We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mermaid Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Canonero Diving & Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oceana Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$40
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribal Hills Mountain Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Steps Garden Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
De Luna Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$29
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amami Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$18
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
20
23
16
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
23
16
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I picked Portofino for a quiet getaway for a few days & paid a bit more than I normally would for a 50th birthday treat to myself. At first I was disappointed that I was given a rear-facing room, which are quite dark & with no views. But once I got used to this I accually enjoyed my stay here. Everyday I'd get up in time to have breakfast by the sea, then it was just a 5 minute walk to my chosen dive shop for a days diving. There were enough choices of bars & restaurants to choose from within 10 minutes walk & it is only a 15 minute walk to the boat pier.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more & book a seaside room for nice sea breezes & views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed on a regular 1Br..i like how the room is like a house because it is not just a bedroom. We got living area, dining, and kitchen with complete utensils. I so Love how it is ok to bring food And cook your own meals..saves u a lot Of bucks. Hot n Cold shower is ok..toiletries Are provided too.i Only wished they provided four Towels and not just one because we were four in The room u Know. ..it is beach Front and dat's d best thing about this place.the woman who gives breakfast is not friendly though.. over all it is A nice place to stay and have ur vacation. I Would go back if i have d money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhayne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The first regret was a 'long' walk to the hotel from the drop-off point. Secondly, the 'beach' is a narrow sandy, stony and rocky shore. During high tide, the water reach right up to the edge of the embankment. If you like diving and looking at carol, this area - Sadang, is good. U can just jum into the water, the the carol is right in front of the hotel.

Exterior the hotel looks presentable. But the rooms are dated!!! Booked a one -room beach facing. HUGE room, but VERY old. Need some refurbishing.

Food was palatable however the prices were way over-priced!

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

we stayed in a premium room looking over the sea, its really the only choice. The rooms are just ok, nothing fancy, the bed comfortable. AC worked fine & wasnt noisy but only available in the bedroom, not in the other room. When you arrive by boat be aware that its about a 10 minute walk along the beach & paths which are so so smooth, so having the staff help you carry your bags is very important.Just give them a tip, they deserve it.When you arrive you will be hounded by lots of sellers of boatmen to trinkets. Be nice to them, there is a big differnce to other locations, we really got to know them & so friendly, even if you dont buy. We tried the boat trips for snorkling which was great value. For 700 pesos , 2 hours being dragged along , like superman, over coral , big clams & fish. If the weather is not rough, just go in a small boat, otherwise you will need to pay for 2 boats, one bigger at first, then a smaller one to reach the best snorkeling areas.A trip to white beach is worth it, but its cheaper by road than boat. You can make a day of it for 120 pesos each way by jeepnee & trike or pay 1200 for a boat if the weather is ok.Dont forget to bargain with the boat people, they will reduce for you if you persevere.
The food was ok here, breakfast is included but you only get a basic serve with more food available at extra cost.We did eat here a few times & your so close to the water with the water at high tide lapping at your feet, but there is so much on offer along the beach towards Sabang, its worth trying. The pool is only small, not that inviting but if you have kids, its perfect.
Im already missing the view from our balcony, its so good the the money for on a beach resort

Room Tip: only choose a premium room looking over the sea
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starman1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay in Puerto Galera then try Portofino Beach Resort. Nice location, away from all the bars in Sabang Beach. Is good for family. They have a small pool to relax and is a beachfront resort. Just 10mins to Sabang Beach and good to walk back after heavy dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MASTER_PETER_TAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews