We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Losmen in Yogyakarta, Still Great Value”
Review of Bladok Losmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bladok Losmen
Ranked #9 of 546 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Bladok really is a charmer. It is very pretty to look at, the staff is really friendly, helpful, and fair; and it is very clean. It is also unusual in that it offers several levels of service-- for instance, the rooms with the highest rate come with air conditioning, a private balcony, and a Western style bathroom with a hot shower; the room I stayed in, by contrast, was first-floor, Indonesian-style bathroom, cold water, just a fan (no air conditioning). When I was there, you might pay $30 for the best rooms, $9 for one like mine.

The pool out back is great, as is the Western-style restaurant out front (one of the best for Western food in Yogyakarta). Both will facilitate your meeting others if you are traveling alone, as I was.

The staff is great, friendly and helpful. They even helped me retrieve a mobile phone which I foolishly left on a table elsewhere in town-- texting the phone in Bahasa, and offering a motorbike ride back to where I'd left it. Nor did they try to hustle guests into taking particular tours, as some innkeepers in Indonesia do.

All around, a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indohotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

I stayed in Bladok for 6 nights when I travelled in Jogyakarta in September 2008. I booked it just by walking around and checking out the different losmens in the area. Although, its a little pricier than the other losmen, I stayed at Bladok because of its reputation and the rooms are great. Bladok is central to everything but quiet enough from the main streets. The staff is really friendly and very helpful. There is a restaurant on the first floor and offers good European food but not traditional Indonesian food. It is pricy though compared to other nearby restaurants. I stayed in a 2-bedroom which was very clean and serviced everyday. I had a fan and an a/c in my room. It had a western style bathroom with hot shower. There's also an outside patio outside the room and you could enjoy your free coffee/tea every morning overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarapngbacasyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

The Bladok Losmen is located in the Sosrowijayan area of Yogyakarta. This area used to be the biggest backpacker centre on Java but is now a shadow of its former self. It remains, however, a convenient location, right in the centre of Jogya.

The Bladok Losmen offers a range of rooms from spartan non-aircon rooms, up to budget-hotel-quality deluxe rooms. Our room was of the spartan variety but perfectly serviceable. The only negative was a strong smell of mould.

Probably the hotel's biggest drawcard is its small pool, which is very refreshing in hot and sticky Jogya.

The restaurant attached to the hotel sells good but overpriced food. Some of the meals cost as much as a budget room.

The Bladok Losmen is often full which should be as good a guide as any in a city where most hotels struggle for guests these days.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Visited in mid April 08 on the back of a recommendation and am more than happy to pass the word on. The guest house is very central but far enough away from Malioboro to be quiet. The biggest bonus has to be the great pool - an absolute godsend after the long train trip from Jakarta.

Our room was superb, perfectly clean and a good size. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Food was excellent as well, particularly if you want a break from Indonesian food and to touch base with some western food - the lamb was particularly good. That said, the tong seng was awesome too ...

In summary, all good and if I'm ever back in Yogya I know where I'll be staying.

I'd also recommend Simple Tours who can be found in Gang 2, not far from Bladok - really helpful guy who arranged an excellent driver & guide for us to visit Merapi and Borobodur, as well as a cheap and (relatively) painless minibus across to Bromo.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
317
Reviewed 7 November 2005

great location in the heart of Malioboro, room had everything you need and a well maintained pool.Staff were helpful and friendly.165 000rp- air conditioned double. Looking forward to coming back soon

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.2 km away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#67 of 211 in Yogyakarta
237 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#32 of 211 in Yogyakarta
679 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#77 of 211 in Yogyakarta
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
EDU Hostel Jogja
EDU Hostel Jogja
#14 of 325 in Yogyakarta
279 reviews
0.1 km away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#10 of 325 in Yogyakarta
112 reviews
2.8 km away
Pondok Ijo Guest House
Pondok Ijo Guest House
#5 of 546 in Yogyakarta
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bladok Losmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bladok Losmen

Address: Jl. Sosrowijayan no. 76, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 546 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $17 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bladok Losmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bladok Losmen Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing