We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local food and cocktails ”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 975 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

I was bought here by my tour agent during a day trip. I am a vegan and there were few vegan options for the lunch buffet. Food was good. We tried the cocktails, dawa and strawberry margaritas. Drinks were very good too.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nonochin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal managing to find vegan options on the lunch buffet. In addition we are happy to hear that you also liked the dawa and strawberry margarita. . We truly appreciate your feedback and and have passed your positive comments to all concerned. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2018

I love the grounds, the food and the service...such a lovely spot for a gracious meal. It is nice to be able enjoy the Karen Blixen museum before or after your meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear Dan, It is with great pleasure that we read your wonderful 5 star review. We are truly delighted that you love the grounds, the food and service at Tamambo Karen Blixen. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most lovely environment so I am very happy to see that reflected in your visit. Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. May thanks for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Swung by here whilst cruising around Nairobi and so glad we did. We ate excellent burgers well cooked and mouth watering moist! Lovely setting but due to the weather we had to take cover. Nice gift shop in the adjoining hotel and in the sun imagine the gardens are wonderful. Not overly priced either.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank S162WUdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Hi Daniel, So glad you decided to swing by Tamambo whilst cruising around Nairobi and took the time to post a review of the excellent burgers you ate.and lovely setting, nice gift shop and wonderful gardens. . We have shared your feedback with the team and it is a wonderful boost for them to know that their efforts have been appreciated. Many thanks again for the positive remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018

In Karen, we shall never forget this Mbuzi choma experience after my friends and I decided to pass by for our lunch. They also had other wonderful dishes we tried out before our dessert and they were awesome too. Too delicious, prepared by the best chefs in town. We loved the quick customer service here and also the ample parking and the very cool green atmosphere. I cant fail to revisit you this holiday season.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Kelvin, Thank you for taking the time to post the great 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a delicious and memorable mbuzi choma lunch together with quick customer service. We have passed your positive feedback to the chef and service teams as an acknowledgement of their efforts to provide the best of food and service. We hope to see you again during this holiday season. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

The service was warm and welcoming, the restaurant is designed well, and has an amazing vibe. The total atmosphere in the restaurant is calm, relaxing and soothing, it’s a fun way to eat and relax during or after a long day. The food was great, very well cooked and seasoned, would highly recommend the ostrich burger- the chefs special. Thank you for a pleasant stay!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Tomor212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Tom,So glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch at Tamambo and thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you found the restaurant calm and relaxing, the service warm and welcoming and the chef is happy to hear that you enjoyed the special ostrich burger. Your positive feedback has been shared with the entire team and is a great encouragement for their efforts. We hope you will pass by again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.