We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ol-Moran Tented Camp July 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We booked through Natural World Safari Tours and were unsure what to expect. We went through the web site in detail. When they drove us up to the front door we were still unsure, then we went inside; greeted with a wonderful introduction. The rooms exceeded our expectation. This was our first experience in a tented camp so the construction and utility to provide true hot water and toliets in tents really works. We enjoyed the bar nightly and ran up quite a bill with 6 adults. They didn't take credit cards for the bar tab so make sure you have enough cash. The food was excellent. We had my wife and 4 kids (age 18 to 23)-they loved it more than us. The most noticeable thing is how quiet it can be in the middle of Africa. The sheer silence of the night, except for animals, put us in a wonderful sleep. Breakfast and dinner were both exception and they also made a great boxed lunch that we enjoyed during our Safari. The memories at Ol-moran will never be forgotten. We traveled all the way from South Carolina USA

Room Tip: We liked the closer tents to the main dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Staying in tents made us feel we were actually living with the animals.It was not everyday that you wake up early morning to the sound of an elephant trumpeting.There was a slight problem with the hot water in the bathroom as it was coming in short spells and then stopping.We called the house keeping ad they said that it was the air pressure problem.But on the whole we would recommend this camp as it completes the safari experience.The rooms were very clean and there were moe problems with insects or mosquitoes.
The food also was good.

Room Tip: Any room is fine as you really get the safari experience staying in a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

this tented camp is very nice and we had very comfortable time there. even though that the electricity timing was short somehow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samara_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

it is nice to stay in a place like a tented camp instead of a building, feel more like in the wild.
They provide self-serviced meals which are the most delicious food I had in Kenya, especially the spaghetti with meat-ball!!! Chef YumYum create many excellent yummy sauce!!
Basically it is safe and all the staff are very nice and helpful. You will miss there when you leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanLoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great tents to complement your safari experience; has all the basic amenities you need plus great food. I can't rave enough on how courteous, accommodating and friendly all the staff are, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.7 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,089 reviews
12.2 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
21.5 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#71 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
255 reviews
10.6 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
162.8 km away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#105 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Ololaimutiek, Masai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $135 - $1,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol-moran Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River. Available are 19 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners' suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses. What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bonfire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ol-moran Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing