We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari paradise !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I can not express just how fantastic this lodge really is, but I will try my best to describe just how this experience became truly a once in a lifetime experience that left us lost for words for 3 days and 2 nights.

The Royal mara is a site located in the Masai mara and is situated on the river bank of the Mara river, which is filled with Hippopotamus and not to mention a resident nile crocodile which is huge! The site consists of 8 raised wooden lodges housing anything from couples to small family's. The site is not fenced and therefore requires security 24/7 especially during the evening when the Hippos leave the river in pursuit of food. Meals are 5 star and are a unexpected treat served in 4 courses at a table by the river for breakfast and lunch and for dinner by the camp fire next to the main building. You are assigned your own personal waiter for the whole holiday , ours was a young lad called Nelson and being a Manchester United fan we got on like a house on fire. :-)

The lodges themselves were beautiful. They included carefully handcrafted furniture with details of safari animals, his and hers wash facilities, warm shower and an electricity supply although limited throughout the day and night. The Bed deserves a special mention as it was big enough for an elephant possibly two!

The safari being the main reason for visiting the lodge obviously did not disappoint. We were fortunate to see every animal up close this included a Leopard on noth days up the same tree. This meant I was able to get some of the best photos I have ever taken, see the attached pics or my profile page and judge for yourself. The only animal that we were not able to see at the mara lodge during our stay was a Cheetah, but as if by magic we did spot one on our way back from the ballon ride at little governors camp, see below for more details about the ballon ride. We also chose to make the long journey to the Rhino reserve up in the hills and boy was it worth it. After a 1.5 hour drive to the location, we were greeted by arm guard and then walked on foot for 20 meters through a few bushes to be suddenly met by 5 Rhino (including a young male and a huge Bull). We were as close on foot as 5 meters and they were not spooked and we did not feel threatened. This was one of the most amazing moments of my life! Finally a bush walk along the river with a ranger through the surrounding area was also a great bit of exercise and insight into plants, bugs and smaller animals.

Finally as part of our package we paid to do a ballon safari which meant getting up at 3:30am knackered whilst dodging hippo and then leaving our lodge for a 1.5 hour drive to Governors camp. This was an experience as all we could see in the darkness was animals eyes until the sun started to come up. We then had to cross the river in a small boat by rope and walk a short distance through Little governors camp to the ballon take off point. We did the ride which was great but by far the best bit was the crash landing! The tour was finished off with breakfast and the journey home with the ballon pilot and his wife who were english and kind enough to try and spot a cheetah for us. This meant we did see all the animals whilst on safari and for that we were grateful. Finally we arrived back to the lodge for our final lunch meal and said our goodbye's to Nelson and the rest of the staff. Instead of a tip i gave Nelson my united kit, never seen such appreciation in my life.

Lastly I must mention that i did not get bitten once during my stay by any bug of any kind including mosquito's I was amazed as many other people who ventured to other reserves and lodges were eaten alive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdoubleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

My husband and I only had 2 days during his business trip to enjoy this fabulous lodge. The staff and service were one of the best we have ever experienced. From the time we landed in Masai Mara Reserve every moment was enjoyable and exciting. We would recommend this place to anyone. We are both planning return and stay at Royal Mara again in the near future we are planning to return with our 2 teenage daughters who we believe will enjoy it as much as we did. We only wish we had more time to spend there. The staff is excellent and very welcoming. One of the best and is rated top on our places to vacation. We would like to thank them all for the effort and hospitality we experienced. The food was excellent also and it was nice how they scheduled and planned out your safari for you the way they did so we could enjoy many of the experiences in such a short time. And we would like to thank our wonderful safari guide also. THANK YOU ALL. We will be returning.

Barb & Fred Mead

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed at the Royal Mara for 3 nights mid. Nov. flying in to the local airstrip from Ukunda with Blue Sky. The flight in was facinating flying so low and past Mount Kilimanjaro gave great photo opportunities. We were met at the airstrip by our guide Jeffrey who transported us to the lodge the journey was a game drive in itself. On arrival at the camp we were greeted with cool drink and equally cool towels which were very welcome. We were quickly taken to our tent and were totally overwhelmed by the spacious interior and wonderful fittings. The tent over looked the river where we could view the hippos and crocodiles plus an assortment of othe animals zebra, elephants etc on the other bank of the river. We could have easily had a few days relaxing here. The staff at the camp were superb in every sense professional, friendly with a keen interest in their guests lives and expectations. Jeffrey our guide was great excellent company and keen to fulfill our wishes. We saw more game than we could ever have imagined and had the most amazing experience watching the animals at close quarters. Food at the camp was excellent we ate by the river, had a four course meal cooked in the bush and a picnic lunch when going to see the rhinos. Evening meals were served around a fire outside very romantic.The bar was sociable in the evening a pleasant place to relax and discuss the days evants. The Royal Mara shoud be No. 1. in our eyes we can not imagine how it coul be bettered.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Simon our guide met us off the plane and said we would take the long way round back to our lodge. In the first ten minutes we had seen a leopard, Simon then took us to the lodge as he wanted to get out once again, to show someone else. Mean while we checked in and taken to our lodge it was beyond five star. We were then taken for bush lunch not a picnic! But a full five course meal cooked by a chef, and served as if in a five star restaurant but out in the bush.
We were there for five days the food is superb the bed are more comfortable than at home. The people are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. We saw the big five thanks to Simon, who was determined we would go home seeing everything that we could possible see, it was a dream come true. The lodge has no fences so always you are accompanied by armed guide’s again super people who just want your stay to be perfect and it was. We will be going back next year this time for a week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

via kenyan smiles/across kenya tours & safari, we got a brochure of the royal mara lodge.
on paper it looked great, in reality even better.
8 fantastic tents, all facing the mara river, loaded with hyppo's/crocodiles
excellent management, great staff, experienced game drive guides.
very itimate, personal attention, just what we wanted. great food
dinner served around an open fire
it is an open camp, however safety standards are high
masai mara exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
39.2 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
4.9 km away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#95 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
128 reviews
34.4 km away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#73 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.2 km away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#68 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
192 reviews
36.4 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
680 reviews
13.7 km away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#31 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $338 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Mara Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Mara Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing