We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best seafood restaurants I have ever been”
Review of Tamarind Mombasa

Tamarind Mombasa
Ranked #2 of 144 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The food is amazing! The best fish and oysters I have ever eaten in my life. The view from the restaurant is fantastic as well.

Thank Mariá L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank posting such a glowing review. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and are delighted to hear that you find the food amazing with the best fish and oysters you have ever eaten as well a fantastic view. Your comments have been shared with the team and are a tremendous boost to their ever increasing efforts to provide the best food and service on the coast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The food is good. The view is very romantic. The staff are courteous . I always enjoy my time in this restaurant.

Thank Paulkasio1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your glowing review and perfect rating. We are thrilled that you find the food good, the view romantic and the staff courteous. It's always a boost for our dedicated team to hear such positive reviews such as this and we thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A sea food restaurant, over looking the Creek.... beautiful settings to see the sunsets and the full moon and starry skies, with coffee decks, spacious bars and romantic dinner arrangements.
A fine dine venue with excellent service and live english music played on Friday evenings.
A truly elegant tropical experience. Down a few signature cocktails - The DAAWA and you are set for the evening ... cherish the feeling.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sukesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your rave review and the perfect rating. We really appreciate your comments about the beautiful setting, spacious bars, romantic dinner arrangements and the truly elegant tropical experience. We always aspire to give the best of food and service in a magical atmosphere and we are delighted that we were successful and made such a positive impact on your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Tammarind is one of the oldest seafood restaurants in mombasa, the honest truth is it has the most amazing sea view in the coastal city the best view, but in terms of food your in for a big disappointment, the menu is way over priced,my dear friends its not worth it. Just come here for a drink, take selfies and bounce off.

2  Thank Abu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


Thank your for yourfeedback. It is with great concern and disappointment that we read your review. We are extremely sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your recent dining experience and while we are glad that you appreciated the amazing sea view of the Old Town, we are most discouraged to learn that you found the food disappointing with the menu over priced. Seafood is an expensive food, and as such our prices are similar to other comparable seafood restaurants and we strive to offer good value and quality service and regret that was not your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Great restaurant views amazing on over looking the water decor lovely service great food great been there four times every time I go to mombasa love the place. Also casino next door. Would recommend this restaurant . Get steaks. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely evening.

Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Mombasa also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing