We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1001 Malam
Nearby Hotels
favehotel Kusumanegara(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Purosani(Yogyakarta)
US$70
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duta Guest House(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Artha Hotel(Yogyakarta)
US$25
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
345
252
73
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
252
73
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationmalioboro streetnarrow alleybanana pancakesmoney changercoffee and teanice gardenhot waterbusy citystayed here for nightsvisit yogyakartaan oasislocal foodcamesborobudurmuralsdriver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Just the right choice to stay in Yogjakarta. We have been the for 4 nights, my family and other 8 friends. Very good location, few meters form the mot fmous Marlliboro Road, where all shops are , and a convenient mall also is ( with a lovely Jco coffee shop). Next to severl small tour agency which organize tourit tour nerby the city, money chngers, smll supermrket closed by. Very good nd nice resturnt one meter from the entrnnce,...jut one step in front.
Big room, big bed, we got king size bed that could actually fit two adults nd one kid if needed. Airconditioning present and working fine. Wifi working as everywhere else: when few people use it it works fine, if you need faster and stable connection you better use the pc in the reception area. We just loved that place.

Room Tip: If you have luggages, better to ask for rooms on the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaolaFilippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My boyfriend and i stayed at 1001 Malam for 3 days and we loved it. It's in the city center and just around the corner of the trainstation, but it's so quite. We loved it. They have a green, lovely garden where you can look at from your balkony. The rooms are clean and nice. The staff is friendly. Wifi is okay. And the breakfast is also good.

Definitely recommanded!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank saidamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2015. This is a boutique style small hotel in a pretty alleyway just a 5 minute walk from Tugu station. The only real negative is that it is
under a flight path although there are no flights during the night, but the earliest seem to start about 6am and then there are maybe 3 flights per hour. However, if you are staying in this backpacker area, all places will be affected by the sound of aircraft overhead.The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are good. Breakfast is good although the fresh orange juice is watered down, while the omelettes are served between 2 slices of white bread in the form of a sandwich, and seem pre-cooked. The banana and honey pancakes were better as they have to cook them fresh. There is a nice terrace area on the 1st floor where you can chill out or eat your breakfast served from 7.30am, and all rooms on the ground floor overlook the inside patio area which is nicely planted and has a fish pond. There are plenty of places to drink and eat in the alleyway outside, and if you fancy real Java coffee and well cooked European food as a change to local food I highly recommend Hani's which is just 75metres south of this hotel. Would stay here again. If you can put up with the occasional aircraft passing overhead, the sounds of the railway station nearby plus the call to prayers from the nearby mosque, then this is a good location to be based in.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewF729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights in Yogyakarta and we had a very good stay in 1001 Malam. Staff has been extremely nice with us: especially in preparation of our arrival they gave timely information and useful support. We also organized the tour to Borobudur and Prambanan with them (great!).
Rooms are nice and clean, good for three people. Breakfast is good and served in a nice courtyard (or in the terrace). Location was very good, as we were travelling by train.
Slightly negative: our neighbors (typical Italian families with children) were very noisy, and we have been really annoyed by their continuous screaming in the internal courtyard as door and windows are not really isolated..

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank daian1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The location at Hotel 1001 Malam is excellent, but some other things were lacking. When we arrived we were asked to pay in full and at the time we were having issues with our debit cards and asked if they accepted credit cards. We were told that the do not accept cards, so we asked if we could pay the next day while we sorted out our issues with our bank. We were given a 24 hour reprieve. Unfortunately the wifi and Internet situation was so deplorable that we were unable to call our bank using Skype and even sending an email took so long the connection would time out. We were forced to go wandering the streets for a better connection and luckily found one at a chain hotel that they were gracious enough to allow us to use for free. Which in the end I spent quite a bit of money at their bar while having a stressful Skype call to my bank in Canada.
My bank wasn't able to remedy the situation for another 24 hours and I wasn't sure how I was going to pay. We went to a restaurant close to Hotel 1001 and I was recognized by some one that turned out to be the owner of the hotel. He was on the same flight as U.S. From KL. we explained our issue and were told that credit card was no problem and he would come by and help us. What frustrated me most was the stress caused by worrying when apparently it wasn't an issue.
The free coffee and breakfast is just above terrible. I purchased my own instant coffee and used the provided hot water.
The rooms are very basic but very due to be renovated. Keep in mind I lived in SE Asia for close to 3 years so the level of comfort for others may be even more extreme.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews