We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is no option, room small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Icon Residence
Ranked #68 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Budget hotel but seems they dont take care seriously. Breakfast only one option white rice and soto... With tea or coffe hahaha.
The room is smell, dirty, small room and bathroom.
Parking very small only enough for 6 cars, but wifi is quite good

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hengky_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2015

Mangga besar is known for their night life activities, so if you want to experience Jakarta night life deeper, go stay at this place.
But be warned,the room was filthy with cheap furniture. Slightly peeling wall decal, bathroom with no soap and questionable towel. It was advertised as no smoking room, and they had no smoking plaque inside but the room has sickly smell of smoke. When I passed one room, I could clearly see one guest smoking freely inside (he opened his room). When I asked the receptionist guy, he casually said oh the no smoking plague has not been taken down yet.
This property is only 1 year but from the looks of it, I thought it has been opened for 10 years. It is cheap but you can easily find cleaner place with same price point.
One can imagine lots of shenanigans happening here, if room could talk...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WoldyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If I were looking for absolutely nothing more than just a bed to sleep, then this is surely not the place to stay. But that was what I simply needed, just a bed. I didn't even bothered with the standard of facilities because I'm not expecting anything. If I want a cheap bed, won;t be spending time in a hotel, be in a great central location, get easy access to fun and everywhere, then City Icon is not a shabby decision.

Room Tip: There's no good room. So get over it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khairil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The value for your money is worth the clean room in the almost central Jakarta location. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that offer a better breakfast- this one just has fried rice and black coffee.
The street is busy and has a good local feel. It is next to an indoor fruit/health store, pharmacies, and great street food stalls (from spicy noodle dishes to live cobra and snake shacks).

There are so many hotels on this street that I wished I would have stayed just one over-check out Hotel 88, Big Hotel, or Hotel California.

Oh, and I got a call from reception at 6:40 am asking if I was checking out today. Not what you want to wake up to.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms have windows, but rooms on level 3 have the least amount of sewage smell coming fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Was supposed to spend two nights here but had to leave after one night because the room smelled terrible. Only reason we stayed for one night was because our flight came in really late so we just stuck out the terrible odour and requested a new room the next day. They moved us to a new room which smelled okay for about 30 minutes and then started to smell terrible as well. They sent up a pair of housekeepers to "fix" the smell but all that entailed was spraying huge amounts of deodorizer into the washroom. We had to move to another hotel across the street. If you have a nose, do not stay here. The halls are also really really narrow and it was hard getting around with our luggage. The Internet on the upper floors also was not working.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Teduh Hostel
#3 of 181 in Jakarta
120 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 471 in Jakarta
1,597 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Icon Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Icon Residence

Address: Jl. Mangga Besar Raya no. 98, Jakarta 10730, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Icon Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lovely area of Mangga Besar, City Icon Residence enjoys a commanding position in the restaurants, shopping hub of Jakarta. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your City Icon Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing