We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empark Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
121
215
38
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
215
38
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssinorama tourcomfortable roomsstar hotelthree nightschinese foodshopping mallnice hotelchinaelevatorkfc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The Empark is comfortable, clean and cheap. Remnants of its former grandeur remain in the amazing lobby area, and the shopping street in the basement must have been great when it was new and busy, but it's a ghost town now with many of the shops empty. (Still found a couple of good restaurants down there though!)

The place has not been well maintained but for the price it was still an okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Treadbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We had originally planned on staying here for our trip but after seeing the reviews decided against it and ended up staying in the North Latitude 40 Degree. But due to changes in our travel plans we only stayed there for 7 days then did some travelling around China and then when we came back to Beijing we decided to stay here for 3 nights as the location was conveniently located to someone we were visiting who was a few minutes away.

I would not recommend this place unless you could not get any where else especially at the price point.

When entering the hotel it looks some what grand, dated yes but still impressive nonetheless, after out check in which was some what of a issue but unrelated to this review we got in the lift to see spit on the floor, I understand that this a culture thing but if you are a 5 Star hotel you should ensure that this is cleaned up.

Now on to our room, We were staying in a room on the 5th floor a nonsmoking room apparently which stank of smoke.

The carpet was dirty so much so that I was not willing to walk bare foot on it at any point, the room was dated again this is not an issue, but just feel that it should be noted.

There was a desk in the room, on the floor by the desk someone I am not sure if it was the previous guests or it may have been several before but someone had trimmed their toenails and the evidence was still there quiet clearly as seen in my pictures.

The basin had a large crack in it, again something that did not hinder use but just looked tatty, as with other reviews the brim of the basin was also dirty.

This is a small one but the toilet paper was cheap, it was 2 ply but may as well been 1 ply.

Hair On the bathroom floor, which was not mine or my partners and was evidence of failure to clean properly.


One of my biggest issues was the shower, there were a few problems with it.

1: The shower curtain, it looked old and dirty & not fit for purpose
2: Design flaw, there is a ledge in the shower whichit seems the only purpose of it
seems to be to flood the bathroom floor
3: Mold, which I attempted to wipe off with some tissue and it shows signs that it is
removable, nothing a bit of bleach and a good scrub wouldn't get rid of.

Then the general state of disrepair of the room.

Overall it was a very disappointing hotel & when I checked out and brought my concerns up the reason I was giving was the hotel is 14 years old and it is to be expected, again being old & dated is one thing and not a issue. Failure to keep the place clean is really the issue here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the first three nights of a Sinorama tour of China, and really enjoyed the place. The rooms were great, we had a fantastic view, and the breakfast buffets were really good, except for the bitter coffee.
Sinorama met us at the airport and took us to the hotel. The first evening was on our own, and here's where I wish I had known what we would discover the second night.
We were told that the hotel only had three restaurants, technically true...
One was the buffet where we would have breakfast, and it was a pretty pricy Chinese buffet that was put to shame by the megabuffets back home! The second and third were a Chinese grill (pick your fish from the tank) and a Japanese sushi place, both also expensive.
We ran into most of the people from our tour at the KFC that we had all seen next door as we pulled up. It was different from US KFC's, and not bad, but not the best way to start off your China tour.
What we found the second night was that one of the hotels elevators had a down option from the lobby. Down to the basement, or to 2B, which led to an underground mall!
A short distance away was a whole group of small Chinese places that would have been wonderful for that first meal.
Also, just a few feet away was an entrance to a huge Walmart, with a huge selection of food. It was entirely a Chinese store, with many unfamiliar but interesting things. It was full of twists and turns, with more store found every time we thought that we'd seen it all. It also had two more levels above it.
All in all, the "secret underground mall" (at least no one ever told us about it!) was a special treat that intrigued us, and added another dimension to an already very nice hotel.
One issue that we had with EVERY Chinese hotel on this trip was the way that the bed was made, with a bottom sheet (not fitted) and a very thick cover that was too heavy to use comfortably. We quickly solved it by stripping the bed and reversing them. The heavy cover added a bit more padding to the bed, and the bottom sheet was more to our liking. I had the feeling that we probably confused the hotel maids, but it made our nights much more comfortable!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel in Beijing was very nice, all decorated for Christmas. Beautiful lobby area.
The room was big and comfortable with a very spacious bathroom. Bed and pillows were really nice. We were told that although the hotels in China have smoking as well as non-smoking rooms, they cannot guarantee that someone did not smoke in the room before. We lucked out, as our room did not smell of smoke.There is a whole shopping mall with many small restaurants under this hotel which we found by chance. The is also a KFC and a mini-mart in the premises.
On the second floor they have several banquet rooms, a spa and a large restaurant.
The only draw back for us was that there were not many places to walk to from this hotel, although is you count the mall underneath the hotel, it was not so bad.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty nice and big from what others in our group were saying. Quiet...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

You enter in the lobby and you are greeted with tall ceilings and elegance. You go into the room and you are greeted with a damp moldy (dank) smell and faint odor of urine in the bathroom. The hotel has signs stating no smoking but at night the odor of smoke infiltrates your room. When we called to complain about the smoke odor they said "get another room" and 10 minutes later a knock on the door where they brought a bottle of air freshener. Smoking is allowed just about everywhere in China but when you have signs that state "no smoking" and you can smell cigarette smoke in the hallway and in the room, don't you think you would enforce the rules?
Also, the AC did not work too well. It was very warm in the room. They have duvets on the bed so bring a sarong or thin sheet if you like a light cover.
Breakfast was delicious and lots of variety, both chinese and western.
Wifi was very good.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank chibooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews