We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
45
181
155
45
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
181
155
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallbreakfast buffet isshort stayhot watermasai marawestlandssaritgymconferencetaxissecurity
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed here for two nights before heading out on a safari. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but dated. We had a problem with our room the first night so thankfully we were able to change rooms. The first night our room was facing the entrance and close to the lobby. Unfortunately there is a nightclub nearby with music that blasted until 1:00 in the morning. As we had arrived late from an overnight flight from the States we desperately wanted sleep which didn't come easily. The hotel staff was very helpful and moved us to a different room at the back of the hotel which blocked most of the club noise which was good as the music blasted until 4:00 in the morning the next night. The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. However, the lunch buffet is very expensive for the options provided. The grounds are nice and the staff was wonderful so a positive experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance to block the nightclub noise
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BardAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Public Relations Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us - and that we were able to solve your initial problem with the room. We hope to be able to host you again in future, until then best regards from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The Hotel is located at the best part of Nairobi. No one could get a better location. Rooms are a little old but very clean and comfortable. Staff is great, the food is nice too. They have a great (hopefully free) WiFi with the room.

Room Tip: Rooms face the Sarit Center are better
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi, and thank you for your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us - we hope you eventually found out that our WiFi is in fact free! We hope to be able to host you again in future, until then best regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights prior to a safari. The hotel is clean and comfortable & staff friendly & welcoming. The food in the restaurant isn't the best & is expensive for what you get. Breakfast not included on our first day & we were charged over £30, seriously not worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debkilvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Deb,

Greetings from Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi! We are glad you chose us for your brief stay in Nairobi, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We do our best to provide each client with the best service, and we will definitely take your experience with the restaurant into account with a view to improving the services and value for money.

We hope that you will visit us again soon to enjoy our enhanced services, until then all the best from all of us at Jacaranda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past 6 years and it has been an average lodging with a very convenient location for those coming from the airport and want to be very near central Nairobi but away from the CBD. I was, however, very impressed last week when we had a workshop there and took lunches from their restaurant. The dining has tremendously improved. And best of all, they have traditional Kenyan dishes on the menu. There was one made of sweet-potatoes mashed with beans (and whatever else was in the mix) labelled Mushenye which I immediately fell in love with. I was so impressed with the variety on the buffet that I asked to see the chef. Would not mind eating there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Kenyan dishes should you wish to try some local cuisine (if not on the buffet).
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Director of Sales at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Victor,

A warm greeting from the team at Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi. Thank you for your feedback! It is greatly appreciated as we strive to maintain and continually improve our levels of service.

Thank you for being our loyal customer for the past 6 years, and we are happy that you finally managed to experience our full array of services from conferencing to the local cuisine and dining experience.

We definitely welcome you to join us again, and until then best regards from the entire team at Jacaranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Jacaranda Hotel for 6 nights on business. The hotel was easy to find, with the expected gated security inspection process.

Check in was simple, with just a pre authorisation of my credit card from the friendly staff.

The room was simple, but no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan (with the abundance of mosquitos having the windows open isn't an option), an iron (no steam, no good for airplane crumpled shirts!) and ironing board must be requested.

The bed was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom acceptable.

The onsite bar in the evening was 'interesting' with a number of solo ladies always present, asking if they could join me..... Hmmmmmm I can guess what they were alluding to!

Across the road was Node restaurant. Where there was a wider selection of food, and a lively drinking area.

The real highlight was the health centre / gym, which seems to be an independent business too. There was a great range of equipment and free weights, including people participating in a spin class on one occasion.

OK hotel, nothing overly special, staff are friendly and helpful as with all of the establishments I've visited in Kenya.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Guest Relations Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Meloquin,

Thank your for choosing Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi as your home away from home, and for the detailed review of your stay with us! We greatly value your feedback as we work towards maintain and continually improving our high standards of service.

We are currently working on improvements to the facilities as well as other areas we have identified, and your experiences with us have definitely been noted towards this regard. We are however glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards from the team at Jacaranda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews