We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Scandi Divers(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Infinity Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$194
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Badladz Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Badladz Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amami Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$56
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I relied a lot on the reviews posted here on Trip Advisor when trying to decide where to take my girlfriend for a surprise birthday getaway, so I wanted to follow-up and pretty much just reiterate what those before me have already said. Coral Cove is an absolute gem tucked away by its own little stretch of coast, well away from Puerto Galera and Sabang and the relative decadence and noise at both of those places. I would recommend Coral Cove to both solo travelers looking to escape the tourists and enjoy some peace and quiet and to couples looking for a very romantic getaway. My girlfriend and I found the service to be wonderful; someone always seemed to be hanging around in the background ready to help us, but you always have your privacy and space at the same time. The food was quite good, and lounging in the hammocks and chairs on the veranda overlooking the water was first-rate. I also did some great diving and snorkeling right off the beach with excellent viz; CC is an ideal location for both. It was actually the most pampered diving experience I've ever had -- just me, the divemaster, and the boat driver, and they wouldn't even let me carry my tank to the boat. And we also highly recommend renting out a boat for the day (with driver) to take you around to the private beach/cove of your choice (there are hundreds to choose from)...reasonably priced and very romantic. All in all, Coral Cove is a great choice for anybody looking to escape the crowds and find a bit of paradise for a few days (or weeks).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistaajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

we visited first week of November, not the high season yet. The service quality was obvious from the beginning, they were very responsive over the phone and sms and was in constant contact ensuring we are on the way and no problem.

on reaching the Sabang Beach, the hotel driver named Boy was there, helped us with the luggage and quickly brought us to the hotel in the hotel jeepney, about 10 minute drive.

the hotel i found is more then 20 years old, has grown in phases while being passed from different owners. The very first owner was a Kiwi, then British group and currently a Philippines resident British Gentleman.

The staff are reasonably trained, helpful and courteous; also quite friendly if i may add. The bar is well stocked and choices of food satisfactory backed by reasonably good cooking.

We stayed in a large family room with two queen beds. The theme was 'nipa hut' and above average. the beds are good with clean bed sheet and cover, we were satisfied. only thing that my sister complained entering the room was the color and texture of the window curtains, some color between pink and orange if i remember correctly, i am sure they can do better.

The resort do not have a beach for bathing, its quite rocky and suitable for diving and snorkeling, but if you are very eager and right time of the day can manage a dip or two. i liked the stroll along the resort coastline and got to click some nice photographs, including some starfish and other small marine life that ended up on the beach.

on the suggesting of the manager we did a day tour of the nearby places, like Tamarao Falls, white beach and the southern edge of the beach where there is a small interesting Italian restaurant serving great pizza and pasta, set up by a Italian settler. its named Luca's, i would recommend it any day, just make sure to eat it hot there, we made the mistake of taking it out and was not much fun cold. a swim or dip in the beach infront of the restaurant is nice too, as the beach is less crowded and the beach has interesting stone that seems to have gotten rounded over years of sanding by the sea.

over all we had a pleasant weekend outing and would like to go back again someday.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IT-biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We just got back from a FABULOUS dive vacation in the Philippines. We stayed at Coral Cove the first week. Nik, the Australian manager, is no longer there. However, Belen, an extremely bright and capable Filipina, is. Belen and the rest of the crew did everything possible to make our stay and our dives incredible. The hotel is in the ideal location. It's a beautiful 25 minute walk into Sabang, passing through tiny villages with so many friendly people to chat with along the way. Although it's nice to be close enough to walk ( or catch a ride) into Sabang for dinner or the market, you'll be glad that you're staying at Coral Cove. Sabang is a bit of a 'zoo.' Coral Cove has its own restaurant which offers fresh fish and plenty of other dishes. Our divemaster was a really great British guy who has been living there for a while. He was very familiar with all the dive sites which made it nice & easy. The boat captain was the best. Period. We had long, great dives which made Fiji look weak by comparison. I would highly recommend Coral Cove, along with a week at Polaris Dive Resort in Cabilao to even out a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ScubaSue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Looking for a quick getaway close to Manila, we looked on the internet for places to stay in Puerto Galera, as we also wanted to do some diving. We found the website of Coral Cove, which is really great to navigate and contains all the information we were looking for, AND it was well designed and well-written. So, the website was already a real plus. Getting to Sabang by banka was a bit of a shocker, as Sabang is quite grimy, built-up and touristy. Thus, truly pleasant was the surprise of arriving at Coral Cove, a short drive from Sabang proper, and quite accurately described in the website as a quite and secluded little paradise, far from the madding crowd. This is where you want to be if you are looking for peace and quiet. The place has only recently been refurbished, and it has been very well done. The rooms are basic, but have everything one needs, such as fan, AC, hot water and cable TV. The standard rooms are small, but with lovely little terraces overgrown with bougainvillea and overlooking the sea. The dining area has a wonderful view and the food we had there was good fare. The staff is really nice, too. The diving was excellent, thanks to instructor Nik and his assistant John, who have made us want to come back to see all of PG's amazing dive sites. In short, a real gem!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KittyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

We booked our stay at Coral Cove - mainly because it is just over the hill from where my brother has bought a house. It is on the end of peninsula extending from Puerta Galera. We flew in to Puerta Galera on the Subic Seaplane, got a "banka" ferry to Puerta Galera and then were picked up by the Coral Cove Jeepney.

Getting to Coral Cove from the Puerta Galera ferry took about 25 minutes in the Jeepney (converted jeep transport|) over a narrow partly unmetalled road. via the small town of Sabang.

The hotel is currently being refurbished so prices were very competitive - roughly $40 (2000 pesos) per night for a twin bedded cabana.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. They all have an air-conditioner, modern TV, wc & shower. The fittings are distinctly old and for example although the shower has hot and cold running water the basins only have a cold tap - this is quite common in the Philippines. So for a hot water shave you have to get hot water from the shower - there is a small bucket.

We stayed in a separate cabana (#16 - recommended). The fixtures & fittings, curtains, bedcovers, towels etc were distinctly old. But it was very comfortable and to sit in the shade on the verandah, reading a book was bliss.

However the location is stunning, set in a cove overlooking the Mindoro strait. Coral Cove doesn't have a swimming pool although there are plans. There is a tiny harbour with a golden sand beach although at low tide this reveals a lot of rocks. See photos.

The main hotel building is long verandah with reception, bar, kitchen, shop and dive office located off it. To sit on the terrace with tropical breezes blowing is quite idyllic. The public rooms have been refurbished and include an airconditioned conference room. But all meals etc are in the non airconditioned bit on the verandah

Coral Cove has a new British manager and a fully qualified British Diving instructor. We don't dive - but the people we spoke to at the hotel that went out diving were ecstatic about the diving conditions.

The staff were all friendly and extremely competent. The food was good. As befits a hotel managed by a former Gurkha Officer one of the specialities is Indian Curry (every saturday night). But there is a good menu - not gourmet food but all tasty and well prepared.
Meals are not expensive - breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and coffee is around 150 pesos ($3) per person and a full american breakfast 250 pesos ($5).

Don't expect modern facilities or modern luxurious accommoddation. But I just thought it was an absolute gem.

Its the sort of little hotel with could attract a cult following once the rooms are upgraded.

Stayed: January 2007
17  Thank Yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews