We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, good concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #102 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. I was worried that we were too far away from the subway. We were about 40 minutes walk. At first we took a taxi to the subway. However the concierge Storm showed us where to get the 56 Bus to the Nanishiliu subway. A Taxi is about 10 yuan.Beijing is a large city and we usually had to travel by subway and Taxi to see the things we wanted to see. The hotel is in a quieter area than central Beijing. There is a resteraunt which does asian and western food. You can find it cheaper outside the hotel if you want. Breakfast had everything you could possibly want and was of a high standard. ATM in the hotel for spending money. Rooms are very comfortable.

The conciege Stom was excellent. He asked us where we wanted to go and wrote directions for us in Chinese. We managed to become quite good at negociating the underground system. We noted that Taxi drivers often did not know where the hotel was. They did not often understand when we gave the Hotel's own Map.

A particular highlight was when we went on a trip with Storm and another couple to part of the Great Wall. This part had no other tourists around. There was a chinese couple getting their wedding pictures taken. Nobody trying to sell you souvenirs or take your money off you. We also had lunch at a local farmers home which was delicious. we visited another locall farm on the way home and tasted his walnuts and pears. and had tea.

Storm also booked us on the overnight train to Shanghai and on the train to Quingdao.
Without his help we would have struggled. He also bought us metro cards to get around
the transport system.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadiecool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 364 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife and I booked a private tour and stayed at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza. I have no comment as to location since we were on a tour and had a driver pick us up in the morning. I did forget to bring my headphone/microphone to use with my Skype phone service. I went to the concierge and asked how I could buy one. He wrote a note to the taxi driver and gave me a paper to give to the salesperson a description of what I needed. I took the taxi to the electronics store, purchased the item, and returned within 30 minutes. I could not have done this on my own...traffic is horrendous and English is spoken by very few. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bed was a bit harder than I am used to; however, with all the walking around during the day, I had no problem sleeping. The breakfast buffet was great! Without exception, the service staff was friendly, polite, and efficient. This was the first hotel I have stayed in that I actually hated to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrynewsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We selected this hotel since it was rated one of the best hotel in Beijing.

From the moment you arrive at the hotel you will find the service to be of a very high standard and also especially because of the famous Storm and team..

Overall it was a lovely trip because of Storm help us to arranged our trip in beijing..it was very helpfull..
I would certainly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakartaHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Storm is very helpful, and so are Eva (small & big), Rita & Maggie. Nothing was too much to ask any of the staff, really super staff at the central plaza. Jessica, thank you very much for such beautiful flowers in the room!
good hotel, not central however lots of taxis in front of the hotel. nice local shops around and they charge local prices; i.e wuyutai teashop. there is also a traditional teahouse not too far (about 15 minutes walk)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We are a family of four who stayed at the Holiday Inn for one week in August, 2009. I just had to write to say that the service from beginning to end was nothing short of exceptional. Yes, Storm, was a concierge extraordinaire - he advised us daily on our travel plans, accompanied us to restaurants to ensure that we were well looked after, and went out of his way to ensure that all of our needs were looked after. Roger, the manager, as well as Lily the food and beverage manager were unbelievably helpful in dealing with our son's allergies. Storm, Roger, Lily and the food and beverage team bent over backwards to accommodate him. One night that we went out for Peking Duck Storm called the restaurant to inform them of our son's dietary needs and even purchased some sauce for the duck himself that day because he knew that our son could not have the sauce at the restaurant. Storm brought my son some fresh eggs from the country as well! Storm also supplied us with subway/bus passes for the week and advised us how to get around - this was so helpful as the traffic in Beijing is terrible.

We can't say enough about the service. Beijing is a difficult city to navigate as little English is spoken. We were given a cell phone that was programmed to call the hotel if we needed any help throughout the day. The breakfast buffet was incredible and the rooms very well appointed. The swimming pool is not at all 'dinky' as was mentioned in a previous review. We all loved it and it's a great size for doing laps. Our boys loved the ping-pong table, too. When we left we felt like we were leaving friends. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn and would love to visit some time in the future again.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank OttawaTravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#131 of 6,568 in Beijing
418 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#74 of 6,568 in Beijing
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#416 of 6,568 in Beijing
260 reviews
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing