We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply very bad...”
Review of Berliner - CLOSED

Berliner
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Territories
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I have been to the Berliner on a few occasions and although it was never a "wow experience" it was always acceptable. However, what the team, both service and the culinary crew have produced on our most recent visit is beyond me. The service was super unfriendly and it almost looked like the entire crew was bothered to serve anyone. Then the food came and that was simply terrible. All the dishes we have had were served cold and the "Nuernberger Sausages" were definitely cooked a few hours earlier and then simply reheated as they came out dry and wrinkly. Super disappointed and this must have been the worst culinary experience ever in Hong Kong. Never going back there ever again!!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank swissnhaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Food is good.
Good selection of tap and bottled beer.
Service is a little hit or miss.
Pig knuckle is good. Schnitzel is big.
Kids menu is limited.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank NZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Probably 70 % of the times that i eat in discovery bay i choose this retaurant. The food os very good, the staf ate great and the olace is very good. Roasted pork knuckle is my favourite but they also a lot of good choices beside that. The drinks specially the cocktails are great, even the non alchool

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Something different while in Asia. Great sausage platter and excellent beer! Very friendly service, good A/C...overall comfortable place for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank YYESIAV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Great German food in a lovely part of Hong Kong.
We did this restaurant two nights in a row because the food was great and the beer too.
We love German food and even though in HK where there is great Chinese foods, this was something different. Loved the food, the beer and the service was pretty good too.
We sat outdoors on the terrace and enjoyed the views and the breeze. Discovery Bay is such a lovely part of Hong Kong.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berliner also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing