We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok resort with small swimmingpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Its a nice place with a small cool swimmingpool quit place big rooms,nice kindly staff,little bit from the sabang but its ok place,,,,,will be back another time,liked the floating bar and all restaurants

Room Tip: seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2015

The pool is great! That is really where the praise stops as the rest of the place is a bit of a let-down really. The signs of wear and tear are obvious and the condition of the room I had was relatively poor, considering that the price of the stay for our group of cyclists was not cheap. I had a twin-share room and when our group arrived it was not yet ready and all that they did was convert a daybed into another single bed in the room. The bathroom was very tired and the area outside our room looked dirty and unmaintained with many things rusting away, including the security door. Behind the pool there is an abandoned outdoor shower room that is now used for storing pool equipment. It just seems such a shame that a place right on the beach, which could be truly wonderful, is just left to deteriorate like this, probably due to lack of money being thrown at it. Disappointing in many ways but made up for by its location, nice staff and quite good food.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank asturiasparasiempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We had great plans for our holiday accommodation and what was advertised was not what we got. Unit 31 ( Premium one bedroom beachfront) had a toilet that did not flush and when we told the management they said they would look for some parts in the morning and try and fix it! Even though we put up with that excuse the problem was not attended to... I am amazed that they would expect anyone to stay there with a toilet that did not flush. There was no air conditioning in the lounge area so you were confined to the bedroom. The furniture and blinds are torn, broken, damaged, bathroom is stained and a mess, television is from the early 70's, overall the unit is in a shocking state. I have photos of all this and am happy to share. I realize that these rooms are privately owned but like I explained to the management it is their hotel's name and reputation that is being damaged if they don't hold the owner accountable for fixing these problems. The staff are lovely but what is the point if your accommodation that you are paying US$105 per night for is a nightmare. Needless to say we checked out the next day and managed to find a beautiful hotel two doors up.

Room Tip: Do not choose one bedroom unit number 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

It's been said by others and I agree, the whold Sabang/La Laguna Beach area is definitely for divers.

The front desk staff and most of the bar/restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. There were a couple restaurant staff I think could take some smile training but aside from that definitely quite good overall.

I stayed in two rooms during my stay. Both were on the second floor and neither had a view. The rooms were clean and comfortable and really quite spacious. They had mini kitchens and bar-fridges that could be used for some light prep or storage of self-cater meals/snacks.

The location was quite good. Easy walk along the beach from the Sabang pier. Plenty of restaurant options easy walking distance away. I never felt any security or safety issues getting to or from the hotel at any hour. It was quiet during the night - probably because it was located away from the later night action of the Sabang strip of beach.

The breakfast was decent with limited though acceptable options to select from.

I booked the hotel through the Action Divers dive shop and it worked out very well in this regard.

I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

If you're not a diver, Sabang is likely not for you. If you're a diver, the room doesn't matter so much!

Pros
- Nice pool (small pool) and patio overlooking the ocean. We had breakfast here every morning and enjoyed our dive breaks here. Esther and Leann are the servers and they are lovely!
- Close to our dive shop
- Kitchenette in the room - we used this to make sliced fruit, coffee, and tea. A friend actually made fresh fish dinner in his but I couldn't see fully cooking in the room, personally.
- Decent (but basic) room and nice staff.

Cons
- Room is pretty basic for the cost.
- Four spiders.
- Worlds slowest wifi. S L O W.
- Occasional brown outs.
- An electrical switch that will make your hair stand up sometimes.
- Position of the shower head is wrong so you really have to hold it while showering.

In total, it wasn't a complete flop and while we could have done better we were mostly satisfied and enjoyed our time.

Tip... Buy your soda next door at the very small local food stand. They also have 35PHP cheeseburgers!

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
1 km away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
0.8 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
4 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#51 of 54 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
3 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 54 in Puerto Galera
318 reviews
24.4 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: S$77 - S$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing