its trunk.

Amboseli Serena and BaseCamp Massai Mara are highly recommended places to stay---Cylanke at Basecamp was the best person we encountered during our stay.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank jeffpags
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_Of_Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at Spirit of Kenya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021


Wow! we feel so grateful for these kind words and for being given the chance to organize a family safari. We know how imprtant it is to share incredible moments with your loved ones, so we'll always put the highest efforts in it :) Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021

Spirit of Kenya lived up to it's reviews from the very start. Our trip was months in the making and Vanessa, our planner, promptly answered all of our questions and arranged the perfect trip. Our 11 day trip went perfectly smooth, even during Covid with all of the testing that was required during our stay - traveling from Kenya to Tanzania. The drivers and guides were top notch - they were very knowledgeable about the area and the animals. I can't recommend this highly enough. It was an amazing adventure that we'll never forget and this company is stellar! Thank you Vanessa, Nestor (our driver/guide in Kenya) and Edward (our driver/guide in Tanzania).

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank Beachlovers0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_Of_Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at Spirit of Kenya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear Beachlovers0626,

Such amazing words :) Yes, times are challenging for travellers and that's why we make sure it is the smoothest process so you can enjoy this experience at its best! thank you so much fort the recommendation...stellar company and stellar customers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews