We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choma Lunch in town”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #17 of 981 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen is no longer open. The restaurant has moved to a new location on Ngong Road and has become Tamarind Brasserie.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

In Karen, we shall never forget this Mbuzi choma experience after my friends and I decided to pass by for our lunch. They also had other wonderful dishes we tried out before our dessert and they were awesome too. Too delicious, prepared by the best chefs in town. We loved the quick customer service here and also the ample parking and the very cool green atmosphere. I cant fail to revisit you this holiday season.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Kelvin, Thank you for taking the time to post the great 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a delicious and memorable mbuzi choma lunch together with quick customer service. We have passed your positive feedback to the chef and service teams as an acknowledgement of their efforts to provide the best of food and service. We hope to see you again during this holiday season. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 206 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

The service was warm and welcoming, the restaurant is designed well, and has an amazing vibe. The total atmosphere in the restaurant is calm, relaxing and soothing, it’s a fun way to eat and relax during or after a long day. The food was great, very well cooked and seasoned, would highly recommend the ostrich burger- the chefs special. Thank you for a pleasant stay!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Tomor212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Tom,So glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch at Tamambo and thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you found the restaurant calm and relaxing, the service warm and welcoming and the chef is happy to hear that you enjoyed the special ostrich burger. Your positive feedback has been shared with the entire team and is a great encouragement for their efforts. We hope you will pass by again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018

We had lunch here after visiting the Giraffe center in the Karen areal of Nairobi. Food/beverages were great, everybody in our group enjoyed what they ordered. But the best part of eating here is the setting, you eat outdoors on a lawn area(you can eat inside also). They have local art for sale throughout the lawn area.

Great place GO.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear John, Sincere thanks for stopping by for lunch after visiting the Giraffe center and for taking the time to post a wonderful 5 star review. It is such a pleasure to hear that everyone in your group enjoyed the food, beverages and mostly the outdoor setting. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most lively environment so we are very happy to see that reflected in your visit. Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. Thank you for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

It's situated in Karen and has very nice grounds for wedding reception. It was a fantastic place as it has very cool climate. The parking for vehicles is also ample. Well reserved place for weekends

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kiariew2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Kiarie, thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review and for choosing us for the wedding reception. We are happy to hear that the reception went well and you found that there was ample parking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018

You should definately leave Kenya without trying this delicious local delicacy.It will make you visit Kenya again

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Rimisiek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Hello, Thank you for the feedback and for recommending Mbuzi choma. We hope you will come back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.