We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #68 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Staff are fantastic and they will print or write out directions for the taxi drivers as they have no English.
The front of house staff have super English and will go out of there way to help. We brought our Japanese money by mistake and they manager was so kind he took us to the bank to get it changed up. We also had an item that we could not take home and the hotel has kindly kept it for our next visit.
Very safe hotel and the best location by the metro.
Would highly recommend as you could not ask for more in a hotel.
Only thing to be aware of is the prostitutes floating around the lobby late into the evening. Quite upsetting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 727 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were in Shanghai in the morning and were travelling on the 1pm train to Beijing on the fast train. I took a quick look at Trip Advisor and found two hotels near Dongsi Shitiao subway at a good price and so set-off with their addresses in my pocket.
Swissotel is right outside the Dongsi Shitiao subway stop so it was the first hotel we saw. We headed here are booked in for one night at the same rate we had seen on Trip Advisor - this rate included breakfast and free internet.
Our hotel room was on the seventh floor facing the back of the hotel, it had a nice view. The room was a good size, spotless and the beds were comfortable with good quality bed linen. The room generally was a little tired and could do with an update. The TV was not flat screen, the desk chair has seen better days and the bathroom although adequate could also have done with a refurbish. Having said all that we enjoyed our stay and extended it to 3 nights.
The breakfast was fantastic. It was the best of all the hotels we stayed during our 2 week trip. The breakfast room is large, nicely decorated, spotless and there are many tables of differing sizes to cater for different groups. Western and Asian breakfasts were offered along with cereal, breads, pastries, fruit etc. Coffee flowed and there was even a capaccino machine.
The gym was huge with many cardo machines, bikes, running, cross trainers and a good set of weight machines. Free weights were also offered. There was a studio area where you could see people practising their Tai Chi. Overall the gym could do with a lick of paint and a new carpet. It has an 80's feel> I'm not complaining, most hotel gyms consist of a running machine in a basement room about 7 foot by 5 so this was amazing.
The pool was super too. You do have to wear a swimming cap which is great - I wish more pools made this a requirement. I was leant a cap though you can buy one. The changing rooms are spotless and there is a segregated sauna and steam room in each.
We liked the area too. There is a supermarket nearby, many restaurants and a McDonalds too.
Our top tip is to go to Long Island - www.longislandspa.com.cn, which is about 10 mins walk from the hotel - you can get a Thai foot massage here lasting 90mins for 108RMB (Mon-Fri before 17:00).
As for sight seeing, we ended-up making our own way to the Great Wall. We had been offered a tour the day before for 150RMB (not including entry fees) each but it never turned-up. It was a normal group tour which included the Great Wall, the Olympic village some Jade factory and Ming tombs. These tours are all the same and vary greatly in price depending on where you book them. The best and most official we found was one run by the Chinese tourist office (there is one opposite the Swissotel) which collected you from your hotel, took you to all the sights, included entrance fees and Chinese lunch all for 240RMB.
Finally we did make it to the Silk market. We found prices here cheaper than in similar markets in Shanghai - so negotiate hard, be prepared to stall and walk away and hold your nerve.
Overall we enjoyed our stay so much at the Swissotel that on our return to Shanghai we booked into the Swissotel Grand and you know what - it was even better!

Room Tip: Make sure your room rate includes breakfast and free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Psip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Beijing Swissotel is a good place to stay with nice rooms and good service. Bed in room, especially, is soooo comfortable!!!

I like their gym, and in-door swimming pool. However, all guests are required to wear a swimming cap when swimming, and I found it ok but somehow inconvenient. Most hotel staff are really friendly and helpful, especially the bell boy and housekeeping staff.

Hotel has really good location, and the subway station is right in front of hotel.

All in all, international brands are still the best!

Room Tip: Book earlier to get discounted rate. Check carefully if your package includes b'fast and free in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful
Hotel is modern and bathroom facilities were good with plenty of space to dry clothes.The room size was reasonable too with good storage space.
Loved the breakfast which was buffet style and had a fabulous choice of european and chinese food . Evening meals in the restaurant were a delight with an unbelievable choice of savoury food and gorgeous desserts
Best part for me was the swimming pool which was never packed while I was there - but bring your swimming hat or you will have to buy (a very unattractive one) from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icequeen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed in this pleasant hotel for two days. The hotel has a good location sitting practically on top of a metro station which itself is 1 stop removed from Dongzhimen station which is linked to the airport express. Nearby is a large shopping mall and the delicious dadong duck restaurant (bit pricey for Chinese standards, normal for Western).

The hotel is luxurious and staff is very curtious and helpfull, all but a poolboy spoke good English. The rooms are nice and of a good size, all though at some places the age is showing in the furniture, the hotel was one of the first 5 star properties and allthough it had a mayor rennovation it does show in places. The bath tub was a bit too shallow.

All in all a great hotel and great value, enjoyed my stay
and would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoungDutchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#47 Family Hotel in Beijing
#59 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#60 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#78 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $114 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing