We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
54
18
4
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
18
4
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant well equipped gym steam bath heated swimming pool lounge area top floor westlands ambience
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

*CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY WELL ENJOYED*

This was the first time ever to spend Christmas holiday in a city hotel and to be specific the leafy suburbs of Westlands.

The hotel decor is awesome as well as their staff!

Special compliments to Gaudencia Omusebe(reservations manager) for the seamless stay!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bizzyroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinhard k, General Manager at Clarence House Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your profound review.As Clarence House Nairobi,we delight in exceeding guests expectations in all service points within the hotel.Will pass compliments to Gaudencia Omusebe as a form of motivation.

Kind regards,
Renny Kathenge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

An explicit location.A hidden gem within the city on leafy suburbs,the location is prime not to mention out of this world service.

Would definitely recommend this destination(a one stop shop to any leisure/business traveller)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amak575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinhard k, General Manager at Clarence House Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear guest,

Your review has been receipted.We appreciate your recommendation as we strive to ensure that Clarence House Nairobi caters for all travellers' requirements as a destination.

Kind regards,
Renny Kathenge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The Hotel is overrated and has a highly exaggerated 4.5 star rating. The hotel is MISMANAGED by an incompetent, ill trained Manager who doesnt have a clue . Instead of solving a problem, he prefers to dodge it by simply disappearing. The Hotel looks run down. Where ever you look, the fixtures are either broken or in need of urgent repairs. The red matting strewn all over the hotel is in shreds, Roof over the kitchen roof has a gaping hole, every where you look, something is either broken or in need of desperate repair.

Apart from the clueless manager, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The front desk is competent, the waitresses try but dont have a clue about waiting tables because they are not trained at all. The Cooks especially Ms Mary are dedicated and motivated workers and put in every effort to please the visitors. The food is well prepared and tasty. The breakfast must be the worst that I have seen . It is so bad that I wonder why the bother to serve it at all. The rooms are spacious, well kept and kept clean. The Gym is cluttered, but well equipped.

The management is hesitant to control smoking in rooms and in the Hotel. This Hotel is a non smokers nightmare. I would not recommend any one to visit this overrated house

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank raza227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinhard k, General Manager at Clarence House Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate your review.However,as management and proprietors of Clarence House Nairobi strongly disagree with your narrative.The status of the property portrayed here isn't the real time condition.

You remain our highly valued client and incase of any further communication kindly contact me directly via: gm@clarencehousenairobi.com.

Kind regards,
Renny Kathenge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We were met by very professional and friendly staff who assisted us during our entire stay. The food was fantastic to say the least! My husband had a few business meetings later in the course of the week and he was given 5 star treatment together with his partners over and above what they expected.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard K, General Manager at Clarence House Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear guest,

Your review has been receipted and are grateful for updating us on our performance.Our core mission is to exceed guests' expectations and create memorable experiences.

Once again we appreciate your business support and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
RENNY KATHENGE
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

After a walk to several places last year around westlands to get a place that we could be holding our monthly meetings,My boss suggested we check with Clarence.On inquiry,we were given a very positive response and what were given a better option from what we thought was best!We had several meetings in a nicely arranged set up for sometimes until the meetings stopped due to unavoidable circumstances.The staff were amazing and accommodating.Through Mr.Renny,the Ops Manager we agreed on a deal that was friendly to us and Clarence as well.
What has prompted me to write this review is one supervisor ,Mourine.All this while that we have not been coming up for the meetings,she has always called me asking why we no longer come for the meeting.More amazing,every time there are offers and deals,Mourine calls me to inform of the same and ask me to come and try their new deal.This service has gone far beyond my expectation and I must say that I have not received such service from such a dedicated staff.This show her commitment and ownership to ensuring that Clarence achieves its goals and objectives.I therefore recommend her.

Please pass my regards to Mr.Renny, Mourine and all other waiters who attended to us.

Steve
NRB

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemaingi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinhard k, General Manager at Clarence House Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear guest,

Your review has been acknowledged.Thank you for evaluating our performance,will share with the team and especially Mourine as a form of motivation.

As Clarence House Nairobi,we appreciate your continuous business support and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Renny Kathenge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews