We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
51
71
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
71
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room mombasa island self catering seafood great accommodation exceptional food big balcony sea food restaurant place to stay room service free wifi business trip excellent stay special thanks swimming pool fort jesus creek
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Stay was exceptional food and service we rate 12/10!!!. We were especially impressed with service level of staff...friendlyness comes from the heart. Our special thanks and gratitude goes to Janet Kitula as she wrnt out of her way to help us. A true ambassador. The water safari coupled with the visit to the Old Town with Village taxi driver Charles and John is a MUST!. As this showed us the true Mombasa. We rate the food 5 star. THE place to stay. Johann and Karen du Toit African Expeditions cc South Africa +27 18 484 2223 africanex@mweb.co.za

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Gorgeous setting right on the bay with a complete view of Mombassa. Two oustanding restaurants. Two beautiful swimming pools. Gorgeous, spacious, and well apointed rooms with large balconies. So restful and relaxing, and luxurious. Outsatndibng service and personable. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think they are likely all beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyB1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for giving us a perfect rating. We are truly delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Tamarind Village, enjoying the facilities, and we are pleased that the room appointments, the relaxing ambiance and outstanding and personable service were agreeable. Our location is definitely one of the things of which we are proud and we are happy that it was to your liking. Your positive comments are very much valued and we appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Mombasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

After many business trips to Kenya I've eventually found a hotel in Mombasa that ticks all the boxes. Great hotel. Comfortable spacious rooms. Friendly staff and excellent food. Best hotel in Mombasa!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank GazaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

It gives us a lot of pride to hear that after many business trips to Kenya you have become a fan of Tamarind Village. We are delighted that our standards meet with your expectations and you find the rooms spacious and comfortable, the staff friendly and the food excellent. Your favourable comments are most appreciated and are a great acknowledgement of our dedicated team. Many thanks for taking the time to review and for the perfect rating and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Stylish place ...great accommodation...and it seems each room has different interior decor. i stayed in a self catering one bed-roomed apartment...with a wonderful view of the sunset. from my balcony...i could see the Nyali Bridge and parts of old town mombasa. There is a swimming pool downstairs and a nice cosy restaurant where one can have their meals....breakfast..lunch or dinner.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Bertina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Tamarind Village. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the view of the sunset and Mombasa Old town and found the restaurant and swimming pool to your liking. We appreciate your positive feedback as we do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Been staying here multiple times a year for ages! Very nice apartments that are clean and friendly staff..
great for a family or with friends!

Views of the Tudor creek are to die for :)

Esther the manager is so helpful and kind!

The food can be amazing some days but awful on others which is one of the downfalls. Another issue is that the ACs are not always working properly and sometimes don't get cleaned regularly causing the allergies to rear up.. I stayed in one apartment that had a mouldy damp smell which wasn't very healthy to be around.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank savannahamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that we have been part of so many visits that you've taken. Your continued patronage of Tamarind village is sincerely appreciated and we hope to be part of your future trips. We will be sure to let Esther know that she made an impact during your stays.
However, we are sorry to hear about the inconsistencies in the food and also the problems you have experienced with the ACs. We sincerely appreciate you bringing both these matters to our attention and your feedback has proved invaluable in taking corrective measures in both cases. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews