We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$156
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$138
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
58
44
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
44
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottled waterroom was clean and comfortablerestaurants and barslaundryhutonghosteltoothbrush
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was a truly great find. The staff are nice, the rooms lovely, the hotel-provided wifi is fast and secure, the free laundry is such a nice touch. And the location is truly wonderful. It's close to Andingmen station of subway line 2 and Beixinqiao station of subway line 5. Both stops are very close to Dongzhimen Station, which is where you can catch the Airport Express for only 25 RMB. In addition, the hotel is about 6 minutes walk from one of the most beautiful hutongs in Beijing,
Nanluoguxiang. This is a wonderful hotel and I will stay here when I come back to Beijing!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was bigger, but you're in a hutong, so there's noise. Learn to appreciate it, as it's part of the authentic experience.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorCal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the staff they are young and intellient college students with excellent English. I would recommend this courtyard hotel to anyone with first time visit to Being (like myself), on a budget, looking for great location. For only 50 rmb they gave me a great one hour tour on a motorized tricycle that seats 2 people of the drum and bell tower, back lakes, lama temple. Thank you Jerry and Sam and the other staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerytravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked the deluxe bedroom at £70/night. When we arrived the hotel keeper was sleeping and hardly spoke a word to us. Every time we saw him, he was either watching TV or sleeping. He was the only member of staff we ever saw (though there must have been some sleaning staff during the day). The room was spacious but in dire need of some attention. The bassin was leaking badly, the light in the bathroom was missing several bulbs. The sheet were clean but stained. It can be quite noisy in the evening because of the chinese family next door playing and talking till late at night. The hotel is in a not so nice hutong with pile of smelly rubish left on the side. Close to the hotel, there is however a fancy cafe full of pedigree cats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband, parents and I stayed at this hotel in September 2013. We had rented 2 standard private bedrooms for a couple of days.

First off, if you're expecting a hotel with a fancy lobby and all amenities in a Western ambiente, this is not the place for you. If, however, you are willing to look a little beyond that and experience the more authentic China, this place is the perfect choice. You will find a charming, comfortable and quiet hotel situated very nicely in a part of old Beijing, right off Gulou Dongdajie, a lively street with many restaurants and small shops. The Houhai lake, bell & drum towers, Bank of China and 2 subway stations can all be reached in a 15 minutes walk.
Don't let the alley bother you. Yes, you have to pass a public toilet to get to the hotel, but anybody who has read up on hutongs will know the reason why there are so many public toilets in these old parts of Beijing. :)

The hotel itself is a Hutong complex, consisting of the 'lobby' (owner Jerry's territory), a small courtyard, and six guest rooms right off the courtyard. During our stay the rooms were clean and there were definitely NO bugs in the beds, these being the softest and most comfortable beds we slept in during our entire stay in China. The bathroom is small, but unlike many hotels in China the shower is actually separated from the rest of the room by a small screen.

The rooms offer a TV, free Wifi, standard toiletries (including toothbrushes), and free bottled water. Breakfast is sparse, consisting of toast, marmalade and peanut butter, and can be taken outside in the courtyard or in the room if it's raining. The courtyard itself is charmingly decorated and is a nice place to meet other guests from all over the world, all in all the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed.

Jerry speaks good English, is awfully helpful and can arrange ANYTHING relating to day trips, any other form of tickets and airport pickup. He booked each and every one of our tickets for our whole roundtrip in China, including plane and train tickets, arranged our airport pickup and our excursion to the Great Wall.

For anyone who wants to experience the regular folk and living in a hutong, outside of the world of expats, this place can only be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tiuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very much to be recommended. We paid about £37 GBP per night for a ground floor room off a central courtyard. Simple but clean, quiet and safe. Free wi-fi which was very much a surprise. Very friendly staff. They can arrange tours to the Great Wall (280 RMB per person).

The hotel can also arrange airport pickup which is extremely handy.

This hotel is based in a hutong (alley) just off Gulou Dongdajie which is very much a lively street in the weekends and one of the main places for food & drink. Good bars nearby include the 'Drum & Bell' and restaurants such as 'Pho' and 'Saveurs de Corée'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews