We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Close to dive shops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel was very nice, included a kitchen and plenty of room. Ocean views from the restaurant/bar/pool were fabulous. See pictures I updloaded. The only downside was the shower hot water was less than adequate. Had to turn it a certain way, shown by the staff, to even get hot water. Other than that, good, clean, helpful staff and right on the beach. The beach is not for swimmers. Sabang is for divers, do not go there for the beach, as you will be disappointed. If you want a lounging beach, go to White Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are more expensive with Ocean views, but if this isn't that important you can save a few p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyhender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

I picked Portofino for a quiet getaway for a few days & paid a bit more than I normally would for a 50th birthday treat to myself. At first I was disappointed that I was given a rear-facing room, which are quite dark & with no views. But once I got used to this I accually enjoyed my stay here. Everyday I'd get up in time to have breakfast by the sea, then it was just a 5 minute walk to my chosen dive shop for a days diving. There were enough choices of bars & restaurants to choose from within 10 minutes walk & it is only a 15 minute walk to the boat pier.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more & book a seaside room for nice sea breezes & views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed on a regular 1Br..i like how the room is like a house because it is not just a bedroom. We got living area, dining, and kitchen with complete utensils. I so Love how it is ok to bring food And cook your own meals..saves u a lot Of bucks. Hot n Cold shower is ok..toiletries Are provided too.i Only wished they provided four Towels and not just one because we were four in The room u Know. ..it is beach Front and dat's d best thing about this place.the woman who gives breakfast is not friendly though.. over all it is A nice place to stay and have ur vacation. I Would go back if i have d money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhayne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The first regret was a 'long' walk to the hotel from the drop-off point. Secondly, the 'beach' is a narrow sandy, stony and rocky shore. During high tide, the water reach right up to the edge of the embankment. If you like diving and looking at carol, this area - Sadang, is good. U can just jum into the water, the the carol is right in front of the hotel.

Exterior the hotel looks presentable. But the rooms are dated!!! Booked a one -room beach facing. HUGE room, but VERY old. Need some refurbishing.

Food was palatable however the prices were way over-priced!

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

we stayed in a premium room looking over the sea, its really the only choice. The rooms are just ok, nothing fancy, the bed comfortable. AC worked fine & wasnt noisy but only available in the bedroom, not in the other room. When you arrive by boat be aware that its about a 10 minute walk along the beach & paths which are so so smooth, so having the staff help you carry your bags is very important.Just give them a tip, they deserve it.When you arrive you will be hounded by lots of sellers of boatmen to trinkets. Be nice to them, there is a big differnce to other locations, we really got to know them & so friendly, even if you dont buy. We tried the boat trips for snorkling which was great value. For 700 pesos , 2 hours being dragged along , like superman, over coral , big clams & fish. If the weather is not rough, just go in a small boat, otherwise you will need to pay for 2 boats, one bigger at first, then a smaller one to reach the best snorkeling areas.A trip to white beach is worth it, but its cheaper by road than boat. You can make a day of it for 120 pesos each way by jeepnee & trike or pay 1200 for a boat if the weather is ok.Dont forget to bargain with the boat people, they will reduce for you if you persevere.
The food was ok here, breakfast is included but you only get a basic serve with more food available at extra cost.We did eat here a few times & your so close to the water with the water at high tide lapping at your feet, but there is so much on offer along the beach towards Sabang, its worth trying. The pool is only small, not that inviting but if you have kids, its perfect.
Im already missing the view from our balcony, its so good the the money for on a beach resort

Room Tip: only choose a premium room looking over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starman1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
1 km away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
0.8 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
4 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#51 of 54 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
3 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 54 in Puerto Galera
318 reviews
24.4 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $77 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing