We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masters of serving large numbers...”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #17 of 981 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen is no longer open. The restaurant has moved to a new location on Ngong Road and has become Tamarind Brasserie.
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Tamambo and, by extension, the Tamarind Group have mastered the art of delivering an exquisite food and beverage experience. They demonstrated this by them seamless coordination of 2018 Christmas lunch for 300+ pax. They had a wide variety of dishes, great service and activities for children.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Dear Peter, Many thanks for your wonderful five star review. We are truly delighted that you chose to have Christmas lunch with and your meal met with your high expectations of the Tamarind Group providing seamless coordination a wide variety of dishes, great service and activities for the children. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear encouraging reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know that they made a positive impact on your experience. Many thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 198 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

We were in lunch. We ordered from menu and my choice was lemon grilled chicken.
We waited 1 hour and my food was almost cold.
I said to waitress, but she didin’t regonize at all.
Atmosphere is nice, but food....

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ovenono
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Dear Ove, Thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent meal at Tamambo. It was extremely disappointing to hear that the food was almost cold when it finally arrive after 1 hour and the service appeared unresponsive. It is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell way short of our customer service mark, which is to provide the best for each and every one of our guests and we thank you for your valuable feedback which has been passed on to the team concerned to investigate and implement corrective measures. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

Really a very nice setting, in peaceful gardens right by the Karen Blixen house. I tried the grilled Tilapia and my wife the Swahili curry. Very good dishes. Very friendly service.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sunseeker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Hi there, Many thanks for the great five star review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your lunch particularly the grilled tilapia and Swahili curry and that you found the service friendly. It is always so encouraging for us when we hear complementary reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your experience. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018

Tamambo restaurant is one of the happening place especially over weekends. The service levels are excellent, the buffet food spread is superb and takes care of every nationality. the ambiance is awesome, ensure you sit in open to experience the nice weather and dining. Must visit place if you are in Nairobi.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NagarajTaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear Nagaraj, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your buffet experience with us and also found the food spread superb, the service excellent and the ambiance awesome. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most appealing environment so we are very happy to see that reflected in your visit.Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward seeing you again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

Nothing negative to report about this restaurant since every time we visit everything is fantastic. It's also baby friendly which makes it a plus for those with babies. I have always enjoyed all our visits.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ingreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear Ingreda, So very happy to hear that you have been pleased with all your visits to the restaurant and have found everything fantastic and baby friendly. Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your feedback which has been passed to the out team who endeavour to provide the best of food and service and will be delighted to hear that they have succeeded. Many thanks again for taking the time to review. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.