We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
475
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darren emma bucket shower hot water game drives other guests great hosts safari experience photographic safari bean bags right place at the right time amazing wildlife our honeymoon the reserve wildlife viewing private conservancy the managers pre dinner drinks
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

All fantastic. Emma and Darren are wonderful hosts, all the staff are superb, tents are immaculately maintained and with everything you could possible need. The location is outstanding - perfect in every way! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Tents are equal distance from the main eating and relaxing area. You are escorted at all times after dark for your safety
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The camp is just fabulous. 6 luxurious tents each with a view of the plains. The staff are excellent and friendly. Great, fresh cooked food some of which is home grown. Eco friendly and has won awards for its green footprint. The game was abundant and our guide Nelson extremely knowledgeable. The icing, on what was a very good cake, were the hosts Darren and Emma. They have a natural ability to make one feel instantly at home and got everyone feeling like we’d known each other for years. Fantastic atmosphere was generated. Most guests were repeat visitors and I’m definitely returning.

Room Tip: All tents have great views
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This was our first stay at Bush camp for a photographic safari and I was surprised at the number of people who return time after time. After a week I now know why! Firstly the camp is really well run, Darren and Emma lead the first class team who made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. The service from all staff is excellent and so is the food. We stayed an extra couple of days when Peter took over as Darren and Emma had a weeks holiday. The transition was seamless and Peter was a fantastic host, just like Darren and Emma. Each tent is a little walk away from the main area so is private, comfortable but not overly luxurious so you still feel you are getting an authentic experience in the bush. As for the wildlife, we have been on safaris before but this one beat them all for the action we witnessed! The driver/guides Charles, James and Patrick have excellent wildlife knowledge, are photographers themselves so get you into the right places to get the best experiences and photographs. They are amazing drivers as well. We had such a wonderful experience we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: All tents have great locations and are generously spaced out.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

As a regular visitor to the Mara, and having been to many camps all over the conservancies and park i was simply blown away by this camp.

The tent: Basic if compared to somewhere like Olare, however the tent has everything you need, a super comfortable bed, great showers (fair enough, a bucket shower, but remember you're in the middle of a bush), good lighting, spacious and best of all when you look outside you see wildlife. The camping experience with a touch of luxury and comfort.

The food: we were a group of vegetarians, and the team did everything possible to accommodate our dietary requirements. Every morning we had a picnic breakfast in the car and then would come back for a lovely lunch. When you visit, ask for a jiko pizza lunch and request for the apple crumble, it is to die for!!

The cars: Each car is kitted out and is perfect for a photographer. We were provided with a fantastic, knowledgeable guide (James <3) and also bean bags and supports on the car for our cameras. It was SUPER.

The Staff: This is what made this trip one of the best. Our hosts Darren and Emma, along with all the staff at Kichche were superb. when we arrived we were welcomed so warmly by them and all through our stay we got to spend time with them and they totally made us feel at home.

The wildlife: Kichche Bush is located in the Olare conservancy. It is always about luck, but we had incredible sightings of leopards, lions, elephants etc. This conservancy is not lacking of game and is worth visiting.

Cannot wait to go back there and meet Darren and Emma again and also just to enjoy staying there again. Thanks Guys for an incredible trip.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SD1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Spent 2 nights including Christmas day at Bush camp. One of the best wildlife viewing experiences we have had. Emma , Darren , Frank the dog and their staff were all superb including the Christmas turkey dinner. Everyone made us feel so welcome as all the other guests were repeat visitors and we enjoyed every second of the visit. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GWRFCPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews