We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the 'beach' but dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The first regret was a 'long' walk to the hotel from the drop-off point. Secondly, the 'beach' is a narrow sandy, stony and rocky shore. During high tide, the water reach right up to the edge of the embankment. If you like diving and looking at carol, this area - Sadang, is good. U can just jum into the water, the the carol is right in front of the hotel.

Exterior the hotel looks presentable. But the rooms are dated!!! Booked a one -room beach facing. HUGE room, but VERY old. Need some refurbishing.

Food was palatable however the prices were way over-priced!

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

we stayed in a premium room looking over the sea, its really the only choice. The rooms are just ok, nothing fancy, the bed comfortable. AC worked fine & wasnt noisy but only available in the bedroom, not in the other room. When you arrive by boat be aware that its about a 10 minute walk along the beach & paths which are so so smooth, so having the staff help you carry your bags is very important.Just give them a tip, they deserve it.When you arrive you will be hounded by lots of sellers of boatmen to trinkets. Be nice to them, there is a big differnce to other locations, we really got to know them & so friendly, even if you dont buy. We tried the boat trips for snorkling which was great value. For 700 pesos , 2 hours being dragged along , like superman, over coral , big clams & fish. If the weather is not rough, just go in a small boat, otherwise you will need to pay for 2 boats, one bigger at first, then a smaller one to reach the best snorkeling areas.A trip to white beach is worth it, but its cheaper by road than boat. You can make a day of it for 120 pesos each way by jeepnee & trike or pay 1200 for a boat if the weather is ok.Dont forget to bargain with the boat people, they will reduce for you if you persevere.
The food was ok here, breakfast is included but you only get a basic serve with more food available at extra cost.We did eat here a few times & your so close to the water with the water at high tide lapping at your feet, but there is so much on offer along the beach towards Sabang, its worth trying. The pool is only small, not that inviting but if you have kids, its perfect.
Im already missing the view from our balcony, its so good the the money for on a beach resort

Room Tip: only choose a premium room looking over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starman1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay in Puerto Galera then try Portofino Beach Resort. Nice location, away from all the bars in Sabang Beach. Is good for family. They have a small pool to relax and is a beachfront resort. Just 10mins to Sabang Beach and good to walk back after heavy dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MASTER_PETER_TAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Beginning November it was almost empty and was all available for the few guests. The nicest about this property is that it is right on the beach. The hotel's restaurant , a beautiful alfresco setting with parasols and lovely decorated sitting area and pool is barely a meter away from the sea at high tide!
The room we selected was nice and large. It had en-suite bedroom, living room and bath. A baby cot was graciously put at our disposal.
Breakfast was OK. The restaurant did serve some good dishes. Wifi was not working well in our room but was OK in the restaurant.
The access is difficult, as no road leads to the hotel, only small pedestrian tracks from the nearby boroughs. We arrived with a motor-tricycle at the back of the "Small la Laguna Beach" and had to walk 200m up a small hill to the "Big la Laguna Beach" with our luggage - fortunately with the kind help of employees of the hotel.
We booked via booking.com and these told us 50% of our bill would be charged right away on our CC at the booking date by the hotel. But they did not and therefore charged us 100% at the checkout time! This is very awkward, as you are usually not able to check the veracity of this when you are checking out, standing in the hotel lobby on your way to your next destination.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Out of the Blue resort before I decided to stay here. I wanted a sea front apartment so that I can have a great view, hear the waves and pay a lower price. This is not 5 star resort and is basically sufficient for an apartment. Go to OOTB if u expect top class. The bar and dinning is infront of the beach. At high tide, the water is at the resort door steps. I dive With Action Divers and they are just next door.- which is a plus point. The night life Subang is about 10 mins walk from here. It is more quiet and peaceful over here. The staff are friendly and I had a good memories staying here. Wishing u a safe and fun holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 53 in Puerto Galera
337 reviews
0.0 km away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
0.7 km away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#16 of 53 in Puerto Galera
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#5 of 53 in Puerto Galera
172 reviews
3.2 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 53 in Puerto Galera
93 reviews
0.8 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $79 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing