We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for an authentic lunch”
Review of Hoi On Cafe

Hoi On Cafe
Ranked #259 of 11,978 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Cool and original lunchplace with cheap and good food. Service was quick and pleasant. Noodle dishes dominate the menu.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank briskebybadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

This hidden gem is really worth the walk! I had to use Google map to find this cafe. Took us about 10mins or less to reach the cafe. Traditional HK style cafe, cozy, friendly service and delicious food! We ordered their breakfast set meal which consists of a bowl of noodles with choice of meat, a pineapple bun and a hot drink. It costs about 40HKD. Totally worth it! The food is really delicious! We could sit longer to enjoy our food. The staffs are very friendly. I ordered a take out of their egg tart and it was surprisingly the best the egg tart I ever had. The crust is soft and thin with more egg custard which melts in your mouth. My friend is a local who had never been to this cafe before. She commented that their pineapple bun (bo lo bun) is the best she ever had. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kateleonghl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely traditional cha chan tang. Friendly service & seems like family run cafe. Highly recommend this place if you are around the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 703BettyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Both of me and my wife decided to visit this famous establishment before we checked out from Ibis HK Central and Sheung Wan (can be reached within 10 minutes from the hotel on foot). When we arrived, we found out that we just missed their breakfast set menu which was served until 11:00 am. However, the lady owner was very nice : She was helping us to select the menu which she thought would be close enough to their famous breakfast set.

Our food was served within 10 minutes or less and both of them were delicious (3,5 stars). Price wise, it is quite reasonable (worth the money and this establishment is recommended for those who are looking for genuine/authentic style HK food in Sheung Wan area. The location is basically close to Shun Tak Centre (opposite side).

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bambang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Recommended by a friend, so we decided to try the breakfast as hotel was nearby. Very cosy & nostalgic HK cafe, not to mention the delicious Bolo bun paired with cold salted slab butter. Should try it if you are around this area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Estee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoi On Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hoi On Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing