We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$589
US$568
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$647
US$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,017
US$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$487
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$720
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$282
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
US$8,760
US$6,713
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Crossings Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,508
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
415
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsol kinyei conservancymara campconservancy conceptgame driveslocal economyother guestsresident hipporoaring lionshot watermaasai staffhis teamamazing wildlifenature walkeco tourismmess tentprivate conservancylocal maasai
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

This camp was hands down INCREDIBLE. We spent 6 nights here and did not want to leave! From our fantastic guides to the delicious meals, every staff member was unbelievably accommodating and helpful! This camp far exceeded my expectations and I hope to return sometime soon! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I spent 3 nights at the Porini Mara Camp in March with a group of friends. We were accompanied by Paolo Torchio, a renowned wildlife photographer; this was arranged by and booked through Gamewatchers. It was a marvellous experience: amazing game drives, sunrise nature walk, delicious food and lovely staff. Singing and chanting with the Maasai staff and other guest around the campfire under the starry skies at night was a great way to end the day. Having a professional photographer along definitely added to the whole experience, and I think we saw things we otherwise would not have seen - or at the very least, saw them in a different way!
Gamewatchers / Porini drivers and spotters are truly exceptional and definitely a cut above the rest ... one of the reasons why I have stayed with Porini 6 times over the last 5 years (twice at the Lion Camp and once at each of the Porini Adventure Camps in Selenkay and Ol Kinyei, a night at the Nairobi Tented Camp, and of course this stay at the Mara Camp).
The Camp Managers are also fantastic. Having stayed at 5 Gamewatchers camps I would highlight Daniel of the Selenkay Adventure Camp and Jimmy of the Mara camp in particular. They are the kind of people who lead by example, seemingly effortlessly, and command the respect of all of their staff through their leadership. Great guys ...
I think I have now run out of superlatives to describe this experience; all I can say is, book Porini if you are planning a safari in Kenya.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dfinbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

A fantastic three-night stay at the Porini Mara Camp. The whole team were incredibly welcoming and made every effort to ensure the stay was comfortable (especially as I was travelling solo). The camp is absolutely beautiful and the conservancy is so peaceful. Days were filled from morning till night with game drives and nature walks, all free from the crowds of the Mara. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kelly4842018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

It was everything we hoped it would be and more. The tents are incredibly comfortable and we felt so safe. The food was delicious and Masai looked after us so well. We hated leaving and will be back! Hilary and Ruth!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HBrennan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed in Kenya for three weeks at five different camps including three Porini camps, all of which was meticulously organized by Robyn Beattie of Gamewatchers Safaris.

Just as with all the camps, Porini Mara was a great tented camp experience. Staff were lovely, warm and welcoming, the camp was in a wonderful location, and we saw plenty. As always the food, people, and service were outstanding.

The camp is located in the Ol Kinyei concession of the Mara, and we enjoyed plenty of lion sightings over three days, plus of course all the other general game. One day we went in to the neighboring Naboisho concession and spent a wonderful couple of hours with a cheetah, just watching her lay around and then stalking her prey, my first long awaited cheetah chase.
Jeffrey was a great guide, and we were lucky to be there at a quiet time and pretty well got to go whenever and wherever we wanted.


One of the great things about these camps is the time spent game viewing, we had many more hours out in the bush compared to the more expensive private lodges in South Africa.

Loved the conservancy concept, especially seeing the benefits to the locals, excellent set up, and never many vehicles at a sighting.

Food offerings were ample, delicious, fresh and wholesome, loved the early morning coffee and snacks.
During our stay we wanted for nothing, and would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews