We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
US$135
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$202
US$189
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$153
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Cityview Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$102
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal View Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Panorama(Hong Kong)
US$153
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
90
405
319
88
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
405
319
88
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple streetnight marketnathan roadyau ma teimtr stationladies marketrooms are smallnon smoking floorlimited spacehotel room ishandy phoneairport bushotel is locatedconvenient locationchoose this hotelstayed here for nightsdecent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The room was very tiny as described by all other reviews, but still a surprise when you get there. It was clean, complete amenities but cigarette smoke would permeate it coming from somewhere...or maybe it was previously a smoking room. Stayed for only two nights. It was clean , though. Linens and towels were clean. Staff was okay, could be less indifferent. Location is awesome.. close to night market, food stalls and restaurants. Close to transportation and one could even walk all the way down to harbor for exercise. Safe area. An okay accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racoontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear racoontraveler

Thank you for your comments and we are indeed happy to learn that we have met your expectations. Whilst, we are a value-led hotel, we do try our best to ensure that our facilities are clean and tidy for the comfort of our guests. The location of the hotel as you have found out is extremely convenient with so many shops and eateries in the surrounding area and for those who would like to venture further, the hotel also offers in-town shuttle service on a daily basis.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is an older hotel. the rooms are rather tiny but clean. The beds are comfortable. It is close to Nathan Road and Yaumatei and the Night markets. Accessible by bus and MTR. Shopping and dining close by. Breakfast is crowded and the elevators are slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear JEmmanuel

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel albeit the elevators and crowd during breakfast. August was a peak month for us and henceforth, the hotel was rather busy and as such, traffic was indeed heavy.

However, we are glad that you have had a good staying experience with us nevertheless and enjoyed the convenience of the location of the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I actually stayed there in Dec 2010 where it was previously called Dorsett Seaview.

Location is great, no doubt about it. Food can be found nearby within a stone's throw or walking distance. Not facing the main road which is good as its quiet.

Room size wise.. it's the average room size ya gonna get unless you are prepared to pay more for a bigger room. But for us, it's a room just for sleeping esp since we are here to see the sights and not to stay in the rooms the whole day.

Have just booked rooms for another visit at the end of this year =)
Looking forward

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester_Eng_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Lester

Welcomed back and good to know that we have a supporter in you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and certainly, we look forward to seeing you again end of this year.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As mentioned by other travellers, the rooms are small, but in my opinion they are well decorated, clean and pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful and the public areas were nice. The bathroom was kept well stocked and as you'd expect, there was an option for room cleaning and fresh towels and sheets each day. Our room was on the 16th floor and we had a great view all the way over the harbour to Hong Kong island in one direction, and the sea in the other direction. The hotel is just off Nathan Road, a bustling main road which runs through Kowloon. This meant ease of access to the MTR and buses, but a quiet hotel. Overall, very pleased with this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: For a sea view, request a room higher up the hotel tower.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clmowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

안녕하세요 clmowl

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Hong Kong. We are happy to learn that it was a good experience for you and that our service standards met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel on your next visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had to change planes at Hong Kong while returning from China to India, and intended to stay overnight. The incoming flight was about two hours late, but the hotel booking counter at the airport was able to find me a room at Silka Seaview – somewhat beyond my budget, but I could not be too choosy at that time!

Silka Seaview is located at Kowloon, near the Yau Ma Tei metro railway station. It took about an hour in to drive there from the airport – with great night views of Hong Kong in the bargain.

The hotel is a 17-storey building located on a tiny plot in downtown Kowloon. Obviously, the rooms are small – in fact, I have seen train compartments which are bigger! On the other hand, the rooms are very well organized and exceptionally clean. The lifts are small, but they work fine.

The café on the top floor serves a reasonably good breakfast (which is not included in the room fare) – after a week in a small town in China, it was good to re-acquaint oneself with toast, marmalade and corn flakes at breakfast!

As for services, they agreed to look after my bag after I had checked out in the morning. When I reached the hotel in the afternoon to collect my bag, one of the staff members came out on the road to find me a taxi to go the Airport metro station – a courtesy which I really appreciated.

The location of this hotel is excellent for sightseeing at Kowloon and Hong Kong. Stay there if you are looking for a safe and comfortable halt for one or two nights and you don't have much luggage. If you want luxurious surroundings and don’t mind being away from the city, try one of the resorts in Lantau Island instead!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Atulya_sinha

Thank you so much for your positive comments and we are indeed happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality. Certainly we pride ourselves in providing value-for-money experience and personalised service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Seaview in the near future.

Best regards
Richard Kwong, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews