We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derelict Resort”
Review of Coral Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Cove Resort
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 18 February 2015

As we were in Puerto Galera, and had read the last review about this resort, written in Jan 14, we decided to check out the resort. We were most surprised to find the resort derelict, with the roof seemingly caved in , all boarded up! Having come that far we asked the locals when the business had closed and were told it was Jan 2011!!! Which casts doubt on the last review. Apparently the resort is part of a Land Titles dispute, with the original owner out on bail on fraud charges.
What a great pity as the location is quite superb.

Room Tip: The Hotel has been closed for nearly 4 yrs and clearly many of the rooms have a delightful view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

my first time to travel, went to puerto Galero. Stayed at this resort after reading good reviews. and it did not disappoint us. The place is hidden but it's worth staying here since it's really peaceful and makes you feel away from stress. To go here, you either walk that steep upward "hill"? or ask for a motorcycle drive (which is kinda scary but fun) for Php60.00 one way. We tried both :D also, there's this hidden view, near the shore where you have good view of the ocean, have a breakfast overlooking and it's so romantic. there are nearby restaurants you can also enjoy. But when you're a vacation, nothing beats a serene, peaceful retreat like Coral Cove offers. There is a billiard area, reading area(which i really like), the restaurant and the lounge area.

P.S. this is discounting the fact yet that when there is earthquake, it feels like the place could be overthrown /washed away by a tsunami. Could it possibly happen? well, it happened while we were there. I don't know the intensity but given that we're very near the shore, you could feel the ground shaking.. the rooms are Filipino style, bungalows and made of bamboo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jm_honeiz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I relied a lot on the reviews posted here on Trip Advisor when trying to decide where to take my girlfriend for a surprise birthday getaway, so I wanted to follow-up and pretty much just reiterate what those before me have already said. Coral Cove is an absolute gem tucked away by its own little stretch of coast, well away from Puerto Galera and Sabang and the relative decadence and noise at both of those places. I would recommend Coral Cove to both solo travelers looking to escape the tourists and enjoy some peace and quiet and to couples looking for a very romantic getaway. My girlfriend and I found the service to be wonderful; someone always seemed to be hanging around in the background ready to help us, but you always have your privacy and space at the same time. The food was quite good, and lounging in the hammocks and chairs on the veranda overlooking the water was first-rate. I also did some great diving and snorkeling right off the beach with excellent viz; CC is an ideal location for both. It was actually the most pampered diving experience I've ever had -- just me, the divemaster, and the boat driver, and they wouldn't even let me carry my tank to the boat. And we also highly recommend renting out a boat for the day (with driver) to take you around to the private beach/cove of your choice (there are hundreds to choose from)...reasonably priced and very romantic. All in all, Coral Cove is a great choice for anybody looking to escape the crowds and find a bit of paradise for a few days (or weeks).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistaajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

we visited first week of November, not the high season yet. The service quality was obvious from the beginning, they were very responsive over the phone and sms and was in constant contact ensuring we are on the way and no problem.

on reaching the Sabang Beach, the hotel driver named Boy was there, helped us with the luggage and quickly brought us to the hotel in the hotel jeepney, about 10 minute drive.

the hotel i found is more then 20 years old, has grown in phases while being passed from different owners. The very first owner was a Kiwi, then British group and currently a Philippines resident British Gentleman.

The staff are reasonably trained, helpful and courteous; also quite friendly if i may add. The bar is well stocked and choices of food satisfactory backed by reasonably good cooking.

We stayed in a large family room with two queen beds. The theme was 'nipa hut' and above average. the beds are good with clean bed sheet and cover, we were satisfied. only thing that my sister complained entering the room was the color and texture of the window curtains, some color between pink and orange if i remember correctly, i am sure they can do better.

The resort do not have a beach for bathing, its quite rocky and suitable for diving and snorkeling, but if you are very eager and right time of the day can manage a dip or two. i liked the stroll along the resort coastline and got to click some nice photographs, including some starfish and other small marine life that ended up on the beach.

on the suggesting of the manager we did a day tour of the nearby places, like Tamarao Falls, white beach and the southern edge of the beach where there is a small interesting Italian restaurant serving great pizza and pasta, set up by a Italian settler. its named Luca's, i would recommend it any day, just make sure to eat it hot there, we made the mistake of taking it out and was not much fun cold. a swim or dip in the beach infront of the restaurant is nice too, as the beach is less crowded and the beach has interesting stone that seems to have gotten rounded over years of sanding by the sea.

over all we had a pleasant weekend outing and would like to go back again someday.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IT-biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We just got back from a FABULOUS dive vacation in the Philippines. We stayed at Coral Cove the first week. Nik, the Australian manager, is no longer there. However, Belen, an extremely bright and capable Filipina, is. Belen and the rest of the crew did everything possible to make our stay and our dives incredible. The hotel is in the ideal location. It's a beautiful 25 minute walk into Sabang, passing through tiny villages with so many friendly people to chat with along the way. Although it's nice to be close enough to walk ( or catch a ride) into Sabang for dinner or the market, you'll be glad that you're staying at Coral Cove. Sabang is a bit of a 'zoo.' Coral Cove has its own restaurant which offers fresh fish and plenty of other dishes. Our divemaster was a really great British guy who has been living there for a while. He was very familiar with all the dive sites which made it nice & easy. The boat captain was the best. Period. We had long, great dives which made Fiji look weak by comparison. I would highly recommend Coral Cove, along with a week at Polaris Dive Resort in Cabilao to even out a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ScubaSue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0 km away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
0 km away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
0 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#27 of 54 in Puerto Galera
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 54 in Puerto Galera
313 reviews
0 km away
Oceana Beach Resort
Oceana Beach Resort
#48 of 54 in Puerto Galera
39 reviews
0 km away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Puerto Galera
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Resort

Address: Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing