We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silka seaview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #178 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Was a bit worried as there were negative comments about the staff. Did not find this to be true. The staff were pleasant and helpful from the reception to the restaurant for breakfast. As has already been said the basic rooms are small but have everything needed for a short stay. Enjoyed my stay and hope to return to Hong Kong and will stay at the Silka Seaview Hotel without doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cissie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Cissie1

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are indeed very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our team helpful and up to your expectations.

Indeed, we look forward to your next stay and another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 400 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

The room was very tiny as described by all other reviews, but still a surprise when you get there. It was clean, complete amenities but cigarette smoke would permeate it coming from somewhere...or maybe it was previously a smoking room. Stayed for only two nights. It was clean , though. Linens and towels were clean. Staff was okay, could be less indifferent. Location is awesome.. close to night market, food stalls and restaurants. Close to transportation and one could even walk all the way down to harbor for exercise. Safe area. An okay accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racoontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear racoontraveler

Thank you for your comments and we are indeed happy to learn that we have met your expectations. Whilst, we are a value-led hotel, we do try our best to ensure that our facilities are clean and tidy for the comfort of our guests. The location of the hotel as you have found out is extremely convenient with so many shops and eateries in the surrounding area and for those who would like to venture further, the hotel also offers in-town shuttle service on a daily basis.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is an older hotel. the rooms are rather tiny but clean. The beds are comfortable. It is close to Nathan Road and Yaumatei and the Night markets. Accessible by bus and MTR. Shopping and dining close by. Breakfast is crowded and the elevators are slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear JEmmanuel

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel albeit the elevators and crowd during breakfast. August was a peak month for us and henceforth, the hotel was rather busy and as such, traffic was indeed heavy.

However, we are glad that you have had a good staying experience with us nevertheless and enjoyed the convenience of the location of the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I actually stayed there in Dec 2010 where it was previously called Dorsett Seaview.

Location is great, no doubt about it. Food can be found nearby within a stone's throw or walking distance. Not facing the main road which is good as its quiet.

Room size wise.. it's the average room size ya gonna get unless you are prepared to pay more for a bigger room. But for us, it's a room just for sleeping esp since we are here to see the sights and not to stay in the rooms the whole day.

Have just booked rooms for another visit at the end of this year =)
Looking forward

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester_Eng_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Lester

Welcomed back and good to know that we have a supporter in you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and certainly, we look forward to seeing you again end of this year.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As mentioned by other travellers, the rooms are small, but in my opinion they are well decorated, clean and pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful and the public areas were nice. The bathroom was kept well stocked and as you'd expect, there was an option for room cleaning and fresh towels and sheets each day. Our room was on the 16th floor and we had a great view all the way over the harbour to Hong Kong island in one direction, and the sea in the other direction. The hotel is just off Nathan Road, a bustling main road which runs through Kowloon. This meant ease of access to the MTR and buses, but a quiet hotel. Overall, very pleased with this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: For a sea view, request a room higher up the hotel tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clmowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

안녕하세요 clmowl

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Hong Kong. We are happy to learn that it was a good experience for you and that our service standards met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel on your next visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#208 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
967 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#199 of 726 in Hong Kong
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#175 of 726 in Hong Kong
669 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#93 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon | Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $89 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing