We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Ranked #50 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed at the Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel in late November. The Jacaranda is an excellent place for a stay prior to safari. The hotel is clean, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The front desk can exchange currency for you; although if you are from the US, US dollars are excepted everywhere. The onsite restaurant is very nice. Our stay was short and very busy, but we would recommend the Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel if you are planning a trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArtPhemister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi, and thank you for your great review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and hope to be able to host you again in future. Until then best regards from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed here for two nights before heading out on a safari. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but dated. We had a problem with our room the first night so thankfully we were able to change rooms. The first night our room was facing the entrance and close to the lobby. Unfortunately there is a nightclub nearby with music that blasted until 1:00 in the morning. As we had arrived late from an overnight flight from the States we desperately wanted sleep which didn't come easily. The hotel staff was very helpful and moved us to a different room at the back of the hotel which blocked most of the club noise which was good as the music blasted until 4:00 in the morning the next night. The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. However, the lunch buffet is very expensive for the options provided. The grounds are nice and the staff was wonderful so a positive experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance to block the nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BardAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Public Relations Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us - and that we were able to solve your initial problem with the room. We hope to be able to host you again in future, until then best regards from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The Hotel is located at the best part of Nairobi. No one could get a better location. Rooms are a little old but very clean and comfortable. Staff is great, the food is nice too. They have a great (hopefully free) WiFi with the room.

Room Tip: Rooms face the Sarit Center are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi, and thank you for your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us - we hope you eventually found out that our WiFi is in fact free! We hope to be able to host you again in future, until then best regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights prior to a safari. The hotel is clean and comfortable & staff friendly & welcoming. The food in the restaurant isn't the best & is expensive for what you get. Breakfast not included on our first day & we were charged over £30, seriously not worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debkilvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Deb,

Greetings from Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi! We are glad you chose us for your brief stay in Nairobi, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We do our best to provide each client with the best service, and we will definitely take your experience with the restaurant into account with a view to improving the services and value for money.

We hope that you will visit us again soon to enjoy our enhanced services, until then all the best from all of us at Jacaranda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past 6 years and it has been an average lodging with a very convenient location for those coming from the airport and want to be very near central Nairobi but away from the CBD. I was, however, very impressed last week when we had a workshop there and took lunches from their restaurant. The dining has tremendously improved. And best of all, they have traditional Kenyan dishes on the menu. There was one made of sweet-potatoes mashed with beans (and whatever else was in the mix) labelled Mushenye which I immediately fell in love with. I was so impressed with the variety on the buffet that I asked to see the chef. Would not mind eating there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Kenyan dishes should you wish to try some local cuisine (if not on the buffet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Victor,

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi. Thank you for your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service.

Thank you for being our loyal customer for the past 6 years, and we are happy that you finally managed to experience our full array of services from conferencing to the local cuisine and dining experience.

We definitely welcome you to join us again, and until then best regards from the entire team at Jacaranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#47 of 169 in Nairobi
285 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#24 of 169 in Nairobi
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Address: Westlands | Woodvale Close, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $153 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda Hotels is a Kenyan landmark hotel group and has been a symbol of quality and elegance over the years. The Jacaranda Nairobi hotel, located at the heart of Westlands, has been the first choice hotel of business travelers, celebrities and leisure travelers since it’s opening in 1964. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing