We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Chongqing(Chongqing)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$115
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$263
US$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangtze Island(Chongqing)
US$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
17
58
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
58
19
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is on 22 floor. Good location, walk 10 min from CRT. You can walk around 10 min. to Jiefangbei time square or Hongyadong
Room is clean but dont have free bottle of water. Convenient store is near the hotel.
Wifi was bad, I can not use at all.
Free breakfast was good, many type of food.
Value for the money , only 227RMB/night when I stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank peeraya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for 3 Nights in December in the Deluxe Executive Suite. Location is great as it is close to the Liberation monument as well as the Metro Station. Right outside the hotel is the Pet Market, so expect a smell when walking out of the hotel. Also, the taxi driver had trouble finding the hotel so remember some landmarks. The hotel is located in a high rise office tower so the lobby was located on the 22nd floor. The rooms are rather big, however, bad service marred my experience here. It took a number of calls for room service to bring towels and other amenities (there were only 2 in the room even though we booked the room for 4 people). They were also reluctant in providing us with extra toothbrushes and we had to call each day to rectify this mistake. There was a sizeable selection for the buffet breakfast with a number of western choices. Overall a decent stay.

Room Tip: Choose one with a window - there can be a good view on a decent day.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Golden View has a good location for exploring the city on foot, being near the central Liberation monument. For Y300 we got a decent room (but without a window), which was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast offers a huge variety of Chinese dishes, with toast and coffee as a much-appreciated nod to foreign guests.

As there are few restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood, we tried the hotel restaurant and were served a very plain and lacklustre meal. Some members of staff couldn't stop staring and sneering at us, making us feel very uncomfortable.

Unfortunately, customer service in this hotel seems distinctly lacking and several times we were stared at and laughed at in an unfriendly way at by members of staff. Whilst toasting my bread one morning, I was approached by an uppity manager who told me to change my hotel slippers into shoes. I explained that I was currently having my breakfast, and would change later. She then persisted and said that I should do it now as other customers were not wearing slippers (a glance around revealed that some were). It seemed like the staff here had read a book entitled "How to make your Western guests feel uncomfortable and ill-at-ease". The laundry service did not return our clothes by the time stated, which just served as further irritation.

Overall, a decent room with a central location but bad customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiethepurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Convenient location right in the center of the city, just 3 blocks from the pedestrian/shopping area around Jie Fang Bei/Liberation Monument and about 1 km from the cruise ship port. However it's at the end of a short alley which taxi drivers can't seem to find. The hotel occupies the upper floors of a high-rise building, and the lobby is on the 22nd floor (with no obvious signs to indicate this). It probably caters more to business people than to tourists. The desk staff spoke very little English. The rooms were huge, with an outer sitting room furnished with couches and tables, and an inner room with two double beds and a bathroom. The views over the city and the Yangtze were spectacular (apart from the smog). Huge breakfast buffet. There is wifi only in the lobby, not in the guest rooms. 340 RMB in Nov 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Within walking distance if Jie fang bei, in the middle of the pet quarter is the Golden View. Now dwarfed by newer bulidings it still commands a good view of the Yangtse River (even if the windows did need a good wash) , this older hotel still provides comfort at a good price. The room was large, separate sitting area with tv, comfy bed and a good shower room. The view from our window was of the Yangtse cable car station that is only one block away. The fittings and furnishings are a little old, but the place was clean and efficiently run. The complimentary breakfast was excellent . As you leave , on foot you must pass through the pet area, so be prepared for dogs, cats, chickens, birds, rabbits, pigeons, mice, rats and guinea pigs , it's quite a sight!

Room Tip: The higher floors will have the better view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattwalesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews