We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing collection of African art and artefacts ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
African Heritage House
Ranked #10 of 288 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved the tour of the house. Alan has the most amazing collection of African artefacts beautifully displayed in the house. The guide or Alan can passionately tell you any details you want to know about the often historic artefacts.

I also had a delicious home cooked lunch there that I think was good value. The vegetarian option was as good as the chicken option and the many side dishes gave me plenty of choice.

I booked the visit only one day before so don't be put off if you don't like to plan in advance.

I booked the driver suggested on Alan's website who was punctual. Speaking to taxi drivers afterwards I found out that you can probably get a cheaper deal if you find your own taxi driver but they don't all know the way to the house.

This place is absolutely unmissable if you have an interest in African art. The collection is better than what you'll find in the National Museum.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank _Mags_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2016

After 6 years spent in this beautiful country, we coudn't leave without visiting this well known and amazing house. We were not desappointed! The house and Alan's collection of african art is wonderful! Our guide was very knowlegeable and lunch on the terrace facing Nairobi National Park was very pleasant. As collectors and admirers of african art, we were delighted by some old and rare pieces of the collection. If you are in Nairobi this place really deserves a visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We had such a fabulous experience including lunch and great conversation with Alan. You must call ahead and make plans for this private tour. Definitely a highlight not to be missed. The views and authentic artifacts he's collected are amazing. What a tasty lunch his staff made for us to share with him.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Visiting the African Heritage House, meeting and having lunch with Alan Donovan had been one of the most memorable trips I ever had! He was not simply accommodating, he is a legend himself- very inspiring! The experience made me look back at my life, ask myself if I had followed my heart, and plan to make a difference moving forward, while following your passion. A real must visit in Kenya! Everything and everyone had just been great!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank veronestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Alan Donovan's home MUST be visited. It is inspiring, uplifting and so very educational. His nearly half century of immersion in Africa's rich cultural heritage is all here for us to feast on and learn from, in so many forms and dimensions.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 288 in Nairobi
484 reviews
Hob House
#3 of 288 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#8 of 288 in Nairobi
171 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#12 of 288 in Nairobi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heritage House

Address: Mombasa Road | Box 17871, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $178 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Heritage House overlooking the Nairobi National Parkis described by the prestigious Architectural Digest as " a vision of usefulness informed by the African genius for decoration" Designed by American Alan Donovan, the house is a combination of architectural styles from across the continent. Tours of the house interior reveal the beauty of Africa's art and crafts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing