We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$755
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$217
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
0
2
11
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
2
11
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Mangga besar is known for their night life activities, so if you want to experience Jakarta night life deeper, go stay at this place.
But be warned,the room was filthy with cheap furniture. Slightly peeling wall decal, bathroom with no soap and questionable towel. It was advertised as no smoking room, and they had no smoking plaque inside but the room has sickly smell of smoke. When I passed one room, I could clearly see one guest smoking freely inside (he opened his room). When I asked the receptionist guy, he casually said oh the no smoking plague has not been taken down yet.
This property is only 1 year but from the looks of it, I thought it has been opened for 10 years. It is cheap but you can easily find cleaner place with same price point.
One can imagine lots of shenanigans happening here, if room could talk...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WoldyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If I were looking for absolutely nothing more than just a bed to sleep, then this is surely not the place to stay. But that was what I simply needed, just a bed. I didn't even bothered with the standard of facilities because I'm not expecting anything. If I want a cheap bed, won;t be spending time in a hotel, be in a great central location, get easy access to fun and everywhere, then City Icon is not a shabby decision.

Room Tip: There's no good room. So get over it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khairil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The value for your money is worth the clean room in the almost central Jakarta location. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that offer a better breakfast- this one just has fried rice and black coffee.
The street is busy and has a good local feel. It is next to an indoor fruit/health store, pharmacies, and great street food stalls (from spicy noodle dishes to live cobra and snake shacks).

There are so many hotels on this street that I wished I would have stayed just one over-check out Hotel 88, Big Hotel, or Hotel California.

Oh, and I got a call from reception at 6:40 am asking if I was checking out today. Not what you want to wake up to.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms have windows, but rooms on level 3 have the least amount of sewage smell coming from the drains.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Was supposed to spend two nights here but had to leave after one night because the room smelled terrible. Only reason we stayed for one night was because our flight came in really late so we just stuck out the terrible odour and requested a new room the next day. They moved us to a new room which smelled okay for about 30 minutes and then started to smell terrible as well. They sent up a pair of housekeepers to "fix" the smell but all that entailed was spraying huge amounts of deodorizer into the washroom. We had to move to another hotel across the street. If you have a nose, do not stay here. The halls are also really really narrow and it was hard getting around with our luggage. The Internet on the upper floors also was not working.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The room was not as huge as I thought it would be. Overall, my stay was very pleasant. The staffs were very friendly, always greeting whenever they saw me. Services were very good. They helped me throughout my stay here like giving me local tips, telling me which places are good for souvenirs and how to bargain. They're very nice people. Love the stay here. Will return again one day :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurfitri_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews