We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$568
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,017
US$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$647
US$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$282
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$948
US$867
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
US$8,760
US$7,201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashnil Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
402
25
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
25
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewst bone steakcarved furniturethe riverarmed guardsgame drivesanimal carvingswild animalsresident hipposshare their knowledgeoff roadparadise on earthevery mealhear hipposroom attendantour honeymoondining areaother camps
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2010

My husband and I only had 2 days during his business trip to enjoy this fabulous lodge. The staff and service were one of the best we have ever experienced. From the time we landed in Masai Mara Reserve every moment was enjoyable and exciting. We would recommend this place to anyone. We are both planning return and stay at Royal Mara again in the near future we are planning to return with our 2 teenage daughters who we believe will enjoy it as much as we did. We only wish we had more time to spend there. The staff is excellent and very welcoming. One of the best and is rated top on our places to vacation. We would like to thank them all for the effort and hospitality we experienced. The food was excellent also and it was nice how they scheduled and planned out your safari for you the way they did so we could enjoy many of the experiences in such a short time. And we would like to thank our wonderful safari guide also. THANK YOU ALL. We will be returning.

Barb & Fred Mead

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed at the Royal Mara for 3 nights mid. Nov. flying in to the local airstrip from Ukunda with Blue Sky. The flight in was facinating flying so low and past Mount Kilimanjaro gave great photo opportunities. We were met at the airstrip by our guide Jeffrey who transported us to the lodge the journey was a game drive in itself. On arrival at the camp we were greeted with cool drink and equally cool towels which were very welcome. We were quickly taken to our tent and were totally overwhelmed by the spacious interior and wonderful fittings. The tent over looked the river where we could view the hippos and crocodiles plus an assortment of othe animals zebra, elephants etc on the other bank of the river. We could have easily had a few days relaxing here. The staff at the camp were superb in every sense professional, friendly with a keen interest in their guests lives and expectations. Jeffrey our guide was great excellent company and keen to fulfill our wishes. We saw more game than we could ever have imagined and had the most amazing experience watching the animals at close quarters. Food at the camp was excellent we ate by the river, had a four course meal cooked in the bush and a picnic lunch when going to see the rhinos. Evening meals were served around a fire outside very romantic.The bar was sociable in the evening a pleasant place to relax and discuss the days evants. The Royal Mara shoud be No. 1. in our eyes we can not imagine how it coul be bettered.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Simon our guide met us off the plane and said we would take the long way round back to our lodge. In the first ten minutes we had seen a leopard, Simon then took us to the lodge as he wanted to get out once again, to show someone else. Mean while we checked in and taken to our lodge it was beyond five star. We were then taken for bush lunch not a picnic! But a full five course meal cooked by a chef, and served as if in a five star restaurant but out in the bush.
We were there for five days the food is superb the bed are more comfortable than at home. The people are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. We saw the big five thanks to Simon, who was determined we would go home seeing everything that we could possible see, it was a dream come true. The lodge has no fences so always you are accompanied by armed guide’s again super people who just want your stay to be perfect and it was. We will be going back next year this time for a week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

via kenyan smiles/across kenya tours & safari, we got a brochure of the royal mara lodge.
on paper it looked great, in reality even better.
8 fantastic tents, all facing the mara river, loaded with hyppo's/crocodiles
excellent management, great staff, experienced game drive guides.
very itimate, personal attention, just what we wanted. great food
dinner served around an open fire
it is an open camp, however safety standards are high
masai mara exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Oct 24, 2010 - Chanremi: This review is certainly suspicious as it's just simply not factual or accurate. I really believe it is falsely written by a competing lodge.
My husband and I just spent 3 glorious nights at the Royal Mara from Nov 1-4, 2010. It is a 10 on a scale of 10. Crawling into bed at night in the coolness of the bush, underneath our cozy comforter, was a dream. The lodges, 8 of them, are situated on the bank of a river containing numerous wonderful hippos and even large crocodile! In the morning, you wake to monkeys and various other harmless creatures in the camp. The staff takes care of you as if you were priceless treasure. Our favorite Masai, Joshua, was our table waiter and wonderful he was. Our driver has such an obvious love for the wildlife and the owners are sincere and passionate about the Mara and the well being of the life there in every respect. The game drives are plentiful, but you come and go as you want with no pressure or time table...you decide which ones and what drives you want to go on. Want to sleep in? Just tell them. We had only one other couple in our vehicle and they didn't want to go on any the 3rd day, so we had it all to ourselves. Because we were worn out from the previous day, having been out all day to see so many wonderful creatures, we asked our driver John to simply take us out to a herd of elephant, my favorite. He happily complied and always answered a thousand questions we had! When you compare price, you won't beat this one if you book directly with George, the owner. Go to their website. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews