We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)
Nearby Hotels
US$174
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$104
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$227
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
US$96
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$323
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
58
44
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
44
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottled waterroom was clean and comfortablerestaurants and barslaundryhutonghosteltoothbrush
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Pros:
Less than $100
Nice hosts
Great location for shopping (lots of faux vintage stores, cutesy shops, and vibrant
Wifi (but slow)

Pro/Con:
Tons of shopping. Tons of asian tourists. handfuls of Western tourists.

Con:
Lackluster room (dorm feel, though nicer)
No breakfast
Hard to find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Loved our stay here! It's a beautiful courtyard house with a small but cutely decorated central courtyard and only 6 rooms. Our room had very characterful Chinese style wooden furniture, including a giant 4 poster bed. Very spacious and comfortable. Conveniently located in the middle of the hutong district, very close to the buzzing Nanluoguxiang. Also an easy walk to Houhai and subway. Breakfast was simple but filling and lovely to enjoy the courtyard while eating. Friendly staff who spoke good English. They recommended Jinshanling Great Wall which is an excellent stretch of the Wall to explore! Very hassle free tour as well.

One warning - as this is a converted old courtyard house, so the sewage cannot deal with toilet paper being flushed down it. It's a common problems in many parts of China.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ninoknus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you want to experience the real Beijing, this is a good place to start . . . right in the heart of the hutong district, within the old Ming Dynasty city walls, where some of the buildings date back to the era of Kublai Khan and Marco Polo. This is not luxurious hotel accommodation, but it is comfortable, clean, quiet and secure. And the real bonus is that the staff (owners Jerry and Sam) are friendly, helpful, and speak good english. My wife and I had no problems walking to the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and the business district, and the metro station is only 10 minutes away for the longer trips (the Summer Palace is an absolute must!). Courtyard View is an excellent base for the traveller who wants an authentic experience without having to "rough-it" in any way :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

As a group of 4 we stayed here for 2 nights recently - extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean, and the highlight of our time in Beijing. Two of us had been to Beijing previously and had stayed in large hotels - this was a far better option. The surrounding district is buzzing yet the hutong itself is quite secluded and very quiet. Jerry, our host, was amazing and went out of his way to assist us. We used the 2 hostel bikes but as we were 4 he walked us to a nearby bike hire place to arrange another 2. He also helped secure a taxi to the train station during Beijing's peak hour - a feat in itself! Cold bottled water is complimentary, as was the breakfast, as was the internet, as was the laundry service! The breakfast was simple - freshly brewed coffee/tea, toast and yoghurt - but a great way to start the day and save ourselves for the amazing range of restaurants nearby. We particularly liked a nearby Sichuan restaurant and the Beijing Duck restaurant recommended by Jerry was fantastic. Jerry has put a map on the wall which highlights nearby restaurants and sites - be sure to consult this - you won't be disappointed. On our last day Jerry also kindly charged all our appliances even though we had checked out. I wholeheartedly recommend you stay here!

Room Tip: Both rooms we occupied were great but the Deluxe room is huge. If you like to spread out then this one is a good choice. Only 5 rooms in total I think so be sure to book well ahead.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a good hotel in a good location in the hutongs and the main sightseeings in Beijing. The rooms are clean and makes me feel warmth in a lovely home. Jerry and Sam are very friendly and helpful when I needed help and they speak relatively good English. Free laundry service which was convenient for us. However, breakfast is limited ( bread, butter, jam, coffee and yogurt) and our room lock and shower was faulty. Sam reacted quick to fix the problem. Other than that we are satisfied with our 4 nights stay in this hotel. I do not mind to stay back in this hotel if I visit Beijing again due to the strategic location.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank stephanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews