We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #180 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 15 December 2010

hotel rooms are small, but who needs a big hotel room when you're in HK? Our time was mostly spent outside and we only get back to our hotel during the night.. The staff was ok and room service is quick.. The rooms are being cleaned everyday. The only thing that's disappointing is the elevator is small and it's hard to get inside if you are 6 people with big luggage, the lobby also is small and during our last day, we have to wait in the lobby until our airport shuttle arrived, we are 9 in the family and the lobby seats only accommodate 6-7 person i guess. But overall, the hotel is great, with night market outside. Also, it is close to the Yaumatei MRT station and Nathan road. It also has neighboring restaurants during night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstenkiangmardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 468 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed there recently with my fiancee. First off, the reception guy was quite rude and impatient to start with and tried to hurried us despite no one behind the queue waiting to check in.

The rooms are very small and even smaller bathroom. Fortunately we are both not that tall thus still have some walking space. Despite small room, but it still has basic facilities. The lifts are small as well. It's quite hard to go down to the lift lobby especially in the morning when many other guests might be trying to check out. It took us about 10-15 minutes just to get to the lobby and leave the hotel.

And also, on our check out day, we tried to enquire from the concierge regarding some other options to get to the airport as we had some heavy baggage thus quite inconvenience to pull it all the way to the MTR. Unfortunately, despite some simple questions, she still managed to get it wrong.

Despite some bad experience, there are good ones as well. The room are clean and toilet quite spotless. They also had friendly room service staffs. It's feng shui cafe had some good buffet breakfast at affordable price. It's also located at 1 of the most convenience places. Abundants of food just around the corner thus no problem finding meals around the hotel.

However, there are some "kinky business" going around the hotel especially late at night since there are ktv bars and many massage parlors nearly. Saw a few streetwalkers as well. Heard from a local that the street where this hotel is located is somewhat similar to a red-light district thus might not be safe for female travellers especially when they are walking alone to the hotel past 11pm at night.

If you ask me, whether i regret staying at this hotel, i would say yes as there are better ones out there at similar pricing. Total paid around HK$3360 for a total of 6 days 5 nights stay.

Reasonable pricing but if can afford, please do not consider this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Pro:
newly remodeled, clever design rooms
friendly housekeeping staff
one street away from jade market and local eateries
was able to check in early. around 10am.

Con:
Absolutely rude front desk officers
Small Lobby
No Free wifi in room and lobby
Small room and even smaller bathroom
10-15 min brisk walk from the nearest MTR station
no wellcome or big grocery nearby

After countless comments about the rude front desk officers, we ourselves experienced their hostile attitude. As we checked in, we were asked to to hand over our passports. While collecting everyone's passports (there were 7 of us) we could hear the front desk girl grumbling that we were too slow to hand over the passports. Just because we're tourists doesn't mean we don't understand chinese.

Overall an average hotel dragged in the mud by nasty employees.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinetan168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights (1st Oct-5th Oct). I got the booking done from Hotels.com. From the airport we took the bus A-21 which drops very near to the hotel. The rooms in the hotel are very small but had all the basic facilities which you would look in a decent hotel. I would specially like to mention about the water pressure in the shower which I think is one the best I have ever seen any where I have travelled ( Very Relaxing ). Our deal did not include the breakfast but I never felt the pinch of it as burger king & KFC are walking distance from the hotel and offered a very nice breakfast.

The staff at the reception was rude but I had very little interaction with them, but the people at the concierge desk were very helpful and went out of the way to explain.

Overall at this price it’s a good deal considering the location (Near to METRO) and right next to Nathan Road.

I would stay in this hotel if I get it at the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdelhitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I was travelling with the wife and two kids 7 & 4. We reached the hotel after a delayed flight and mixed up baggage. Told the curt staff at the reception that we had placed a request for a family of 4 and were assured that we would be well accomodated. After this, it was a bit of a shock to walk into a room that ended before it even began. The room was no more than 80 sq ft with 80% of that space taken up by a double bed. OK, the loo was spotless but wish we had some room to move an arm or a leg. Extra bedding was out of the question, simply no place to put it. Thank god our baggage was delayed, there was no room for that either. On asking we were glibly assured that all their rooms were only as big. The room service menu was smaller than the room (esp for vegetarians) and they dont serve beyond 5pm, so no dinner.
All in all, cleanliness and location notwithstanding, it was a tough nights stay. We checked out the next day for our stay at the Disneyland Hotel and when we came back to the city promptly switched hotels. The Metro Park Kowloon that we did switch to is spectacular value for the same money and is heavily recommended. I am off now to write a good review for them.
p.s. - we paid $HK720 at the Dorsett and the much better Metro Park Kowloon costed $HK800 for a spacious upgraded 240 sq ft room in a great 4star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WryFromMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#209 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#199 of 726 in Hong Kong
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#175 of 726 in Hong Kong
670 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#99 of 726 in Hong Kong
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon | Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $93 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing