We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern hotel in the middle of Nairobi”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #5 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2015

The roof top pool is a must-visit! Relaxed environment with nice cocktails, shisha, and yummy bitings. It gets a bit cold and windy, so dress warmly if staying into the evening.
We ate dinner and breakfast at Artisan and I was very impressed by the service and quality of the food. The chef even customized my entree to fit my vegan criteria. Breakfast was delicious as well and there were many options to choose from.
The room was superb! Quiet, clean, really comfy bed, and well-stocked mini-fridge. Absolutely no complaints.
**Only point to note--if you plan on going swimming be sure to check in by the gym to get a towel. I made the mistake of using my own kikoi and the staff followed us out to ask if we were guests!

Room Tip: There isn't necessarily a nice view in this hotel since its in the city, but ask for one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Abigail G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; and had a great time at our hotel!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Truly,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2015

Unfortunately, due to the situation in Kenya, the hotel was very quiet. I, however did not mind this as it meant all the helpful staff had even more time to help me, which they certainly did. The hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms are luxurious. The pool and rooftop bar are wonderful. It is right next to the Surit Centre, which itself has amazing restaurants. The hotel staff are impecabily well trained. Very curtious and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Raver L,
Thank you for your generous compliments for the hotel and Sarabi Pool & Supper Club
We look forward to welcome you back to Sankara Nairobi in the near future.

Truly,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the 8th time now. I love this hotel. It provides everything you expect from a luxury hotel, but in an understated elegance with African inspired decor (without becoming safari camp). Very elegant, understated and welcoming. Love the rooms. The new Blaze restaurant is the best I've found in Kenya.
The icing on the cake is the roof top bar, lounge, swimming pool. Fantastic atmosphere on Friday and Saturday nights. Don't miss it!
But what really stands out us the personable, professional and warm service. I truly feel as if I come home when I stay there. This time special mention goes to Bridget from room service. When she learned that I had come down with a cold, she immediately went and got me honey and lemon slices to make me a healing tea, on her own initiative. A small gesture, but it's this kind of details that makes the difference. And the anonymous house keeper who saw that I had broken the little figurine I'd gotten, and just quietly replaced it with a new one (I was actually very unhappy to have broken it, since I collect them for my little nephew). But my thanx go to the whole staff, from door men, receptionists on the club floor, Faith the hostess and the bar tenders.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Espadaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear Espadaman,

Thank you for your review dated August 3rd, 2015 and for taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always happy to hear from our guests and more so to hear that you had an excellent stay. We appreciate your recognition of Bridgit, Faith and all the staff that made your stay unforgettable.

I look forward to welcome you back to Sankara Nairobi soon.


Kind regards,

Khaled Helmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Having lived in Nairobi I frequently wined and dined in the Sankara, on this occasion I stayed a few nights. The rooms were nice and spacious and the service was good. The well driven air conditioned Chrysler cars with wifi were worth the little extra compared to the local taxis. I was surprised to find that the Thai restaurant had closed down as it always served good food, I didn't try the steakhouse that has now replaced it. The rooftop bar was as always a great place to hangout in Nairobi. I was surprised to find a birthday cake in my room when I returned one evening, a pleasant gesture not experienced before.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear FoodieGastroGourmet,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to welcome you back soon. On your next visit, we hope you experience "Graze" our new Steak House, you will be amazed!

I appreciate your compliments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sankara Nairobi in the near future.


Truly,

Khaled Helmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Tremendous personal service - all the amenities are up to scratch and first class as would be expected; room, restaurants, gym, rooftop pool, but it's the quality of the exceptional service that stands out. Each & every member of staff I came into contact with was helpful, proactive & well trained, whether on the check-in desk, restaurants, housekeeping or the gym. Although a large hotel with the facilities to match it feels like a family run boutique hotel & I'm looking forward to staying here again on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear dave2105,

Thank you for your review and your kind words. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate that you took the time to compliment our associates and have shared with the department heads to encourage their teams in their relentless pursuit of excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sankara Nairobi in the near future.

Truly,

Khaled Helmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 170 in Nairobi
1,001 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DusitD2 Nairobi
#18 of 170 in Nairobi
453 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 170 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $273 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing