We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #101 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Storm Li took the stress and worry out of visiting Beijing and getting us to our ship on time. He arranged our tours and train trip to Xingang where we joined our ship. We would have been lost without him. He went out of his way to help us and get the most for our money. Look him up even if you're not staying at the Holiday Inn. He'll gladly help you anyway he can.

2  Thank lilasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 487 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2007

I have travelled to many places and have always tried to arrange a reliable pick up from whichever airport I go to. With this in mind I arranged to be picked up from Beijing Airport by Gray Line tours via their website at a cost of $69 for the pick up to the Holiday Inn and the return trip to the airport. The evening before my departure Gray Line rang me to conform the pick up time of 5.30am. I was waiting in the lobby at 5.20am when a Chinese gentleman approached and in his best English said "You man for Airport?" I asked if he was from Gray Line to which he said he was and the taxi was waiting. When I arrived at the airport he told me the fare was 160yuan and that he was not from Gray Line. I had very little option but to pay. He has obviously done this before as a 'friend' of his ushered me into the departure lounge while he stood in front of the licene plate to prevent me from getting the number. I expect to be confronted by touts and spivs at the airport but I find it totally unacceptable that somebody purporting to be a representative of a reputable company can walk into a hotel unchallenged and 'con' hotel guests. Needless to say I cannot claim the 'fare' back from Gray Line as they state that payment over the internet is non refundable. Apart from that I found the hotel to be everything already written on this site. The staff were excellent. The room, on the West Wing was comfortable and quiet and the food and the overall service were of a 5 star standard. Only two small gripes. The ATM in the hotel was not working for the week I was there and the bath tub is miniscule. However the shower is excellent. I would recommend the Gray Line tours ( with the proper guides ). I did their main three tours ie Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Summer Place, Temple of Heaven, Great Wall, Ming Tombs. Lama Temple and Beijing Zoo. All very good value for money. I was there for the last week in November which was the 'slack ' season. I dread to think what it must be like in the heat of the summer in the busy season.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KeithfromPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We started our family trip to China in Beijing and were fortunate to have booked our stay at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza. The amenities were way above what we expected to have. The restaurant served both Chinese and Western food and the quality was wonderful. The hotel services were very good and, in particular, we greatly appreciated the assistance we received from Storm Li, the Concierge. Storm helped us plan and actually scheduled our tours in Beijing and he worked with the Business Center to arrange for our flight to Guilin, provided us with a contact and hotel arrangements in Guilin and also arranged our later flight from Nanning back to Beijing. Overall, the hotel services were a key to the wonderful experience we had in China.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DaleMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Although this hotel is not central, the location really does not matter when you are visiting Beijing. The concierge makes it very convenient to take a cab anywhere you need to go. This hotel feels more like a five star than a Holiday Inn. The rooms and bathrooms are really clean and big. I will absolutely stay here the next time I am in Beijing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank world_in_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

MY stay at the Holiday inn central plaza was very good.The service is very good and the most important the breakfast at the hotels was very good.It realy felt like a 5 star but the location is not good.Little bit far from the city but worth it if u in a private tour with a private car.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank husainml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#131 of 6,568 in Beijing
418 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#75 of 6,568 in Beijing
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#416 of 6,568 in Beijing
260 reviews
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#132 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $234 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing