We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is a joke, some of the staff are rude... but the rooms are clean and walking distance to Monas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Icon Residence
Ranked #68 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The value for your money is worth the clean room in the almost central Jakarta location. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that offer a better breakfast- this one just has fried rice and black coffee.
The street is busy and has a good local feel. It is next to an indoor fruit/health store, pharmacies, and great street food stalls (from spicy noodle dishes to live cobra and snake shacks).

There are so many hotels on this street that I wished I would have stayed just one over-check out Hotel 88, Big Hotel, or Hotel California.

Oh, and I got a call from reception at 6:40 am asking if I was checking out today. Not what you want to wake up to.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms have windows, but rooms on level 3 have the least amount of sewage smell coming fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Was supposed to spend two nights here but had to leave after one night because the room smelled terrible. Only reason we stayed for one night was because our flight came in really late so we just stuck out the terrible odour and requested a new room the next day. They moved us to a new room which smelled okay for about 30 minutes and then started to smell terrible as well. They sent up a pair of housekeepers to "fix" the smell but all that entailed was spraying huge amounts of deodorizer into the washroom. We had to move to another hotel across the street. If you have a nose, do not stay here. The halls are also really really narrow and it was hard getting around with our luggage. The Internet on the upper floors also was not working.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The room was not as huge as I thought it would be. Overall, my stay was very pleasant. The staffs were very friendly, always greeting whenever they saw me. Services were very good. They helped me throughout my stay here like giving me local tips, telling me which places are good for souvenirs and how to bargain. They're very nice people. Love the stay here. Will return again one day :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurfitri_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Reception was not impressive. The staff hardly spoke English but was resourceful by using an online translator.
They seemed to be renovating and painting last April. The room was quite small but clean. Towels looked new and clean, too.
One thing that I didn't like was the very narrow hallways in all floors. Our room didn't have water sprinkler in case of fire. Although door locks and security bolts were good, I did not sleep well thinking that in emergency cases, we still have to run through the hallways.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairs might not worry you with the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Teduh Hostel
#3 of 181 in Jakarta
120 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 471 in Jakarta
1,597 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Icon Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Icon Residence

Address: Jl. Mangga Besar Raya no. 98, Jakarta 10730, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Icon Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lovely area of Mangga Besar, City Icon Residence enjoys a commanding position in the restaurants, shopping hub of Jakarta. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Icon Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing